We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best All-Inclusive Resort in Brazil”
Review of Iberostar Bahia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Iberostar Bahia
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Praia do Forte
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Iberostar Resort at Salvador (Brazil) is All-Inclusive Resort consisting of two adjacency Resorts in one location: Iberostar Bahia (4*) and Iberostar Praia De Forte (5*). Although they are in two different categories, but guests cannot feel any difference in terms of services, products and accommodation. Furthermore, I feel Iberostar Bahia (4*) is more comfortable than the other.

The total resorts of Iberostar Salvador consists of 1100 rooms in seven blocks, two floors each (no lifts). Blocks 1,2,3,4 (650 rooms) at Iberostar Bahia and blocks 5,6,7 in Iberostar Praia De Forte (450 rooms). The both Resorts (4*&5*) rooms are identical in layout, furniture and amenities. All rooms got large balconies with two chairs and dining table. It is recommended to request the “Pool View” rooms .

The Resort is very large with huge and many swimming pools in different locations, different food outlets serving buffet style meals almost 24 hours and six specialty restaurants open for dinner with prior reservations, six bars and cafes almost open 24 hours serving varieties of food and drinks. Also there is kids club, children play ground, library, computer room, travel desk and spa with complimentary wi-fi in certain area of the Resorts.

Room Tip: It is recommended to request the “Pool View” rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saeed Mohamed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelBrasil, Quality manager at Iberostar Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at TripAdvisor and recommending Iberostar Bahia. Our staff does its outmost each day to ensure that all our guests fell at home while enjoying beautiful sunny days on the beach! We are delighted you enjoyed our location. It will be a pleasure to host you again in the future! Thank you one more time for recommending our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.

Best Regards,

Adriane Romero – Quality Manager Brasil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 4,767 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just got back from this 'cheaper' of the 2 Iberostar resorts located very close to Praia do Forte, and i must say we had the best time!

OUTSTANDING KIDS CLUB COUNSELORS...i could cry from the kindness and energy given by Jackie, Cabeca, Jana y others...they made my kids so happy even if they didn't really speak the same language. We were certainly the only English speakers here...but my sons speak spanish and somehow that worked out fine with the counselors.

DELICIOUS FOOD!!! Omg, i don't know how good food is elsewhere in Brazil, but here, there was always fresh, gorgeous varieties of fruits, salads, meats, pastries - i have seriously never eaten better at hotel.

Our son got sick, and an onsight doctor was immediately available to us.

The rooms, pools and staff were all very nice.

Now for critiques:
- the arrival process was a bit sloppy...when we came, we sort of had to wonder around and look for people. It didn't feel appropriately warm/friendly. I think they need to revisit the welcoming process.
- there should be more water with cups located around the hotel, like at the front desk! ;)
- the pools could have been a tad bit warmer ;)
- they should have more pool toys for kids
- if you are an english speaker, you are probably not going to be at this hotel...and if you are, don't expect to understand much of anything! not many english speakers. brush up on your portuguese!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arielmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelBrasil, Quality Manager at Iberostar Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us at TripAdvisor. We are delighted you have enjoyed our hotel while your kids experienced a great time with our mini club staff! I will make sure to let our entertainment manager as well as his team know about your comments and satisfaction with their great performances! Thank you once again for recommending our hotel, we can´t wait to have you back! Please do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager Iberostar Brasil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for a conference and it was a pleasant experience. All-inclusive and there was an excellent choice of food at the buffet although it can feel a bit 'school cafeteria' at times. Tried a couple of the restaurants. Japanese restaurant was very good. Colonial restaurant was a bit hit and miss in terms of the food quality from course to course. The hotel is massive and it can be a very long way from your room to reception. Rooms were well-sized with super air conditioning (had to turn it off at some points because it was freezing). Long tiled corridors outside rooms were very loud - especially with groups of screaming and shrieking kids running up and down at all hours. Pools were massive and very well looked after. For a family holiday with kids, it's a great resort. For a conference, it's fine. I'm less sure I would consider it for a couples holiday, but I guess it depends what you want from your hotel. All said and done, perfectly acceptable and enjoyable location and no major issues.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coluforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelBrasil, Quality Manager at Iberostar Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind words about our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us at Iberostar Bahia. Your satisfaction and well-being are of most importance to us and will work hard to keep providing great service for our guests!

Best Regards,
Quality Manager Iberostar Brasil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed for a week at this great hotel! Great food, great location! People are very nice and the view is great. I have a 2 y.o. Daughter and she had a lot of fun. I also used the gym and went running at the hotel. The place is clean and the rooms are big!! Would definetely go back and recommend it!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyMell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHotelBrasil, Quality Manager at Iberostar Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive the comments about your family vacation at Iberostar Bahia. Thank for recommending our hotel, we hope to welcome you back in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager Iberostar Brasil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Iberostar for 6 days this month as part of our honeymoon - we were overwhelmed at the size of the resort at first, but once we settled in we really enjoyed ourselves. The restaurants and food were really fantastic (particularly the sushi restaurant), and all of the staff were so friendly and a credit to the hotel. We were made to feel so welcome and at home on day one by Daniela on the help desk. Also, Louise was fantastic and arranged a surprise valentines meal for us both at the request of our families - she went to such an effort the evening was amazing. A big thanks to Marcelo and Edsom, our personal waiter and chef for the evening, we felt truly spoiled! We would recommend for families and couples alike.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess_Beddow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and we had a great time. The hotel itself is huge and it can take a while just to get around it! The staff were very helpful and their level of English was quite good. The room was spotless and large and had a regularly stocked up minibar. It was the first time we stayed in an all-inclusive resort and we were really impressed by the quality and variety of food and especially the quality of drinks available. There's a pool bar and lobby bar that makes great cocktails with generous amounts of internationally branded spirits. The pool areas are great but if you want total relaxation get a lounger overlooking the roaring sea. We also visited the spa and were impressed. All in all, we had a great time in Iberostar!

A couple of tiny things:

There's not a huge amount to do in the evenings for a young couple, a lively outdoor bar would have been a great addition.
The hotel is quite isolated. It's an hour walk along the beach (a great stroll!) or R$30 in a taxi to town.
The wifi is expensive and limited to the hotel's lobby

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danhux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our family (2 children 14 years old) stayed in Iberostar Bahia Jul 27-Aug 3, 2013, we've got 2 rooms. It's a nice hotel with almost all things you can expect from 5 star "all inclusive" hotels. It is situated on the ocean beach, very nice view, but also pretty strong waves, so no swimming in ocean. Probably good for surfing, I am not an expert.
There are good nature around, we saw parrots, small monkeys (they like icecream :)) and iguanas right from the window or around rooms.
Good gym, several pools, 5 or 6 restaurants and bars, all are serving drinks and nice food all the time.
Animation is good, with special attitude for children 3-10 age. For adults also there are a lot of options - you can learn step, shooting competition (pneumo rifles), dancing, funny evening shows, etc, etc

So why I'm giving only 3 stars if it so good? There are some bad details which makes me do this.

First of all, there is no ATM, so you cannot withdraw the cash to get a taxi (which requires cash). Hotel offers exchange for rates at ~40% higher that in ATM (for example, EUR was 2.25 R$, while in ATM it was 2.96). I even doubt it's an official policy of Iberostar, may be somebody of the staff is making his own very small "business".
Then, Internet is paid. Well, not a big problem, since 3G (TIM Brazil) is good and affordable.

Then, there are ants. In room 1224 there were many, many ants - looks like they have a highway or business center in this room. In 1225 (next) there were 2 or 3 ants (not popular destination among ants, I believe). Cleaning removes ants for some time, but soon they return.

And the last but very big problem is food. In the main restaurant (Meu Rei) food was very very good - I think the best buffet I saw. There were steaks, langustins, always selection of meat, fish, etc. Fresh juices (orange, acerola, pineapple, papaya, watermelon, etc, etc), milk cocktails (juices with milk), of course pizzas, pastas, etc. And variations every day.
Look like very good food, and this is true - except special "a la karte" restaurants. In the hotel you can visit several times special restaurants - French, Steaks, Japanese, See food. We had 3 visits included, and went to Japanese, French and See food.
In French and See food we had strong food poisoning. Also the girl from another family had the same disease (puke, temperature, all this nice stuff all night long and day in bed after it). I believe the reason was shrimps, since only those who ate them got poisoning. I has impression that they re-used shrimps from the main buffet in this restaurants.
In Japanese restaurant they cook right on the table, so everything was good.
So, one star down for food poising we had.

Another "minus star" is for weekends - at weekend huge number of people arrive from Salvador and other places and all facilities (except the gym :)) are overcrowded. Bartender said she spent 38 bottles of vodka during weekend making cocktails only in the one pool bar. Restaurants, pools - everything is occupied and crowded.

So, to summarize - this is very good hotel for long family vacations (7+ days). if you decide to go there, avoid holidays (go to Project Tamar or Salvador during them) and don't eat in French and See food restaurant (and avoid shrimps :)). Get some extra cash since there is no ATM, and check your 3G connection.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are pretty big and looks enough for 2-3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexeyKovyazin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia do Forte
14.1 mi away
Refugio da Vila
Refugio da Vila
#4 of 10 in Praia do Forte
520 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hotel Via dos Corais
Hotel Via dos Corais
#6 of 10 in Praia do Forte
746 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
Hotel-Pousada Porto da Lua
#1 of 10 in Praia do Forte
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Iberostar Praia do Forte
Iberostar Praia do Forte
#2 of 10 in Praia do Forte
6,338 reviews
6.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Imbassai Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
Tivoli Ecoresort Praia do Forte
#1 of 2 in Mata de Sao Joao
3,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bahia

Address: Rodovia BA 099, km 56, Praia do Forte, State of Bahia 48280-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Praia do Forte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Praia do Forte
#2 Green Hotel in Praia do Forte
#2 Family Hotel in Praia do Forte
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia do Forte
Price Range: $279 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bahia 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star resort located in Praia do Forte, only 60km away from Salvador (Brazil). Sea–turtles reserve. 5 restaurants. Tennis courts. SPA and Golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, VISIT US, INC. , Expedia, Orbitz, Prestigia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Bahia Praia Do Forte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing