We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful local hotel”
Review of Porto Zarpa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Zarpa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Praia do Forte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2006

We have just returned from a 2-week stay in the Porto Zarpa hotel in Praia do Forte.

We booked the holiday with Thomas cook and were unsure of what to expect, as we had never travelled to Brazil before.

Flying into Salvador airport is an experience in itself, if you can get a window seat it is highly recommended, as the view of the city is spectacular.

The hotel is about 1hour drive from the airport but is well worth the wait. Out of the hustle and bustle of the city you are situated just behind the main street of Praia do Forte and within an easy stroll to the beach. Everything you could want is right on the doorstep, but this village has not been made especially for tourists, it is a beautiful, clean and well looked after local fishing village.

The Hotel is also clean and well presented. The staff don’t speak much English - but why should they - they were very happy to help and very friendly. The rooms were large and it seemed that all balconies had a nice view front and back. Our balcony was front facing and we had the pleasure of watching the monkeys running across the cables and trees first thing in the morning.

Take a travel Iron and hairdryer with you if you need them, as they are not provided in the room. However there is a mini bar/fridge!

As it is currently winter (although better than our summer!) it is off peak season for them so the area during the week is quiet and the hotel was probably half full at its busiest time when the Brazilians stayed at the hotel.

The food we ate was fantastic; Breakfast in the morning was delicious from the hotel, fresh fruits, breads, cakes, meats, cheeses and my favourite - Banana Fritters! We were pleased that we were on a B&B basis as it gave us the chance to eat out. The meals in the local restaurants tended to be for 2 people, although there was plenty to go around! The meat is cooked perfectly, the fish is fresh and it is all delicious. Our cheapest meal was probably the most delicious, the meal for 2 and two large beers came to 38 real - approximately £10!

Everything is very cheap in brazil, especially when you compare it back to English prices, a large bottle of beer at its most expensive costs 4 real - Approx £1.14 (a large bottle of beer is about equivalent to a pint and is served ice cold!)

All prices are in Brazilian Real so you are better taking the national currency. We found it much easer than translating backwards and forwards between US Dollars, Brazilian Real and British Pounds. Everywhere accepted Visa although in some places it was cheaper if you paid in real. There are many cash points around Praia do Forte. We used the Cash Point in the Youth Hostel across the road from the hotel twice using a maestro card and it worked fine both times.

We did various trips, as there are many agencies in the village that can accommodate your requirements for very good prices. One of the best was the Whale Watching trip run by the institute for the humpback whales. August is the best time to go as it is in season and we saw lots! Advisable to take the seasickness tablets they offer, even if you have a strong stomach, as you don’t want to miss the whale sightings. We also saw dolphins and a turtle, which was an added bonus. The best thing is that the money you pay goes to taking the local children out on the boat for educational trips.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed the holiday. The weather was good, the hotel was lovely and you did not have to fight other tourists, as the majority in the area were either the locals or Brazilians on a weekend break. We would defineterly visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Claire1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 329 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2006

I have just returned from staying at the Porto Zarpa hotel ([--]). It is a small hotel with only 32 rooms, but even so it wasn't full. There was a real mix of nationalities staying at the hotel and the staff were very friendly. The rooms are a good size and have everything you need. The pool is small, outdoor and cold but ideal for cooling off in on a hot day. There is also easy access to the beach from the back of the hotel. The hotel is close to all of the village amenities and there are plenty of restaurants, bars, shops and internet facilities nearby. If you want to change travellers cheques you will lose a lot in commision wherever you go. Take dollars not sterling. However, close to the hotel there is a youth hostel with a cash point machine where you can use both visa and maestro cards where the commision is a lot less. The turtle sanctuary was a real disappointment and it felt more like a marine zoo. If you can afford to whilst you are over there trips to Rio and the Iguassu falls can be arranged at local travel agents for about £400 for 3 - 4 night trips.

14  Thank Russ1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank Rodrigo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerZarpa, Serviço ao Cliente at Porto Zarpa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank Cris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerZarpa, other at Porto Zarpa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pedi um quarto em direção ao jardim o que me distanciou do barulho de pessoas na piscina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Akissaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerZarpa, CustomerZarpa at Porto Zarpa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank Angelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerZarpa, CustomerZarpa at Porto Zarpa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank milenadenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerZarpa, Equipe Porto Zarpa at Porto Zarpa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia do Forte
0.2 mi away
Hotel Via dos Corais
Hotel Via dos Corais
#6 of 10 in Praia do Forte
782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eco Atlantico
Hotel Eco Atlantico
#9 of 10 in Praia do Forte
295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
#1 of 10 in Praia do Forte
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Refugio da Vila
Refugio da Vila
#3 of 10 in Praia do Forte
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pousada Tatuapara
Hotel Pousada Tatuapara
#5 of 10 in Praia do Forte
450 reviews
6.2 mi away
Costa Dos Coqueiros Resort
Costa Dos Coqueiros Resort
#2 of 2 in Mata de Sao Joao
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Zarpa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Zarpa Hotel

Address: Rua da Aurora Cond. Porto das Baleias, Praia do Forte, State of Bahia 48280-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Praia do Forte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Praia do Forte
#6 Family Hotel in Praia do Forte
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Praia do Forte
#8 Romantic Hotel in Praia do Forte
Price Range: $122 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Porto Zarpa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Zarpa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Zarpa Hotel Praia Do Forte, Bahia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing