We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night's stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punakaiki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Punakaiki Tavern & Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Punakaiki B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was fine for one night, en route from Te Anau to Nelson as we wanted to see the pancake rocks and blowholes. The room was very small, no kitchen facilities, no toiletries, little in the way of teas etc.
Sitting in the garden for supper, however, was fun and the food good, if fairly ordinary.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferCashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 59 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Tranquil and peaceful place in the most of beautiful areas and surroundings next to the Tasman Sea. Bar/Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was better than average, the style of presentation was not riveting, this was reflected in its price.
The mosquitos / sand flies have a field day here in tavern the evenings but not in the guest rooms. Our room was comfortable, cosy and clean although quite small by other hotel/motel standards.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is OK accommodation when there is not a lot of choice around. The room is on the small side but perfectly adequate for a one night stay. You are close to the Pancake Rocks and the bar restaurant is next door serving the usual food at a reasonable price. The staff are friendly and helpful. Don't expect 5 star, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidH118WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here at the last minute on a one night stopover. Clean, but small, unremarkable rooms. We chose it, because we were having dinner at the bar and it was late. Not disappointed, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WasatchSkier35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The motel rooms are in a separate building opposite the tavern. The rooms are rather small and there is no kitchen to prepare your own food (strangely it's called a motel). It's conveniently located to the pancake rocks but due to the small size of the room and the location close to the main road I would not recommend it for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12Travellingismylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed one night at the Punakaiki Tavern and Motel. I booked over the phone and was a bit worried in case it was a noisey night...it is a Tavern ie. pub/bar. I was pleasantly surprised with the accomodation, which is a separate building. It was very well appointed and clean and the pub had meals and pub snack food too (and drinking, of course). Teh only noise I heard was the wind and the sea and the birds. The owner was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Some rooms are nearer the noisy laundry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richards1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here one night last month. Very small motel room, really not suitable to stay for any length of time. For the same price we stayed at a motel room in Blenheim which was huge and well appointed Punakaiki Tavern and motel is very overpriced. Not likely to be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punakaiki hotels
1.2 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
96 reviews
0.8 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Tavern & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Tavern & Motel

Address: Corner Of State Highway 6 & Owen Street, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Punakaiki
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Punakaiki Tavern is open 7 days 8 am till late. 1 km north of the pancake rocks & blow holes halfway between Westport & Greymouth. 2 min.walk to beach,Adjacent to the Paparoa National Park. A full range of meals,Breakfast from 8 am.Lunch, Dinner from 5 pm. Bar Snacks,Espresso coffee,tea,Wine spirit sales. Indoor outdoor dining in our beautiful garden setting. Accommodation. Free Wi- Fi in units. surcharge in Tavern. 9 ensuite studio units double or twin.Access unit. Free parking. Eftpos-credit card facilities. Sky TV in the Tavern. Fully Licensed. Wi-fi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing