We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing else quite like it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punakaiki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Punakaiki Beach Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We live less than 2 hours drive from here but this has to be one of our favourite caravan spots. The limestone cliffs and valleys and the beach only a short walk from the camp are all amazing.

There are many short walks within a few minutes walk or drive from the campground.

The facilities are typical camping ground standard and well used by the many campers but are cleaned daily.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Punakaiki Beach Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 118 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

This place is a gem. I almost don't want to share it. Nifty cabins with fully stocked kitchenettes, very clean, and a quick walk to a fantastic beach. Friendly staff and a staggeringly gorgeous location. Sweet as!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellak H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We arrived at the park and met with the lovely new owner, he informed us that he had taken over the site 4 days ago. and told us of his exciting new plans to move the office to a new building with a shop in a more suitable location for all who stay.

Showers and toilets were nice, clean and warm - no complaints there.The grounds are lovely with great views over the coast and mountains

We stayed in a "budget" cabin - $42 for 2 people. Lovely for the night that we stayed with nice views and grounds.

The kitchens needs some equipment installed - possibly some pans, toaster, cooking utensils etc and basic washing up liquid, cloths so that we can help keep the kitchen clean for all who use it....

This is already a lovely place to stay and with a few little tweaks and personal touches by its new owners will be perfect! :-)

Will recommend to all to stay here as they travel along the West Coast of NZ as it is has some lovely walks and is near to the "Pancake rocks".

Good luck to the new owners!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punakaikibeachcamp, Owner at Punakaiki Beach Camp, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Hi Tom. Thanks for your review! Yes we are very excited about our new venture! Just to let you know the new office is on the way and we are getting the site ready.
Thanks for your comments on the washing up equipment.
We now have washing liquid and cloths available in the kitchen, and for those in need of utensils we have a selection in the office to borrow.
Have a good holiday !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Amazing location and the owners are very friendly and helpful !
A shame we only stayed for 1 night, because it's probably our preferred camp in the NZ South island, so beautiful and relaxing. We will definitely recommend you to stop there !!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Loved staying in this beach side camp, it had wicked scenery and really nice owners. The other travellers there were also very friendly. The room was neat and tidy with a real cumfy bed. Wicked place to stay, recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reuben09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago with some friends and what a spot!
The service was choice (great), really friendly hosts and a really awesome area to visit!
The beach was really nice and sorrounded by the national park. We stayed three nights and would have loved to stay longer, great place and will be back again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LESVIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punakaiki hotels
1.3 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
1.1 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
222 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Beach Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Beach Camp

Address: Owen St, Punakaiki 7866, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Punakaiki
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punakaiki Beach Camp is located in a picturesque beachside setting adjoining Paparoa National Park. Entrance is in Owen Street, off SH 6, 1km north of Pancake Rocks & easy 45 min drive from Westport or Greymouth. Ideal for overnight stop or extended stay, the Punakaiki Beach Camp is an excellent base to explore limestone gorges, bushwalks, beaches & Pancake Rocks & Blowholes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing