We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco-friendly West Coast retreat; welcome break from camping!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Punakaiki Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punakaiki Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Eco-friendly West Coast retreat; welcome break from camping!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

WE'd been roughing it camping around the South Island so decided to treat ourselves. Far better to give overpriced motels and miss and save your pennies for this; negotiated a good B&B pre-Christmas deal (hotel seemed v quiet) and lapped up the rugged sea views, sunset. Ordered a tapas platter to have with the bottle of CEntral Otago riesling, kicked back and relaxed. Five-minute walk to Punakaiki Rocks (though no pavement alongside busy road - eek!). Only regret is not pre-booking a horse ride while we were there. Great to see a Kiwi hotel making an effort with the environment, too.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trampercamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punakaiki1, Manger at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2010
Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback following your recent stay with us at the Punakiki Resort.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is unfortunate that you missed out on the horse trekking as activites in the area such as the horse trekking are defintely highly recommended.

I trust you will enjoy the rest of your stay in New Zealand.

warm regards

Erin Mounsey
Executive Assistant Manager
Punakaiki Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    260
    148
    52
    17
See reviews for
88
400
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

Great spot right by the beach and pancake rocks and comfortable walk to the village and pub. Rooms are pretty good although the restaurant while serviceable perhaps could have delivered more to complement the wonderful scenery. The hotel itself is kind of pricy so to complement you would perhaps just have a higher spec food and wibe offerrings available (a nice bottle of Cloudy Bay Sav and some central otago pinot wouldnt go amiss). TV reception was aweful so dont go there if you want to watch TV!

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the wine list
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punakaiki1, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2010
Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback following your recent stay with us at the Punakaiki Resort.

I will follow up with the maintenance department regarding the TV reception as we have recently upgraded the hardware to have all channels through a digital service in an effort to avoid problems with the quality of the TV reception.

Once again can I thank you for bringing this matter to my attention, it is only with feedback like yours can we ensure that the minimum standards we set for our Hotel are being attained.

warm regards

Erin Mounsey
Executive Assistant Manager
Punakaiki Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2009

Not bad but not great. The rooms are simple and while there is ocean views we we on the otherside of the main road. Leave the restauraunt and eat at the bar or elsewhere. It is overpriced for food that is ok. While the service is very friendly, it is clear that the the wait staff arn't rostered on for additionaln time to be told about the menu or the wine - not their fault but dissapointing.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirEdthe1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punakaiki1, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2010
Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback following your recent stay with us at the Punakaiki Resort.

When a new menu is introduced or when staff are employed we do spend time with them increasing their food and beverage knowledge. However, based on your feedback we may need to do some follow up training.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and please accept my apologies for the service shortfalls that you experienced during your stay.

warm regards

Erin Mounsey
Executive Assistant Manager
Punakaiki Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2009

We stayed two nights in an ecosuite. The views of the ocean and rainforests from the balcony were stunning. The beech is very close and we picked up several peices of greenstone. The food at the restaurant was excellent and the service very good. It has super views over the ocean so try and get a window seat. The only downside of staying in the ecosuites would be for elderly or disabled visitors - there is a fairly long walk via a tunnel to get to the restaurant.
There is a uphill walk to the local cafe which also has a small super market.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igcse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punakaiki1, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2010
Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback following your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I trust the rest of your stay in New Zealand was enjoyable.

warm regards

Erin Mounsey
Executive Assistant Manager
Punakaiki Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

Very good location on the beach, only 5 minutes walk from the Pancake Rocks. Good views, comfortable rooms, although they had strange porthole windows that you couldn't really cover properly, so you had to like the early morning light.

Restaurant is a bit pricey, the food is nice enough but not that special, although the view from the restauarant is also great. The whole place has a feel of being a bit washed out, which may be in keeping with the driftwood on the beach but gives the place a bit of a tired feel. But the location makes up for a lot

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RowleyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punakaiki1, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2009
Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay with us at the Punakaiki Resort.

As you mentioned the resort is designed to complement and maximise the surrounding environment and being that we are located on the wild west coast and in a national park, both the beach and national park have an influence on the design of the resort.

Once again thank you for placing feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort.

warm regards

Erin Mounsey
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

Beautiful location, friendly staff, room seemed abit shabby and deck had full ashtray on the hand rail...restaurant has great view but lacked atmosphere and food was average especially the seafood which given the location should not be an issue.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloraNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PunakaikiResort, Executive Assistant Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2009
Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback following your recent stay with us at the Punakaiki Resort.

I am disappointed that you found the condition of the room and the standard of food unsatisfactory; we do review all areas of concern raised by guests as your input is valuable to the continuing success of the Hotel. I will follow up with the relevant head of departments to ensure these issues are rectified.

Thank you once again for taking the time to place feedback and please accept my apologies for the shortfalls.


Warm regards

Erin Mounsey
Executive Assistant Manager
Punakaiki Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed one night at the Punakaiki Resort, and found the accommodations average. The room was large, and a little cold (the heater seemed overpowered by the size of the room). The room had a nice view of the ocean (about 200-300 meters away), and the bathroom had a rather small shower. The Punakaiki rocks attraction was a 2 minute drive away, and the Punakaiki Resort served our needs as an intermediate stopping point on an otherwise long drive.

We'd likely stay again at this hotel if ever in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel159549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
0.4 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
23.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
0.1 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.9 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Resort

Property: Punakaiki Resort
Address: State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Punakaiki Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the wild West Coast, 30 minutes north of Greymouth and 300m south of the famous Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, the Resort is surrounded by the Paparoa National Park and only metres from the beach. Floor to ceiling windows in the Waterline Restaurant and Bar mean you can admire the gorgeous sunset while dining on local West Coast food.Few places in the world can offer such comfort so close to the wild action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Punakaiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punakaiki Hotel Punakaiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing