We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious”
Review of Paparoa Park Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paparoa Park Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Good sized comfortable rooms, in a good location. Microwave, fridge, small traveller kitchen. Also good tv but wifi not free. Clean good shower and bathroom. Worth a stop on your way while in area, pub down the road.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 97 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Amazing view from Gordon's villa just loved it had two nights here felt right at home & felt like we were the only ones there. And the hosts we had were very friendly & helpful Did a lot of walking there is some neat walking tracks there the blows holes were going off as there were king tides

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Toniioverend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed one night. Room was lovely, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Hosts were so helpful even to lending us a torch to see the glow worms! Great heater and electric blankets. Television needed updating though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just spent 4 days (3 nights) in this brillent location. Stayed in Gordons Villa...cute wee cottage for 2, very clean and tidy and has fantactic views! Lovely having a wine on the balcony looking over the sea...supurb!!! Hosts (Pam & Cam) were really friendly and very helpful. We will definately stay in this location again. Great price and so close to everything.

Room Tip: Gordons Villa is perfect for two !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Fairy inexpensive motel. We arrived and saw the motel was for sale. Location was close to Punakaki rocks but the property itself was older and dated and need of some work. The unit was clean but kitchen was older. The electric skillet stopped working the first meal we tried cooking with it. Tip-If you are coming from the north, stop at Westport for supplies before proceeding south to property. We checked into motel first but the next town is Greymouth and even though it is a larger town with amenitieis, it is about 50 kilometers away and about an hour or so drive and then back again. Nothing in between to get food and supplies for the kitchenette.Best thing going for this property is the location to the rocks. Average.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank timandkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaparoaParkManager, Owner at Paparoa Park Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thanks for your review. You will be pleased to know the motel has now been sold and I am the new owner Justin. We have started an exiting project of refurbishments and have replaced all the TVs with flat-screen led TVs with USB input.
A lot of the overgrown fauna is in the process of being removed revealing some fantastic views. Please come back and visit soon. Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The first night of our week's holiday was spent here and it did not disappoint. Everything was clean and tidy, the beds very comfortable and the managers (Pam and Cam) went out of their way to make our short stay memorable. The Pancake Rocks are just up the road, as are places to eat. This motel is in an idilic garden setting, even having its own glowworm cave. Thank you for a lovely start to our holiday.

Room Tip: Very quiet location with no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValWChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The setting was great, surrounded by bush and birds and the local scenery was wonderful. The cottage was very small and although not expensive we didn't expect the two double bedrooms to be off the room with two single beds in it. The bathroom was very small as were the living room and kitchen. We stayed one night and it was fine for the purpose but a longer holiday here wouldn't have been viable. The hosts who were temporarily looking after the place while the owners were away were lovely.

Room Tip: I think that the front units looked better than the cottage and they may have had a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RossY415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
19.1 mi away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#16 of 19 in Greymouth
16 reviews
23.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#17 of 19 in Greymouth
515 reviews
24.2 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 19 in Greymouth
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
719 reviews
1 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
2.3 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 8 in Punakaiki
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paparoa Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paparoa Park Motel

Address: 4136 Coast Road | Punakaiki, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range: $107 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in quiet coastal bush environment, overlooking Punakaiki Pancake Rocks and near Paparoa National Park one of New Zealand's treasured locations. On State Highway 6, a perfect location between Nelson & Glaciers, to walk native rainforest & rugged beaches.Spot native birds, particularly black petrels, wekas, wood pigeons and tuis, then after dark visit the glow-worm grotto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Paparoa Park Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paparoa Park Hotel Punakaiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing