We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular scenery”
Review of Punakaiki Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Punakaiki Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular scenery”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The Punakaiki Resort is located in a unique spot overlooking the rugged coastline and immediately adjacent to pancake rocks. The resort itself is eco-friendly but warm and comfortable and the views from the rooms near the top can't be beat. The restaurant is also excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The walk through the Pancake Rocks is short but really spectacular and the Porari River Track nearby was amazing. We highly recommend the Punakaiki Resort if you are looking for a great place to stay along the west coast of the South Island in New Zealand.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments regarding our spectacular views, comfortable rooms, excellent restaurant and convenient location to surrounding activities. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Punakaiki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    261
    150
    52
    17
See reviews for
88
404
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel was in separate lodges. The food was expensive. There was a little café/caravan place on the beach at Punakaiki which did food while you waited, we had whitebait fritters (omelettes) they were delicious. Punakaiki is famous for its pancake rocks and blow holes well worth seeing and free entry. There is little else to see or do in the area.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed to be good although chalet type but faced the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your time taken to post your review. There are many activities to do in Punakaiki including kayaking, a numerous amount of walks along the spectacular coastline, horse trekking, cafes and restaurants, swimming, surfing, fishing, rock climbing, cave tours, still only an example of the many interesting and exciting adventures available at Punakaiki. Once again thank you for your comments and we appreciate your recommendation to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the resort and although the views were spectacular we didn't think we got value for money. The service was friendly but the rooms were basic and things like laundry and wifi were very expensive.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and your time taken to leave your comments. We take heart that you enjoyed our outstanding views and friendly staff. We are looking at ways to improve our guest experience and your comments regarding room standards will go a long way to help this. Once again thank you for your feedback and we wish you all the best on your onward travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The location, second to none. A very unique, secluded area, the beach is just metres away. We were delighted to find the famous Pancake Rocks just a five to ten minute walk up the road. Fantastic views from every angle. although this seems to be the main attraction, there are many others surrounding the resort -horse trekking, lovely swimming areas, scenic tracks, all these literally next door to the resort. The room was simple and clean. In the restaurant we received a window table as requested. great food, portion sizes are spot on.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your time taken to leave your comments and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our brilliant location and fantastic views. Thank you for your comments regarding our restaurant Jacobs Grill. Once again thank you for your review and wish to welcome you to stay with us again on your next visit to Punakaiki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Beautiful! Amazing place, spent 2 days here exploring the area.
Room was clean, spacious and comfortable, with an amazing view of the ocean.
Resort is walking distance to the pancake rocks.
Only heating systems in room but who needs air con when you can open the door/window and have the sea breeze blowing in, just be mindful of the sand-flies- reception does sell repellent.
Staff here were a delight, nothing was too much of a problem. View from Bar/Rest was to die for with dinner being super tasty and service very much up to standard. Would defiantly come back to the Resort.
Only downside is paying for wifi but it is understandable when NZ is connected to the rest of the world by only one little cable, would also explain the speed in this country but at $6.00 an hour, time based, stopping and starting as you please we wouldn’t really call it a ‘downside’. Overall we loved Punakaiki Resort and will be recommending it to anyone travelling this area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1BeachV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that your enjoyed your stay with us especially our friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms and amazing views. Also thank you for your comments regarding our restaurant Jacobs Grill and I will be passing your comments onto our great restaurant team. Once again thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your recommendation to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Very average and not a resort. The view and beach were great and the only redeeming features. The walk to the Punakaiki Rocks entails walking along the state highway with large trucks almost blowing you over they pass so close.
As everyone has mentioned in previous posts, paying $305 for a room with now Internet is very disappointing, the normal response by mgmt here is that wireless is expensive, it is not, I spoke to the pub and DoC people and it is higher than average for NZ, but not $10 an hour, this is a blatant ripoff and the hotel/motel gets away with it as there is no 3G coverage.

But back to service, on inquiring about the tides and when was best to visit the Rocks, the girl at reception could not even read the timetable and got it completely wrong, it later transcribed that she was looking at The month of April.....

The Eco room was nice, clean and a comfy bed, car parking good and the tunnel under the road enables safe crossing.

The restaurant is an embarrassment, it is like a university cafeteria, at one end bus tours are eating food from a buffet which looked appalling. In our side, service was slow and staff very hard to understand, I realise that having bi-lingual staff is useful, but a grasp of English would be useful.
When our food finally arrived, the plates were cold so the food quickly also got cold. My seafood was below average and not cooked enough. My wife had an ok salad and lamb dish.
The wine menu was ok.

That night I did not sleep well. On check out I mentioned this to the reception who shrugged and said the manager would get in touch, still waiting.

All in all not a good experience. This is a motel with a good view.

Very expensive, no wifi, no breakfast and 1.5 (or was it 3) percent to use a debit card! And over 300 a room.

The breakfast next to the iSite is brilliant, $17 and very tasty and healthy!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank The-Specultor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We sincerely regret not meeting your expectations on this occasion. We do take heart however that you enjoyed our fantastic beach, great views and that you found your Eco suite nice, clean and comfortable.

As stated wireless internet charges do apply and because of our remote location internet does come at a higher cost and we believe our prices to be even lower than hotels in urban areas. Their is also full vodafone and 2degrees 3G coverage at Punakaiki. We apologize that our receptionist got confused regarding the tide timetable and we have gone over with our front of house team how to read this properly. Our restaurant has full view of the Tasman sea and we have recently completed refurbishment on the restaurant including new tables, chairs, wallpaper etc, we understand that we can not please everybody in terms decorating taste. Our entire restaurant team is fluent in English, we apologize that you find some accents hard to comprehend. We are a little confused regarding your comments about our food as we do not have lamb available on our menu. We do charge a 1.5% surcharge on all "credit transactions" not EFTPOS or cash transactions.

In regards to myself getting in contact with you, I have spoken to or front of house team and unfortunately no one recalls saying that I would contact you regarding your poor sleep. Please feel free to email me directly at melanie@williamshotels.co.nz if you want to speak about this further.

Once again thank you for your constructive comments and we wish you all the best on your onward travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is a basic motel for which you would normally pay maybe 120 dollars, but at 240 without breakfast. The bathroom tiles broken, smelly air freshener used that lingers the whole night (and you can not open the windows or you'll be eaten alive by sandflies), humid smelling throws for the bed that you can not possibly use... They even charge for wifi, not a single minute for free, probably because they know there is no 3G or signal at all in the area, so they want to get every penny out of you. Do not stay here if you can avoid it.

Room Tip: We had a room which was 5m from the highway, tricks rattling by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajeraferoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We take on board your comments and apologize we did not meet your expectations. In regards to the broken tiles, we do apologize, we are aware that we have a couple of rooms with cracks appearing in the tiles and are in the process of having these repaired. Because of our remote location Wireless internet is at a much larger cost compared to other urban areas and we know our internet prices are cheaper compared to other hotels in such areas. Once again thank you for your feedback and we wish you all the best on your onward journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
0.4 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
23.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
0.1 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.9 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Resort

Property: Punakaiki Resort
Address: State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Punakaiki Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the wild West Coast, 30 minutes north of Greymouth and 300m south of the famous Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, the Resort is surrounded by the Paparoa National Park and only metres from the beach. Floor to ceiling windows in the Waterline Restaurant and Bar mean you can admire the gorgeous sunset while dining on local West Coast food.Few places in the world can offer such comfort so close to the wild action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Punakaiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punakaiki Hotel Punakaiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing