We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Frogmill B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Frogmill B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Three days with friends in this lovely B&B made for a superb trip away from it all. Hosts Ken and Sue are clearly cut out for this business as they totally went above and beyond to make our stay perfect.

The attention to detail is wonderful... Pristine bedding, plenty of magazines :-) yummy breakfast, nice lounge..it goes on and on.....

We were originally only going to stay two nights but there's so much to see in the area that we stayed an extra night. Plus it is the sort of place where you feel like you should move in!!

The location is ideal for visiting the area and we were given tons of local information. Cant fault this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOAgnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 114 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

First class bed and breakfast. Everything was perfect. Comfortable bed, huge bathroom, lovely hosts. Breakfast was delicious and the evening meal Sue cooked for us was amazing. Very peaceful location but plenty to do in the area. Will return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobMo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in the second part of September for 3 nights at the Frogmill B&B near Exeter. During this fantastic time our host's Sue and Ken did really everything to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We booked the double en suite room Tillerton, on our arrival we were upgraded to the superior double en suite room Medland. The bedroom was beautifully decorated and very spacious. And the bathroom...wow! Great breakfast, with home baked bread, free range eggs and freshly prepared fruit compote. JUST DELICIOUS. We do recommend this B&B to everyone who visit Exeter or the Dartmoor National Park and we will definitely be back in the future.
Thank you Sue and Ken for making our holiday so perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsandmrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Frogmill is the most beautiful of properties The view from our bedroom window was lovely, birds hanging on the feeder outside the window. The garden is vast, including woodland. The owners Ken and Sue were lovely, very friendly and made us feel at home immediately. The bedroom is lovely with top quality bedding and furnishings. The guest lounge and breakfast room beautifully furnished. Breakfast was lovely using eggs from their own chickens. On arrival we were treated to tea and cake which was very much appreciated. We would certainly visit again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janma42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had three fantastic and memorable nights at Frogmill in September 2012. I really couldn't find a single thing that I would have changed.

The building, grounds, location, attention to detail and service provided by Ken & Sue were just perfect, not to mention the fantastic breakfast! I almost forgot to mention the bed that feels like one is sleeping in a cloud, if it weren't for the promise of such a good feed, I may not have gotten up.

With so many beautiful attractions, walks, pubs and restaurants nearby, my advice to anyone would be, 'just book it now'.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mattchu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Frogmill was an absolute gem of a property to visit. My wife and I stayed for three nights in the Tillerton room. Hosts Ken and Sue were excellent and helped advise on places to visit with their local knowledge. We did not have time to wander the 9 acres of gardens so will have to do this on our next visit.

Room Tip: All three rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonmichael190745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We came 4 incl. a child 3 years old from Denmark / England and stay 3 nights inkl. first evening with 3 course dinner - that was so perfect. Breakfast perfect - done with love. Everything is so so piecefull around the house - the beds, goose duve and goose pillows make you almost to sleep to long. Its so loveley to wake up in the morning and just look out thrue the windows to the green garden. Sue and Ken is the perfect hosts, they are so friendley, caring and allways want to make you feel like "beeing at home". You got so so much for small money - inkl. the food, piecefull place, free coffee/the, fruit, cakes and chokolate in the rooms every day, their own eegs in the morning, homemade jam ect. - just their smile and careless *
They also helped us where to go with a child - some good places.
We really want to go back again - and next time ordre dinner for every evening and also try their lunch to take on the road. Its the best place I have been for long time - and I travell a lot.
We can only recomend this B & B. If you don't try you won't know what you are missing if you don't go ........... thanks to Sue and Ken - you are the best <3

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneRigtrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Frogmill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogmill B&B

Address: Frogmill Frogmill, Tedburn St. Mary, Dartmoor National Park EX6 6ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tedburn St. Mary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tedburn St. Mary
Price Range: $113 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Frogmill B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning 5 Star B&B in the heart of the tranquil Devon countryside Frogmill Bed and Breakfast is a 16th Century picturesque, thatched former mill house on the fringes of Dartmoor, an idyllic location, nestling in tranquil gardens with lakes and woodland. Ideal for exploring Dartmoor, Exeter and the coast It's utterly peaceful here, just minutes from Dartmoor National Park, but easily accessible from Exeter (10 miles), the M5 and A30. Frogmill is ideally situated to explore all corners of England's stunning West Country peninsula. Escape to the country Ken and Sue Macpherson warmly welcome you into their picture-perfect cream cottage where you can choose from three charming bedrooms all with glorious views across the gardens and countryside. The cottage itself has two very comfortable double en-suite bedrooms, and a separate spacious suite can be configured as a double, twin or triple. Award winning and famous! Frogmill has AA 5 Star awards for its accommodation and breakfasts! The gorgeous gardens were featured on BBC1's One Show, with Mike Dilger investigating the curious case of the nocturnal trespasser... Mike's hidden cameras revealed a busy badger and a graceful roe deer! Book now! Click our Online Booking link to check current availability and reserve your room. Please note we have a 2-night minimum booking policy and regret that we no longer accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Frogmill B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing