We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a one-night stop-over”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punakaiki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Punakaiki Tavern & Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Punakaiki B&B and Inns
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good for a one-night stop-over”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The motel rooms are in a separate building opposite the tavern. The rooms are rather small and there is no kitchen to prepare your own food (strangely it's called a motel). It's conveniently located to the pancake rocks but due to the small size of the room and the location close to the main road I would not recommend it for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Travellingismylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed one night at the Punakaiki Tavern and Motel. I booked over the phone and was a bit worried in case it was a noisey night...it is a Tavern ie. pub/bar. I was pleasantly surprised with the accomodation, which is a separate building. It was very well appointed and clean and the pub had meals and pub snack food too (and drinking, of course). Teh only noise I heard was the wind and the sea and the birds. The owner was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Some rooms are nearer the noisy laundry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richards1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here one night last month. Very small motel room, really not suitable to stay for any length of time. For the same price we stayed at a motel room in Blenheim which was huge and well appointed Punakaiki Tavern and motel is very overpriced. Not likely to be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

As noted by the other reviewers, the rooms are very small and cramped (though clean and freshly painted). We stayed for 2 nights and had our towels replaced, but our bed was not re-made, possibly too much effort.... There was a kettle, two mugs and one teaspoon, very unlike NZ (where kitchen facilities are the norm) and the lack of facilities made us adamant NOT to eat in the tavern. Luckily we discovered a wonderful restaurant (called Jack's Gasthof) serving pizzas as well as steaks, fish and more near Charleston (see a separate review).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hila5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Punakaiki hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were booked in here by the Murchison Information Centre. The lady there informed us that Punakaiki was likely to be very busy (wrong!) and that this motel was very nice (very wrong!). From her telephone conversation with the owner we were led to believe that there was only one room left, so we paid up and she booked us in - big mistake! The room was tiny, the facilities very basic, tired and not very clean - a kettle, two mugs and two teaspoons were provided. Though to be fair the owner did lend us a toaster and two plates and knives when we asked. The only place to eat was the Tavern which served basic overpriced pub grub, but it had a nice fire and was a better prospect than an evening in our cell of a room. We were convinced that several of the other rooms were not occupied so there was in fact no need to book in advance. A stroll round Punakaiki turned up lots of other vacancies so we felt thoroughly conned.

Room Tip: Try another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is ok for a one night stopover as long as you are prepared to eat in the tavern. I would not recommend it for longer stays. The rooms are very small and it is not possible to get around both sides of the double bed. There are no cooking facilities and no internet access of any kind. Cleanliness is not an issue.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Really friendly people at the tavern. Helpful and very pleasant. The rooms were quite small and basic but very clean. It was fine for a stopover for the night. The food was very expensive and whilst good enough was just pub food. At $35 for a steak which just seemed flavourless, some chips and salad it wasn't good value. I wish we'd brought our own food. (Beware also not a vegetable in sight!!! Unless you want a vege burger i.e. processed pattie). Anyway good enough considering how isolated they are.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David-Sydney_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Punakaiki hotels
1.3 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
93 reviews
0.8 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
1.1 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
218 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Tavern & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Tavern & Motel

Property: Punakaiki Tavern & Motel
Address: Corner Of State Highway 6 & Owen Street, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Punakaiki
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Punakaiki Tavern is open 7 days 8 am till late. 1 km north of the pancake rocks & blow holes halfway between Westport & Greymouth. 2 min.walk to beach,Adjacent to the Paparoa National Park. A full range of meals,Breakfast from 8 am.Lunch, Dinner from 5 pm. Bar Snacks,Espresso coffee,tea,Wine spirit sales. Indoor outdoor dining in our beautiful garden setting. Accommodation. Free Wi- Fi in units. surcharge in Tavern. 9 ensuite studio units double or twin.Access unit. Free parking. Eftpos-credit card facilities. Sky TV in the Tavern. Fully Licensed. Wi-fi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing