We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Punakaiki Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    Sundowner Motel(Greymouth)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    Breeze Motel(Greymouth)
    View Hotel
    • Free Parking
    • Free Internet
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Free Internet
    Coleraine(Greymouth)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (743)
    Filter reviews
    743 results
    Traveler rating
    200
    293
    168
    63
    19
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    200
    293
    168
    63
    19
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewseco suiteacross the roadone nightpancake rollsrooms are largelittle priceyremote locationgreat view of the beachnew zealandtasman seaboth sidesbeach sidefish and chipssound of the wavespancake rocks and blowholeswild west coaststunning location
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    390 - 395 of 743 reviews
    Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

    Since there is no A/C, it was a little inconvenient that the screen beside the patio door was missing - would have loved to keep the window open for the ocean breeze and sound but due to the bugs this was not possible. A couple of tiles were missing grouting which is not a big deal at all as it was clean throughout. Free WiFi would have been nice even though is was pretty cheap at $3 for 30 minutes.

    • Stayed: February 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank souriz
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

    Thank you for review with us.
    I will be delighted to share this excellent feedback with our team. We really focus on doing everything we can to provide the best service possible and they will be pleased to see you have had a fabulous stay. In regards to not being able to leave your window open we are now in the process of either replacing or installing new fly screens so you can enjoy fresh air throughout the all rooms.

    Thank you again, we are looking forward to your next stay with us.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 2, 2014

    dinner and breakfasts were of extremely low quality, as the service was both poor and definitely incompetent, paired with long waiting time.what was offered as contintental breakfast does not deserve the name.the only reference to other standards was the price.

    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Courtmanght
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

    We are sorry that our dinner and breakfast service did not meet your expectations. We are consistently finding ways to improve our service offered. Please feel free to contact me directly by email melanie@williamshotels.co.nz with more detail of your issues so we can find ways to improve future guest experience.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 2, 2014

    We stayed at an Eco-suite for one night. Upon arrival, given the beauty of the area, considered extending stay for another night but decided not to because of what very quickly would be a mixed experience at the Punakaiki Resort. Everything substandard is easily fixable, which is hopeful.

    Let's start with the great then go to the bad.

    5 - excellent: location location location. The design of the entire facility from the road is tasteful, modern and set amongst a visual paradise of coast, lush vegetation and the limestone rocks. I was excited upon arrival to see a modern restaurant, beautifully landscaped grounds, clean looking rooms and no people swarming in the area even while there were a few tour buses in the parking lot. Local vegetation and flowers were carefully landscaped and incorporated along the walkways and resort area which were beautiful. View from the Eco suite was excellent: the highway is not visible even though it was between us and the water. Walking along the rocky and windy beach is just seconds to a few minutes depending on where you are in the resort.

    4 - good: the restaurant was fast and efficient, seating quickly even without reservation, serving food quickly within 20-30 minutes. Food quality was good. View of the open waters and beach was fantastic.

    Check in was super fast and efficient. The receptionist did her job quickly and thoroughly. 1 free hour of internet was provided; $6/hr for anything above up to a maximum daily charge of $15 or $20 (can't remember). A free hour of internet was nice to have considering that internet on the South Island seemed such a precious commodity.

    The room had a basic food prep area which was functional and practical. The bathroom was basic, small and clean and functional with hot water at a proper pressure. The bathroom also had bright lighting which is always nice. The spacious bedroom had a nice outdoor covered deck to enjoy the fresh air and scenery over the resort with clear and unobstructed view to the water. Screened windows.

    3 - average: we don't mind paying for extra service or a premium for hotels but trying to get a complimentary hour extension on our checkout time left us with the impression that the resort absolutely doesn't understand customer service OR is simply looking at any way possible to squeeze every penny from its guests, OR just wants people in and out as fast as possible. We were informed if we wanted to check out one hour later, it would cost $30 per hour extension. Since when do nice hotels charge by the hour?

    When we did leave one hour past the normal 11am check out, there were no guest cars in any of the hotel parking lots. Had the hotel been hopping busy, I would have better understood the standard extra charge policy.

    2 - poor: the Eco room looked like it needed a bit of a paint job or refresh. The carpet looked super old and brown. The room decor was just tired like a roadside motel with laminate covered counters like a no frills Chinese restaurant.

    Upon first entering my room, my first impression was how clean it smelled. Yet, after spending more than 30 minutes inside, the smell didn't fade into the background. It got increasingly overpowering, like carpet cleaning chemicals or industrial scent to mask something other than the pristine and fresh west coast air. So, I opened every available window to breathe some fresh air. I woken the middle of the night still smelling that distinctive smell. To deal with the smell, I turned on the fan and ran it all night to keep air circulating through the room with the help of the open windows.

    On the ledge above the bathroom and in the entry way to the room via the entry corridor, both ledges had bugs and dust. It was rather disgusting to stick my hand up there and make this discovery while opening the smaller windows.

    1 - awful: remember water beds? Well, the room doesn't have a water bed but it sure felt like one just from getting in and out of it. I can forgive the absence of soft touches or tasteful interior design, but a decent bed is the most basic thing for a good night's sleep. Anyone with back issues or who wakes with any movement will not likely sleep that well in this wave making bed.

    Final verdict: a potluck experience at the Punakaiki Resort which based on the smell and bed, I wouldn't stay here again. Based on the scenery of the area, I would likely come back to Punakaiki area again, but try the Hydrangea Cottages instead.

    (I also viewed the Hydrangea Cottages which are by quaint and around $220 per night, with a 10% discount on horse treks you might do with Punakaiki horse treks. If I was to return to Punakaiki, I would opt to stay in Hydrangea Cottages instead. The view is not as nice as Punakaiki Resort, but it seemed to be better value, and more suited to make yourself at home if staying for a few days to explore the area.)

    Room Tip: Download any big files onto your smart devices before you arrive. Internet limited for data volume.
    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank LilyChina
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

    Thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. As we already learnt during your stay and on your departure, we were not able to provide the expected service, in terms of bed quality, room decoration and check out time. Our Eco suite rooms are designed to have minimal impact on the environment along with any construction and aesthetic materials. Regarding your late check out we unfortunately we can not extend this beyond 12.00pm because of impending arrivals.

    We have taken note of all your inputs during your stay and tried to implement and improve all our service standards, as high satisfaction of our guests is our top priority. Wishing you all the best and we hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 29, 2014

    For New Zealand this is our 5th trip back in 11 years and this trip we brought our friends for their first trip. All of us enjoyed our stay here, rooms are clean, staff very well versed in hospitality and dinner was quite tasty. What some people forget is this lodge is set up as a Eco lodge so there are a few differences from a Holiday Inn so try and adapt!
    Enjoyed going to sleep with the crash of the surf and wind off of the Tasman

    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Bill T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Melanie H, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

    Thank you for your kind comments. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit with us along with our facilities and friendly staff. I hope your onward journey went well and we appreciate your recommendation for other travelers.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 27, 2014

    The setting is magnificent - do take a walk on the beach and check out the pancake rocks on the shore as well as the beautiful driftwood.

    Really superb meal but the lack of free wifi (It was $20 for an hour) demotes this to a 4 star review. There is also no mobile phone signal so you are at the mercy of paying for internet access.

    Staff training needs addressing. We were not offered a taste of the wine we had chosen and the waitress poured three glasses only to be somewhat put out when we rejected it. She had also told us earlier that the Cab Merlot we had drunk at the bar "tasted the same" as the bottle of merlot she brought to the table.

    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank mariemusicademy
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Melanie H, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

    Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your time to leave your comments. In regards to internet charges do apply and all guests are notified of this. In regards to wine ordered with your evening meal I was aware of this situation and I believe you already had tasted the wine at the bar before your evening meal and you asked for the same wine for the table unfortunately you do not enjoy as much on this occasion. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews