We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely little town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Punakaiki was an unexpected highlight for us. I'm so glad we stayed here rather than Greymouth or Westport. I fear that we may have kept on driving a missed the pancake rocks which are really impressive.

The cottage was indeed a little dated but perfectly comfortable and spacious. And very clean and warm. We enjoyed a fantastic steak at the tavern, which I highly recommend. It's a really warm and welcoming place and I appreciated the book swap shelf :)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 103 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2010

I stayed here on a trip of the south island. This was the most expensive night of the trip which reflected the fact that there are limited accommodation options at Punkaiki not the outstanding nature of the motel. The owners were friendly and there is parking right next to the cottages (albeit the spaces are a bit of tight squeeze). The cottages are located right on the beach - although our room didn't have a view but we knew that before we booked.

The main complaint was that the room wasn't particularly clean and the decor could do with a bit of an update . Pretty much without exception everywhere else we stayed in New Zealand was spotless but on inspection (had to remove a plug from a socket behind the bed) the areas you couldn't see in this room were covered in a thick dust and had clearly not been cleaned for a long while.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LMPN79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We were welcomed warmly and found the chalet had everything we needed.The position of the chalet, almost on the beach was fantastic, waves roaring nearby. The toilet and bathroom area was basic but clean. The bed comfortable as was the seating area. The curtains were rather thin though. Parking is by the chalet, which is a short walk to the centre of the village.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramsfanDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

We stayed one night in Cottage #2 which was right at the front next to the beach. The view was fantastic and it was great sitting on the deck with a beer watching the sun go down and taking in the scenery. Only got pestered by a few sandflies!

The accomodation was pretty basic which is what you'd expect in such a location and the building a bit dated but again you don't come here for 5* accomodation but the views.

I would definitely recommend it but make sure you got one of the 2 rooms which are right next to the beach.

We visited the caves and got dirty and had 3 trips up to the pancake rocks at various states of the tide. These were awesome!

We also walked the Truman track ~2km north which was very spectacular.

I thoroughly enjoyed Punakaiki and the spectacular coastline. This was the ideal place to stay to enjoy it was the noise of the sea was great!

For the quality of accomodation it was expensive so I guess you are paying for the location.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taffy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

We stayed at this motel for a night and it was really nice. It was made up of several wooden cabins on a private lane right next to the beach. There was a wind breaker by the beach so they are quite sheltered even though it was particularly windy. The cabin was nicely laid out and had a small kitchen area and was very well presented and clean, with a veranda if you can brave the sandflies! The owner was also very friendly and helpful. Further along the beach is a pub that serves nice food and makes a pleasant walk along the beach in the evening to get there. The beaches in this area are also excellent for beach combing as we met a couple of people looking for greenstone and even managed to find a couple bits ourselves, poor quality, but it was fun looking for them.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaineyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oferlvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SYSYSYSYGuerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
1.0 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
95 reviews
26.9 mi away
Apostles View Motel
Apostles View Motel
#12 of 20 in Greymouth
98 reviews
20.1 mi away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#16 of 20 in Greymouth
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
687 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Beachfront Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Beachfront Motels

Address: Mabel Street | PO Box 66, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand (Formerly Punakaiki Cottage Motels)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range: $108 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Punakaiki Beachfront Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels offer newly refurbished quality West Coast accommodation right on the beachfront in Punakaiki. Well-appointed studio and family motel units all fully self-contained with hot plates, fridge, microwave, electric fry-pan, tea & coffee, convection heater, 42" flat screen TV with free-view, DVD and WiFi. Guest laundry, BBQ area and garden setting for all guests. Pets negotiable by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Punakaiki Beachfront Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing