We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous”
Review of Punakaiki Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punakaiki Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 8, 2006

Great new hotel right on the beach. Rooms are large with a large bathroom, decorated in contemporary style. Even has a small kitchen area. Good bed. Veiw so gorgeous, we never even turned on the TV. If you choose to eat at the hotel restaurant, get reservations as soon as you check in. Otherwise, you will have to wait behind all the people on the tour buses.

Don't miss the Punakaiki rocks just up the hill (north) at Paparoa National Park. Lovely short hike showcasing great coastal rocks. See photo.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SFtransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 719 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2006

On our three week tour of both North and south Island this was one of the best and one of the worst hotels we stayed at. Great views over the beach to the sea with large room with everthing you need. It went down hill when we went into the restaurant at 8pm for dinner, not late by anyones standard. we where given the menus quickly and rushed, by 9pm we had two courses, they where setting up for breakfast and the waitress in charge gave us our bill to sign before we had asked for it. The Chef needs to sit down and try his own food to see where he is going wrong.

We then went to the bar which was closed and where told that we had a mini bar in the room. After that we did not bother with Breakfast and did not leave any Service charge

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GolfMad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
211
Reviewed March 19, 2006

One of the best hotels we stayed on our 10 day driving tour around the south island - all quality. Our deluxe room with 2 king size beds had terrfic ocean views and was immaculately presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The tunnel under the road was great to get to and from the main building. We had a fabulous dinner in the restaurant accompanied by a panoramic view of a marvelous sunset. We would recommend this hotel very highly for anyone undertaking a trip down the west coast of NZ and its only a 3.5 hr drive to/from the Marlborough wine region.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2006

One of the best places we stayed on our tour of the south island. Our room overlooked the ocean and was really spacious and immaculate in every sense as well as being eco-friendly. There was a road in between our room and the main bar/restaurant area but it's not busy, there's a tunnel under the road so you don't have to cross it and the double glazing means you don't hear anything anyway

I would thoroughly recommend the restaurant as it is right on the beach, is priced fairly reasonably and has fantastic food in both taste and presentation

Would highly recommend to anyone. The rocks themselves are about a 15 minute walk along the road

6  Thank WickedTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2006

As I've only just found out about Tripadvisor by using it to check up on a hotel in Madrid, I checked reviews for hotels stayed in around the world.

Could not believe there wasn't a review on this fabulous hotel.

Whilst there is a bit of a time lag between now and my stay I hope this will give readers reason to check into it further.

Crashing waves from the Tasman Sea are what you hear most of the time as it's right on one of the most unspolit beaches I've ever seen.

Very close, just down hill from the famous and very strange Pancake Rocks. A must see!

Stayed twice in late 2004, first time with a bunch of UK charity riding cyclists in a party of a couple of dozen, second time two weeks later with friend on a private drive around South Island.

On both occasions stayed in very large rooms on eastern side of main road. No problem with traffic however as there is a private tunnel underneath road to main buildings.

Rooms very well furnished with large private balconies with 180 degrees view of ocean. Private kitchenette very well equipped but only used to brew coffee and store booze. Enormous and powerful showers.

Every effort has been taken to landscape buildings into hillside, with decking and foliage etc incorporated into design rather than just plonked onto a virgin site.

Food was excellent both as a very hungry bunch of cyclists and privately the week after.
Highlights however were the impromptu bonfire beach party on the beach and the private travelling fish barbie two weeks later in the pouring rain. Sublime!

Rates were excellent value for facilities on offer, location and the fact that this coast road, whilst spectacular for scenery, doesn't offer too many hotels of this standard for many miles.

14  Thank kempy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank ScottinScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Aron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
0.4 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#3 of 3 in Punakaiki
97 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 19 in Greymouth
215 reviews
19.5 mi away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#16 of 19 in Greymouth
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
1.9 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 8 in Punakaiki
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 8 in Punakaiki
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Resort

Address: State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range: $101 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punakaiki Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the wild West Coast, 30 minutes north of Greymouth and 300m south of the famous Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, the Resort is surrounded by the Paparoa National Park and only metres from the beach. Floor to ceiling windows in the Waterline Restaurant and Bar mean you can admire the gorgeous sunset while dining on local West Coast food.Few places in the world can offer such comfort so close to the wild action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Punakaiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punakaiki Hotel Punakaiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing