We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Punakaiki Resort(Punakaiki)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sundowner Motel(Greymouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Breeze Motel(Greymouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveler rating
118
61
14
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
61
14
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset cottagethe kitchendouble roomrefreshing changetunafridge spacefrench doorsprivate balconycommon roomfresh breadfor saleminute walkpancake rollsoverlooking the oceanpower outletsbar fridgewater pressure
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 200 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Me and my friend were travelling from Dunedin to Auckland and stayed a night here. This place was magic, rooms ten metres from the beach , friendly manager, and all round friendly people staying there. It was in walking distance to the pub also. Amazing place.

Room Tip: every room was nice
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed here in December 2010. When we arrived the very friendly owner asked us did we want to experience an unusual place to stay, and we said why not. So he showed us to our room - a truck/ camper van type set up with no wheels. It was cute and basic and definitely different, but not great if you wanted to use the bathroom during the night as its very dark and we had to cross the yard to get to the building. The bed was comfortable and the howling wind outside made us feel very cosy and secure in our little van.

The weather was pretty bad when we stayed here so we made us of the hostel facilities. There is a very nice kitchen/ games room and comfortable space to lounge and read. The key Punakaiki attraction (the rocks) is about a ten minute walk away. Apart from the local pub there is not much else here, but in hot weather it would be an amazing spot as it is right on the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

A brilliant place to chill out nice living room overlooking the Tasman see. Showers and toilet are very clean and new. Over all nice place i'l be back;-)

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gothereandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights, unfortunatley the weather wasn't too good during our stay, constant rain and storms. Kitchen facilitys were excellent with plenty of space. There was a range of puzzles and board games which kept us entertained during the bad weather, there is however no TV.

On the whole, clean, nice comfy sturdy bunk beds, with shelves and individual lights, a plus for any hostel. A little worrying was that during our stay there were sandbags built up around the doorways, which gave the impression that they had experienced flooding previously.

Freshly baked bread and muffins are availible at a small cost, but beware Punakaiki has very little in the way of shops so make sure you bring food supplies with you. Failing that, there is a pub very closeby which does great food with a relaxed atmosphere.

Internet is availible, $10 for a wifi password or a put your money in the slot PC.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russellosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

I was traveling with a friend and didnt have reservations when we got into Punakaiki in the late afternoon. We ended up at this hostel in a 4-bed room. The hostel is nice and clean and overlooks the ocean.
We stayed for 1 night to see the Pancake Rocks and Blowholes. Make sure to go there during high tide! I couldnt get enough of watching the blowholes! What an amazing place. During our 1-month NZ trip, this was one of my favorite places! You can´t miss it.
No party place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaytravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews