We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Nearby Hotels
Punakaiki Resort(Punakaiki)(Great Value!)
$117
$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paparoa Park Motel(Punakaiki)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Te Nikau Retreat(Punakaiki)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Te Hui House(Punakaiki)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
29
54
21
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
54
21
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea wallstayed herebedroom cottageshort walkwithin walking distancedown the roadopen planpancake rollstasman seaamazing sunsetminor issuenice locationsingle bedtruman trackthe kitchennice staylovely spot
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 114 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Punakaiki Beachfront Motel (as it is now known) is indeed right on the beachfront only 500 metres from the Pancake Rocks. The units are large, and although slightly dated are comfortable and well equipped. The sound of the surf pounding on the shore only a few metres away is a wonderful way to drift off to sleep. The area has no cellphone coverage but there's wifi (charged), so you can keep in touch with the world if you want. The Pancake Rocks are interesting but would have benefitted from a good strong swell to get the blowholes going. I'd recommend the Punakaiki Tavern for good, straightforward food and the Loop Track via the Pararoa and Punakaiki Rivers was idyllic and almost totally deserted bar the birds.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom cottage, which was about 100m from the sea. The cottage was spacious, but quite old. There was a strange/unpleasant/strong smell inside (had to keep windows open most of the time and it was cold outside). A small heater was there, but not strong enough to keep the place warm (even after we closed all the doors and windows). Kitchen was fully equipped, bathroom had a sink and shower in it and the basic toiletries. Separate toilet. WiFi was NOT free. We paid $5 for 50MB. Overall, despite its age it would have been a very lovely place to stay in, if it wasn't for the smell.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pralinka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here one night & wished we could have stayed longer. The manager, Bruce, was very welcoming & helpful. Our accommodation was spacious & clean (recently renovated). The rooms are virtually on the beach & when we stayed you could hear the sea roar as the weather had been rough. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogita180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed one night in a self contained bungalow at Punakaiki Cottage motel on a trip around the Sth Island. The Manager Bruce was very welcoming and friendly. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Practically on the beach, great place to chill out and enjoy the fabulous sunset with a glass of wine. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaygee30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our accommodation and really could not have expected more for a place so close to the sea. Everything was so clean and had everything that you would want for your stay. Our only regret was that we had only arranged for a one night stay, The lady manager was so friendly and gave us good advice of where to eat and when it would be high tide at Pancake rocks. Punakaiki is a beauriful place. The rugged beauty of its beaches is spectacular. From the accommoation it is only a short walk up to Pancake rocks and blowhole. Not to be missed. Walk to your left and you have so many fantastic bush walking experiences to take on. Just pick a distance that suits you! Great place to stay, central to everythibng at Punakiki and freindly owners.

Room Tip: Ask at reception, they will help you out.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews