We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Eco Suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Punakaiki Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punakaiki Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Loved the Eco Suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This accommodation was booked for us by our Travel Agent so we had no idea what to expect. We were delighted to find a modern suite with a large bedroom/living room and a beautiful view of the beach. It was amazing to wake up to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach.
We couldn't find the water tumblers so made do with wine glasses until the next morning when we discovered the tumblers in the fridge!
We ate at the in-house restaurant which was very good but would have preferred more choice of restaurants if we had been staying longer. Unfortunately, there only seems to be one other place to eat in Punakaiki.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyndolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and your time taken to leave your comments. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    260
    148
    52
    17
See reviews for
88
400
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay right on the beach and the quality of the team reflects well on the entire establishment.

It is not often - indeed I cannot recall it ever happening before - that any waitress is so considerate to her guests that she not only notices that one is lefthanded but then goes the extra mile by bringing out additional cutlery and setting it correctly for that lefthanded guest. To top this off, the humble waitress then also set breakfast correctly for the same lefthander. I really cannot thank Makareta for her exceptional service for both dinner and then breakfast.

As for the meals themselves, here is a restaurant and chef who truly understands that guests and customers prefer quality over quantity. The dishes were not tiny but the quality was outstanding.

The only surprising part was that the eco rooms were fitted with halogen globes instead of the more eco friendly LED lights. The solar panels on the roof would be more effective if these globes were changed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnuthad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed our stay with us and we thank you for your time taken to leave your comments. Once thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had booked our accom sight unseen and this is one of those places where you drive over the hill and think Wow! Hope we are staying there! Beautiful location and nothing between us and the beach, ricks and sea. Watching the windswept clouds being amazed by the roaring surf and then going for a walk on the beach and exploring our very own pancake rocks was wonderful. Very friendly and helpful staff - room service delivered through the wind and hail - that's dedication! Only improvement would be to have more cutlery and crockery than spoons and cups available to cater for people who bring some of their own food to eat.

Room Tip: Definitely aroom facing the ocean and beachfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat-Ellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and thank you for your time taken to leave your comments. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Picked this hotel based on reviews and the view. Was not disappointed. We had a rental car and left Wellington on ferry to Picton. Drove over to west coast to resort. We toured pancake rocks after check-in. Only problem was that we had to wait to 8:30PM for dinner reservations. Evidently restaurant is booked due to the excellent food. Room was big and very clean and comfortable with perfect view with balcony.

Next morning the clerk was concerned about driving 6-8 hours to Queenstown. She said no one drives that distance in New Zealand in one day. No more than 4 hours. She called in the other people and all said "all in one day?" We thought that was very funny. She said we can recommend hotels along way.

No wonder the GPS tells you to stop car to rest every 2 hours. After 3 hours engine will shut off. for 10 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again. Thank you for your comments about our restaurant "Jacobs Grill and Club Bar. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2,459 reviews
370 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,282 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We needed a day off in our hectic schedule..... what better,then a modern beach house which blends well with the dynamic coast. The front steps almost reach the beach,where driftwood,flax,sand and surf offered us romantic walks and swims. The constant roar from the ocean is pure heaven. their restaurant and bar made leaving hard. great place with superb hosts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and your time taken to leave your comments. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Really enjoyed staying in the Eco Suite, such a wonderful sunset, followed by dinner in the Restaurant. Lived up to my expectations. Casual friendly service, and the heating system kept the room warm all night.

Room Tip: I thought the Eco suite was lovely, and well worthwhile. I had no problem with it being across the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamishLink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to welcome you to stay with us again. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

As the other half of a couple staying on the romance package we travelled the transalpine and then hired a car to get to the resort. We have stayed there several times before and agree with other comments about the rooms being clean and comfortable. The heating was on and it was easy to adjust the temperature to suit your own level of comfort. The bottle of bubbles was Special Reserve and not ordinary sparkling wine so that was a really nice gesture as was providing the flutes to go with the wine. The evening meal was lovely - the only small complaint I have was that my main course was a little too large - but I'd rather it was that way than the reverse. Our only complaint was breakfast the following morning. We decided to have a cooked breakfast and it took almost an hour before we got it. The restaurant wasn't busy and there was no apology from the staff for the delay, which wasn't the type of service we expected from the Resort. Having said that - the staff were friendly and welcoming and we received the rooms specifically requested and we were impressed that the Receptionist asked if the rooms were the right ones. Overall a good stay - just one or two tweaks would make it a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Upstairs 108 -112 are the most modern and best value rooms for both price and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback and you comments go a long way to improve future guest experience. Waiting an hour for breakfast is below standard and we will address this issue. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
0.4 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
23.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
0.1 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.9 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Resort

Property: Punakaiki Resort
Address: State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Punakaiki Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the wild West Coast, 30 minutes north of Greymouth and 300m south of the famous Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, the Resort is surrounded by the Paparoa National Park and only metres from the beach. Floor to ceiling windows in the Waterline Restaurant and Bar mean you can admire the gorgeous sunset while dining on local West Coast food.Few places in the world can offer such comfort so close to the wild action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Punakaiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punakaiki Hotel Punakaiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing