We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IDYLIC COB AND THATCH COTTAGE”
Review of Frogmill B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Frogmill B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Frogmill is the most beautiful of properties The view from our bedroom window was lovely, birds hanging on the feeder outside the window. The garden is vast, including woodland. The owners Ken and Sue were lovely, very friendly and made us feel at home immediately. The bedroom is lovely with top quality bedding and furnishings. The guest lounge and breakfast room beautifully furnished. Breakfast was lovely using eggs from their own chickens. On arrival we were treated to tea and cake which was very much appreciated. We would certainly visit again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janma42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Frogmill B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 113 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had three fantastic and memorable nights at Frogmill in September 2012. I really couldn't find a single thing that I would have changed.

The building, grounds, location, attention to detail and service provided by Ken & Sue were just perfect, not to mention the fantastic breakfast! I almost forgot to mention the bed that feels like one is sleeping in a cloud, if it weren't for the promise of such a good feed, I may not have gotten up.

With so many beautiful attractions, walks, pubs and restaurants nearby, my advice to anyone would be, 'just book it now'.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mattchu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Frogmill was an absolute gem of a property to visit. My wife and I stayed for three nights in the Tillerton room. Hosts Ken and Sue were excellent and helped advise on places to visit with their local knowledge. We did not have time to wander the 9 acres of gardens so will have to do this on our next visit.

Room Tip: All three rooms are superb.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonmichael190745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We came 4 incl. a child 3 years old from Denmark / England and stay 3 nights inkl. first evening with 3 course dinner - that was so perfect. Breakfast perfect - done with love. Everything is so so piecefull around the house - the beds, goose duve and goose pillows make you almost to sleep to long. Its so loveley to wake up in the morning and just look out thrue the windows to the green garden. Sue and Ken is the perfect hosts, they are so friendley, caring and allways want to make you feel like "beeing at home". You got so so much for small money - inkl. the food, piecefull place, free coffee/the, fruit, cakes and chokolate in the rooms every day, their own eegs in the morning, homemade jam ect. - just their smile and careless *
They also helped us where to go with a child - some good places.
We really want to go back again - and next time ordre dinner for every evening and also try their lunch to take on the road. Its the best place I have been for long time - and I travell a lot.
We can only recomend this B & B. If you don't try you won't know what you are missing if you don't go ........... thanks to Sue and Ken - you are the best <3

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneRigtrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We just came back from a two week trip to England and after a hectic time in London, we arrived at Frogmill late in the evening to a friendly and helpful welcome. Ken and Sue helped us book a dinner reservation when we found ourselves running late. We had originally planned to stay for two nights but decided to cancel our next reservation and stayed for four nights. Frogmill has three rooms - one of which is located above the barn/garage so it is extra private - and we booked two in the house, itself. For three of our four nights, we were the only guests and we virtually moved in. Our entire pace slowed down and we relaxed in the garden, played scrabble and read by the fire, and chatted with our hosts, who never failed to offer tea, a glass of wine or equipment for our evening snacks. Frogmill is conveniently located within a half-hour of Exeter and is just outside Dartmoor National Park. There are restaurants and pubs within five minutes. At the same time, it is very quiet, secluded and idyllic. All you can hear are the sounds of the stream, birds and sheep in the nearby pasture. Frogmill opened in the spring of 2012 and everything is exceedingly fresh and spotless without being too frilly. We can't say enough good things about this place. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. In fact, we hope to find a way to rationalize a trip back to the UK so that we can explore more of the South Coast. If we do, we know what one of our stops will be! One warning: the outstanding beds exert a magnetic field, making it extremely difficult to get up, but coffee and a delicious breakfast make it bearable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsMacSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

On a short break from London, we stayed two nights in the Tillerton room and were absolutely delighted with our choice. Ken and Sue are wonderful hosts who show they care in thoughtful ways e.g. the freshly baked treats and tea when you arrive, a hot water bottle tucked away in the room, a bird feeder outside the window, fresh flowers, thick and luxurious towels, the 'hungry frog' breakfasts...

Great location, very peaceful and really convenient for us who used it as a base for some nice long walks in the Dartmoor National Park.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Ican honestly say this is by far the very best bed and breakfast I,ve ever found. my good lady and I have jusy returned from a two night stay with Sue and ken,our wonderful hosts, at frogmillb&b,nestled on the bottom of a beautiful serene devon valley,nothing was too much trouble for our wonderful hosts,the food was delicious(we had an evening meal there on our last evening and it was perfect.Their garden was a haven of peace and tranquility,teaming with all manner of wild life,will certainly go again thanks to Sue and Ken, many thanks from Iain and Alice from Bournemouth

Room Tip: all the rooms are perfect
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliceandiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tedburn St. Mary
5.8 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
514 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
8.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,105 reviews
8.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,736 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogmill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogmill B&B

Address: Frogmill Frogmill, Tedburn St. Mary, Dartmoor National Park EX6 6ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tedburn St. Mary
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tedburn St. Mary
Price Range: $103 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Frogmill B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning 5 Star B&B in the heart of the tranquil Devon countryside Frogmill Bed and Breakfast is a 16th Century picturesque, thatched former mill house on the fringes of Dartmoor, an idyllic location, nestling in tranquil gardens with lakes and woodland. Ideal for exploring Dartmoor, Exeter and the coast It's utterly peaceful here, just minutes from Dartmoor National Park, but easily accessible from Exeter (10 miles), the M5 and A30. Frogmill is ideally situated to explore all corners of England's stunning West Country peninsula. Escape to the country Ken and Sue Macpherson warmly welcome you into their picture-perfect cream cottage where you can choose from three charming bedrooms all with glorious views across the gardens and countryside. The cottage itself has two very comfortable double en-suite bedrooms, and a separate spacious suite can be configured as a double, twin or triple. Award winning and famous! Frogmill has AA 5 Star awards for its accommodation and breakfasts! The gorgeous gardens were featured on BBC1's One Show, with Mike Dilger investigating the curious case of the nocturnal trespasser... Mike's hidden cameras revealed a busy badger and a graceful roe deer! Book now! Click our Online Booking link to check current availability and reserve your room. Please note we have a 2-night minimum booking policy and regret that we no longer accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Frogmill B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing