We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and hosts !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paparoa Park Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paparoa Park Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Certificate of Excellence
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location and hosts !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just spent 4 days (3 nights) in this brillent location. Stayed in Gordons Villa...cute wee cottage for 2, very clean and tidy and has fantactic views! Lovely having a wine on the balcony looking over the sea...supurb!!! Hosts (Pam & Cam) were really friendly and very helpful. We will definately stay in this location again. Great price and so close to everything.

Room Tip: Gordons Villa is perfect for two !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    35
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
50
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Fairy inexpensive motel. We arrived and saw the motel was for sale. Location was close to Punakaki rocks but the property itself was older and dated and need of some work. The unit was clean but kitchen was older. The electric skillet stopped working the first meal we tried cooking with it. Tip-If you are coming from the north, stop at Westport for supplies before proceeding south to property. We checked into motel first but the next town is Greymouth and even though it is a larger town with amenitieis, it is about 50 kilometers away and about an hour or so drive and then back again. Nothing in between to get food and supplies for the kitchenette.Best thing going for this property is the location to the rocks. Average.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank timandkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaparoaParkManager, Owner at Paparoa Park Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thanks for your review. You will be pleased to know the motel has now been sold and I am the new owner Justin. We have started an exiting project of refurbishments and have replaced all the TVs with flat-screen led TVs with USB input.
A lot of the overgrown fauna is in the process of being removed revealing some fantastic views. Please come back and visit soon. Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The first night of our week's holiday was spent here and it did not disappoint. Everything was clean and tidy, the beds very comfortable and the managers (Pam and Cam) went out of their way to make our short stay memorable. The Pancake Rocks are just up the road, as are places to eat. This motel is in an idilic garden setting, even having its own glowworm cave. Thank you for a lovely start to our holiday.

Room Tip: Very quiet location with no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValWChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
223 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The setting was great, surrounded by bush and birds and the local scenery was wonderful. The cottage was very small and although not expensive we didn't expect the two double bedrooms to be off the room with two single beds in it. The bathroom was very small as were the living room and kitchen. We stayed one night and it was fine for the purpose but a longer holiday here wouldn't have been viable. The hosts who were temporarily looking after the place while the owners were away were lovely.

Room Tip: I think that the front units looked better than the cottage and they may have had a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in the Cottage foe just one night which was a relief as the unit we stayed in wasn't that nice. It was very dated looking, with bad lighting in all rooms and just generally not that nice. Plus I think its a little overpriced, we have stayed in other places around the south, for the same amount and had a much better experience.
Punakaiki however is a great place! stunning beaches and we went round the blow holes twice, they are just magnificient, make sure you go at high tide!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justinjackson1973, Owner at Paparoa Park Motel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
I am sorry you thought the accomodation was dated and badly lit. Since I took over after your stay an exciting program of refurbishments and changes are planned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed overnight here and appreciated the lovely views of the ocean. The sun came in early in the morning warming up the unit and brought with it a family of Weka, what a treat. The unit we stayed in had the most well stocked kitchen we have ever come across. It felt like a home away from home. Notable was the bed and the sheets, a real pleasure to sleep in. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roscll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
257 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here two nights while hiking the rainforest area. This is walking distance to the pancake rocks and a few cafes/ shops.
Younare surrounded by beautiful ferns in every window. You can barely see the waves when the fog is not present. There are adequate space heaters in each room to warm you up. Older plain furniture but clean. Had a kitchenette with a stove, micro, sink and fridge.
Bed was comfortable in a separate room couch, table two chairs, tv and a nice balcony to sit out on. The lighting was good to read or work. Shower was shaky, handheld.pp
Wifi was $5 for 200 mb. Didn't use it said they had problem with safari.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ackart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
24.4 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.1 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.2 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paparoa Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paparoa Park Motel

Property: Paparoa Park Motel
Address: 4136 Coast Road | Punakaiki, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in quiet coastal bush environment, overlooking Punakaiki Pancake Rocks and near Paparoa National Park one of New Zealand's treasured locations. On State Highway 6, a perfect location between Nelson & Glaciers, to walk native rainforest & rugged beaches.Spot native birds, particularly black petrels, wekas, wood pigeons and tuis, then after dark visit the glow-worm grotto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Paparoa Park Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paparoa Park Hotel Punakaiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing