We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Whittlesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Outstanding Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here one night & wished we could have stayed longer. The manager, Bruce, was very welcoming & helpful. Our accommodation was spacious & clean (recently renovated). The rooms are virtually on the beach & when we stayed you could hear the sea roar as the weather had been rough. Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogita180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    48
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
29
60
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed one night in a self contained bungalow at Punakaiki Cottage motel on a trip around the Sth Island. The Manager Bruce was very welcoming and friendly. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Practically on the beach, great place to chill out and enjoy the fabulous sunset with a glass of wine. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaygee30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our accommodation and really could not have expected more for a place so close to the sea. Everything was so clean and had everything that you would want for your stay. Our only regret was that we had only arranged for a one night stay, The lady manager was so friendly and gave us good advice of where to eat and when it would be high tide at Pancake rocks. Punakaiki is a beauriful place. The rugged beauty of its beaches is spectacular. From the accommoation it is only a short walk up to Pancake rocks and blowhole. Not to be missed. Walk to your left and you have so many fantastic bush walking experiences to take on. Just pick a distance that suits you! Great place to stay, central to everythibng at Punakiki and freindly owners.

Room Tip: Ask at reception, they will help you out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Beachside accommodation within a spit of the sea. Perfectly placed for walks along the beach and to enjoy the most amazing sunset. Just lying in bed listening to the pounding surf was worth the nights accommodation. A self contained unit that was clean, comfortable and with all the amenities requred, but would suggest you take own food as local pub was poor. Great location for Pancake Rocks.and a dynamic coastline.

Room Tip: Book the cottage nearest to the sea!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollyhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irish in Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a beachside Bach or shack as they call it in Australia. It was very clean but very basic. The managers were friendly. It is right on the beach but to be fair it's is more a stony walkway long the sea. They are lovely picnic tables you can sit on the take in the view. When we walked down the beach we were disappointed to see similar but nicer & newer looking accomodation a few mins down the beach with better views including the backpackers. You have to pay for Internet.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AoifeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

There are not too many places to stay in Punakaiki. We felt that this one was very over priced.
The room was clean and the manager very nice and friendly. Although we were right near the beach is was too cold and windy to go out for a walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

A totally random decision to stop here but glad we did. A delightful spot and our self contained cottage ticked all the boxes. Beautifully clean, comfortable and well presented, the owner made us feel so welcome. The weather was fabulous, we were within walking distance of the Pancake Rocks and high tide coincided with the most glorious sunset I have seen in a long while. We dined and sat long into the evening at the picnic table on top of the breakwater, listening to the sound of the sea and watching the stars. Idyllic. Peaceful. Fabulous. And sadly, for one night only.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
1.1 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
23.8 mi away
Apostles View Motel
Apostles View Motel
#15 of 20 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
24.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.3 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Beachfront Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Beachfront Motels

Property: Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Address: Mabel Street | PO Box 66, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand (Formerly Punakaiki Cottage Motels)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Punakaiki Beachfront Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels offer newly refurbished quality West Coast accommodation right on the beachfront in Punakaiki. Well-appointed studio and family motel units all fully self-contained with hot plates, fridge, microwave, electric fry-pan, tea & coffee, convection heater, 42" flat screen TV with free-view, DVD and WiFi. Guest laundry, BBQ area and garden setting for all guests. Pets negotiable by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Punakaiki Beachfront Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing