We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunset views were stunning!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sunset views were stunning!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed a night in the Sunset cottage, and definitely had front row seats for the sunset! The room was spacious and comfortable and the shower was amazing!!! The walk along the beach is beautiful too, and sitting in bed we watched the waves roll in as the sun come up. Worth the drive!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamb_shanks86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    60
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
95
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

We rented the individual en-suite cabin on the beach - only wish we could have stayed longer. The view from our own private porch was incredible. The room was like new and very comfortable. Sounds of the sea at night just completed the visit.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank trixdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great kitchen AND clean. Beaut little hostel, fantastic location, friendly owner who sells his own bread. Yum yum. Quirky things all around the place. Interesting. There is also another cottage on the next street with dorms or shared rooms and double room with ensuite which is run by the same guy. Very clean bathrooms which is a nice change from some backpackers. Recommend this place to stay. The beach 30 meters away is a great bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for room 4 which is a double non ensuite BUT the toilet and showers are right next door. Quiet t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We rented the individual cabin with the ensuite - it faced the ocean and was wonderful. It had a comfortable queen bed, a flat screen TV, free WIFI, coffee, sink and small fridge, the bathroom was gorgeous.. a rainshower that lit up in blue, that looked out to the beach.. this was one of our most favorite stays in NZ. I highly recommend it. There were laundry facilities there, you could walk to Punakaiki Tavern(breakfast/lunch/dinner) or walk to the Pancake Rocks and blowholes. This was our 1st hostel experience and it was super positive. We had 2 chairs on our deck that we could sit and watch the ocean.. and then hear the waves crashing at night - simply a gem of a place.

Room Tip: We had the separate cottage at NZ 115 - a great value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foursquares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Had a nice stay here. Large and well-equipped kitchen, bright and cheery vibe and great location just a few minutes drive from the pancake rocks. Loved the fresh herbs in the garden.

We stayed in room #1 of what I think is the newer building. The only drawbacks were common to any hostel -- loud guests hanging out in the lounge until late and people leaving dirty dishes in the kitchen. While the room had a nice balcony, it was also adjacent to the lounge so was noisy. The bathrooms and showers are downstairs but were clean and plentiful. You do have to pay for wifi ($5) and towels.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JCap2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed in a separate double bedded unit adjacent to the main hostel building in what was a converted truck body with our own private seating area with chairs overlooking the ocean added on the front. This was comfy and homely.

The communal kitchen is well equipped and has great views

The owner makes and sells delicious homemade bread and cakes.

There are a few food items for sale at the hostel and a bigger selection at the motor park just along the road.

Its a 15 minute walk along the main road to the Pancake Rocks and the tourist office/cafe

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed in Te Hui House, the second unit of this hostel. We have stayed in Punakaiki Beach Hostel before, and wanted to stay again on our way down the West Coast. To us the Te Hui House lacks the charm and homely feel of the main builiding that is Punakaiki Beach Hostel. Yes, it was fairly clean and had a small kitchen for us to use. We stayed in a bunk bed room in the groud floor. Room was very basic and a little dark. The shared bathroom was clean but a bit dated. The second floor of Te Hui House seemed nicer though. Also, the Te Hui House unit didn't have the supreme seaside views of the main unit Punakaiki Beach Hostel, as the location is closer to the road. Wifi was not free, and we also had to pay for the towels. We felt the price was a bit expensive for what we got. However, the homebaked bread you can buy from the reception over at Punakaiki Beach Hostel is very good and watching the sunset from the beach is a must!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main unit at the Punakaiki Beach Hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korimako_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
1.2 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
24.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
1.2 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Beach Hostel

Property: Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Address: 4 Webb Street | West Coast, Punakaiki, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Punakaiki Beach Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Standard accommodation for budget travelers. Enjoy our friendly atmosphere and relax to the sound of the sea. You won't get any closer to the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punakaiki Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing