We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My kind of camping in a tree house”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Punakaiki, West Coast Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
RPassion
North Carolina Beach & Florida Gulf
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“My kind of camping in a tree house”
Reviewed March 2, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Near the sea and the Pancake Rocks. The owner sent me an email and told me to be sure to bring all of our food needs in if we didn't want to use the cook/service he tells you about. What fun to make do, and after all these weeks of eating out it was nice to sit back for two nights and cook a bit. I agree with other reviewer, the sea view is not the best but you know it is there. There are other lodges near by but the foliage provides good barriers. We found the house very clean, perhaps a bit musty smelling for a few moments. Wish there were screens on the windows as there are flies. Also had a wild life visitor who constantly pooped on the deck.(really don't know what this was). Deck also provided a place to hang our clothes line and put out some laundry to dry one sunny day while hiking. Kitchen had what we needed to cook with. Used the grill outside while the birds wondered what kind of bird we were cooking. Lots of good electrical outlets. Ground floor bedroom gets cramped with two suitcases open...but all of this was just the experience and not a problem for just two nights but would get old for a longer period of time. Enjoy this really cute house!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buonviagg...
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Highlight of our New Zealand Trip”
Reviewed March 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed two nights in Paparoa Whare. After a long day of travel through Lewis Pass we arrived at this heavenly retreat. Since the owner had given us a $50.00 voucher for homemade food delivered to our door, we were met by the chef with a scrumptious tray of delicious locally grown food which we had ordered ahead. What could be better? Then later when in bed we looked up to see a sky full of stars. All was good. Then it got even better when the next night we took an outdoor bath on the deck under the stars. Completely private. Other amazing aspects: the bush all around so great bird songs, beach very close, clean, an excellent sound system to easily hook our i phones to for our own music, wifi and an oven. The only small detail that we would change is to have screens on the windows so that we can keep them open at night. The manager stopped by once to check in and bring a fan, and said he was going to suggest getting screens. He was very helpful and wanted to know if we needed anything else. We loved this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and outdoor bath
Liked least: no screens
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim04y
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Rainforest Retreat”
Reviewed March 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Wharepuni is set amongst subtropical rainforest and faces the Tasman Sea with the steep forested slopes of the Paparoa National rising behind it. Although only about 100 metres from the State Highway it is quiet and secluded. However, it is not totally isolated; there are other properties quite close and visible through the trees. It should also be noted that the view of the Tasman Sea is largely obstructed by vegetation so you just get a glimpse of it through the trees. The management photo on tripadvisor is a little misleading in this respect as it is taken from a higher vantage point than the balcony of the property.
The accommodation itself is good. The bedroom and bathroom is on the ground floor. Unfortunately the bedroom had a slight damp smell about it. Upstairs is a spacious sitting/kitchen area which opens, via large glass doors, onto an extensive balcony giving t views of the forest and the sea beyond. With much exposed wood and dark furnishings in the rooms we found the interior of the property to be rather gloomy.The accommodation is well equipped and the wifi good.
There are few restaurants in the vicinity, but a local lady is at hand and she will prepare meals if given adequate notice. We had these on the two nights of our stay and they were pleasant enough but rather expensive for what they were.
In the vicinity are the pancake rocks at Punakaiki. Further afield there is some beautiful coastal scenery with many quiet, untouched beaches and imposing cliffs. From Wharepuni, a short 5 minute walk through the forest, will take you to the Truman Track which leads to a dramatic beach embraced by cliffs battered by wild surf. Swimming not advised.
As with most of New Zealand's west coast sandflies are present so take your spray and keep the windows closed.
Would I recommend staying here? A qualified yes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A Good place to stop off between Franz Josef and Abel Tasman. Coastal scenery
Liked least: Nothing in particular to dislike, but nothing outstanding.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelaing7
Miri, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Highlight of our vacation, better to stay one week here”
Reviewed March 5, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The Wharepuni house was the highlight of our New Zealand vacation. If this house had been available for more time, we would certainly have stayed a week. If you like hiking and nature, this is paradise! This house is also the best rental in the area, since it has a good view. Well furnished, everything we need. Creative woodwork which inspired me to do a bit of the same, since I have lots of drfitwood down the hill from my house in Borneo.

Other reviewers, hey come on, You dont need window screens, they just spoil the view. Got sandflies? We had a few, but they are slow, stupid and when they do occasionally get in the house, they go hang out on the window panes and are easy to kill.

Like birds? Wharepuni is a bird meeting place, saw and heard many types of birds.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivqnq
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place on earth”
Reviewed February 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed there for a couple of days in January 2013. Accidentally bumped on that place and decided to stay. The hosts were very nice and kind, they brought us groceries cause the store is far away. The house is amazing, we will never forget the sunsets on that terrace. We took the host's advice to order food from their neighbor - it was amazingly tasteful and beautifully served. It was unforgettable experience

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison A
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy base for exploring Punakaiki and surrounding West Coast area”
Reviewed January 24, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed next door at the second house of the owner (Paparoa Whare). Cottage was clean and cosy with great amenities for a young family. My 5-year old son loved the rocky beach and waterfall nearby and the cheeky weka bird that almost stole his shoes! Provided an excellent home base to explore the Punakaiki area and surrounding west coast. Thank you to Brendan and Eva for making booking so easy and welcoming us during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy and private
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebsterF
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nestled in the trees”
Reviewed January 14, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Really cute cottage. Suitable for us for one night. Walk to Truman Track and beach. Very quiet and relaxing. BBQ on top deck available. Kitchen ok.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing