We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away from it all in the trees”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rocks Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rocks Homestay
Ranked #1 of 2 Punakaiki B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aveton Gifford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Away from it all in the trees”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is a superb location. We arrived after a rather lukewarm display from the Pancake Rocks blow holes. We were in the Art Room, with a balcony from which all we could see were the tops of trees with the ocean in the distance. Viktor, the owners' assistant, showed us around with another couple from America who had arrived simultaneously. He later gave us good advice about when to visit the blow holes (high tide) and to make the walk up the river from the bridge down the road into town, even if only for a few minutes (breath-taking). He also insisted we did the walk from the house to a little beach, which was delightful. The room itself was a bit small with only some hooks on the wall to hang clothes and a tiny bathroom. Sadly our fellow guests had disappeared by the time we had breakfast, which was good and cooked to order, though there was no decent English-type tea. They had spent just the night there as they were doing the 'been-there-done-that' trip and were off to Franz Josef at the crack of dawn, so probably hadn't seen the blow holes at their best. We made time to go back to them for a magnificent display by Mother Nature. We loved The Rocks because it felt so special and private.

Room Tip: We had originally booked the Music room, the only one available at the time, but this is on a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    20
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
95
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at this breathtaking homestay for 2 nights. Viktor who helps the managers greeted us with tea and cookies and showed us around. We met Patrick in the evening. What a sweetheart, a neverending source of tips and advices. Joe, his partner looked after us for breakfast. The selfmade bread and cakes are to die for. We could have stayed forever. Thank you so much for this memorable time we had.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
428 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Arrived mid pm and shown to Sea room which was nice and had great views although you need binos to see Pancake rocks. Unfortunately the owner (now back in Swtizerland) had double booked the room which let to an uncomfortable stay with an extra couple in the house who quite rightly were disappointed. The hosts run other hostels in the area and at times there was nobody around to oversee the place. I suspect the team have taken on too much particulalry during the summer months. Breakfast was good. Owner and team were very apologetic but it couldnt undo the difficult stay we had here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

First off, the house and location are simply beautiful. However, the overall stay experience fell a bit short. We were greeted on arrival by Victor and Char, who help out the managers who also run a hostel in town. Not having the actual manager/owner on site was a bit strange. Our room, the Art room, had a great conservatory and view. The room itself was ok, but certainly not spacious. My complaints are centered on the bathroom. It was very small, with really no place to set down your toiletries. No soap or shampoo was provided in the tiny shower, which was a first for us in a b&b. The towels were flimsy, as if from a cheap motel. Breakfast was very good, however.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank blue74Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

The B&B is very nice and offers wonderful views on one of the most beautiful parts of the South Island's coastline. We stayed in the Arts room, which is elegantly decorated, although I agree with one of the previous reviewers that there is no closet space whatsoever and the bathroom is small. It looks like they don't expect people to stay longer than one night. We stayed for two, and our room was not cleaned after the first day. However, when we asked, we were given fresh towels and some shampoo. The hosts are very friendly and the whole atmosphere of the place is quite pleasant. The breakfast is excellent, with home baked bread, fresh vegetables from the garden and excellent eggs from their own chicken. In terms of carbon footprint you couldn't do better. The surroundings are gorgeous.

Room Tip: The two rooms upstairs have a great view, whereas the twin room downstairs is probably not as nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudioandEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

As homestays go it probably doesn't get much better than this. There are three rooms with 'sea' and 'Art' upstairs - both are nice but Art maybe a touch better with a small conservatory outside. Views over forest to the sea and a large lounge diner with similar views. The host is great and friendly guy with Victor as assistant. A lovely walk down the Truman track to a stunning beach via a short cut close to the house. Turn off road 50yards uphill from Truman track carpark.
Breakfast good, bed and linens very nice.

Room Tip: Art is just about better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We came across the Rocks Homestay by accident. This is a fabulous B&B that offers a couple of lovely rooms - one with a beautiful conservatory. The views of the sunset are wonderful and breakfast was great. Make sure you get the instructions to find it from the website.

Room Tip: Get the room with the conservatory!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickylee207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punakaiki hotels
2.4 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#3 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.0 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.3 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
1.2 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rocks Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Homestay

Property: The Rocks Homestay
Address: Hartmount Place 33, Punakaiki 7850, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — The Rocks Homestay 1*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think wild coast, isolated beaches, Nikau Palms, stunning views and fern-filled rainforest. Your hosts, Eva and Roland, welcome you to The Rocks Homestay at Punakaiki, nestled on the West Coast, the wildest side of New Zealand. Experience Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, forest tracks and river walks, canoeing, beach rambles, memorable sunsets and enjoy delicious home made evening meals. Complete your day relaxing in the conservatory with fantastic views on the rainforest and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rocks Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing