We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay right on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punakaiki Beachfront Motels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay right on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

These cottages are older style cottages but they are huge and have everything you need including very comfortable beds. They are also in amazing location right on the beach. We were lucky enough to stay in one that fronted the beach and it was lovely to sit on the front porch and relax. It was also amazing to fall asleep to the sound of the crashing waves. We stayed in the middle of summer and my kids swam in the ocean and spent hours looking for fossils in the rocks. It was a quick drive or walk to Pancake Rocks and there were some great bush walks and caves to explore close by. The pub down the road does a pretty good meal too. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage that fronts the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scjr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    44
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
26
57
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

We chose the Punakaiki Cottage motels purely on the basis of some photos we saw, and we don't regret our choice.

It was a slow week when we stayed, and got a lovely little cottage on the seafront, with a small veranda where you can sit and enjoy the sunset.

The room itself was nice and clean, and had all the amenities you can expect from such a property.

Our host was Bruce Gerard and to be honest, at first, I thought he was a bit gruff; but actually he is a very nice and friendly person and I enjoyed the occasional chat we had during our stay.

The only thing that the motel doesn't have is Internet connectivity, so if you are looking for that service, this place is not it.

Also, Punakaiki was the remotest place in New Zealand in my view, where there is no cellphone coverage either, so you can be totally cut off from the world.

Room Tip: Try to get the beach front rooms with the veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HTC00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

A small group of motel units - we stayed here because we were able to get one of the two units right on the beach of the Tasman sea. The unit was fine in early spring - it would be cold in the winter as it is of very flimsy construction.

However we wanted to walk on the beach in the lovely evening sunshine, fall asleep to the crashing of the waves, and wake up to a wonderful west coast morning! Idyllic.

We elected to stay at this more downmarket motel rather than the upmarket, and much more expensive nearby hotel/motel because this motel is right on a better beach.

Room Tip: You should get one of the beach-front units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was our second stay at these motels - in the same unit even!
I can't speak highly enough of this place. Superb location. Friendly hosts. The units clean, tidy, and well equipped. Our beds were firm but incredibly comfortable, and the shower - with it's adjustable head - great pressure, good for working those sore muscles. Which you will have if you take in some of the awesome walks - of which there are plenty. Short walks, or ones that take many hours - it's all there - all in stunning scenery. The Pancake Rocks blowholes are famous - and a must-see if the sea is wild - but that's certainly not all there is to do in Punakaiki.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott_chch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed one night here on the way down the West Coast of the South Island. The owners were friendly and helpful and the motel unit was clean, large and well equipped. Our unit was very close to the beach and we could hear to rolling waves.

The only thing I found a bit inconvenient was the layout of the motel unit. It consisted of three rooms: bathroom, bedroom/dining room and bedroom/kitchen. As it was open plan with no hall way and beds/living areas were combined, it meant there was reduced privacy for the sleeping arrangements. To get to the toilet from bedroom/dining area, you had to go through the bedroom/kitchen area, if that makes sense.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwitraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
738 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 800 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

This was our second night in NZ. We choose it based on the location as you get a great view from the stopbank of the ocean and the Punakiki rocks. The room was fine for a motel with a good shower. Its a short walk up a hill to the Punakaiki Rocks although the weather was perfect and you need a storm or rough weather to view the real power of the blowholes. We had dinner just down the road at the Punakaiki Tavern which was fine.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2010

Punakaiki was an unexpected highlight for us. I'm so glad we stayed here rather than Greymouth or Westport. I fear that we may have kept on driving a missed the pancake rocks which are really impressive.

The cottage was indeed a little dated but perfectly comfortable and spacious. And very clean and warm. We enjoyed a fantastic steak at the tavern, which I highly recommend. It's a really warm and welcoming place and I appreciated the book swap shelf :)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
23.8 mi away
Apostles View Motel
Apostles View Motel
#14 of 21 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.6 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
1.3 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
25.0 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Beachfront Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Beachfront Motels

Property: Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Address: Mabel Street | PO Box 66, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand (Formerly Punakaiki Cottage Motels)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Punakaiki Beachfront Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels offer newly refurbished quality West Coast accommodation right on the beachfront in Punakaiki. Well-appointed studio and family motel units all fully self-contained with hot plates, fridge, microwave, electric fry-pan, tea & coffee, convection heater, 42" flat screen TV with free-view, DVD and WiFi. Guest laundry, BBQ area and garden setting for all guests. Pets negotiable by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Punakaiki Beachfront Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing