We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, cold room.”
Review of Punakaiki Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punakaiki Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the resort for one night during our honeymoon in mid-May and one night was quite enough. When we arrived the girl at the front desk seemed to care less about customer service. She was rude and snotty. We have to drive across the street to get to our room at the top of the hill. After moving our stuff into the room we realized the heat did not work, in fact the knob fell right off the unit. We called the front desk and had to drive down to reception to pick up another key for the room two doors down. After driving all the way back up to the next room and hauling our stuff into that room it took a long time to get the heat to work in that room. It wouldn't have taken so long but the resort left ALL the windows open...it was about 50 degrees when we arrived mid-afternoon and it had rained. So the room was cold AND damp. We thought it was funny that we had to make a reservation at the resort's restaurant for dinner that night because there were maybe 6 people total there. The food was way overpriced. I told our travel agent not to recommend this resort to anyone and she said she's had other complaints. Unfortunately there is not much else around if you want to see the Pancake rocks. I gave two stars because of the potential of the resort. The grounds are beautiful, as was the view but we didn't enjoy it much. This resort was by far the worst night on our 18-day honeymoon on North and South island.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABieak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate all feedback and your comments do go a long way in improving our guest experience. We apologize we did not meet your expectations. We have implemented new maintenance procedures to prevent this problem occurring again. We will be in contact with your travel agent to address other issues you have announced. Once again thank you for your review and we wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 687 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel during winter. It was very quiet. The sunsets were magical and could be seen from our room. The Pancake Rocks start on the beach in front of the hotel. We had two queen beds for two adults and two children and we were comfortable however we were only in our room for sleeping as we were sightseeing during the day. Walking on the floor echo'ed downstairs, make sure you get a second floor unit or you will hear the people upstairs.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor (top floor) with balcony on the beach front (and not across the road).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank little_darln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. Thank you for your time taken to leave your comments and are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Once again thank you and wish to welcome you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

My first visit back to this resort in around 12 years. Much of the inside has changed (reception, restaurant and bar) but the rooms are little different.

Glorious views from every room and, when the weather is clear, a great place to view the sunset either on the beach or balcony.

The Pancake Rocks are an easy stroll up the road (watch for traffic!).

The restaurant is extremely expensive but there is a pretty good restaurant/bar alternative about 1km to the north on the main road if you are price-conscious. However, not quite the same atmosphere as a summer evening's dinner I guess.

Pity there was no bath for the little one.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Organs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we appreciate all feedback and your comments do go a long way. Once again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay, Very friendly staff who made us very welcome. We had a great room on the beach. We were on the second floor of the block of units. We had a fantastic view of the sea. It was lovely lying in bed all warm and cosy listening to the rain on the roof and the pounding surf. Fantastic sun set over the water the next evening. Very clean room and comfortable beds. We had two meals and they were great, (lovely scallops)and well presented, Breakfast of Eggs Bene the next day was lovely. We stayed two nights and wish we could have stayed longer, There are some great walks nearby and a drive along the coast gives some great views of the sea. Its great no matter what the weather is doing. Would highly recommend the resort and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the beach and one of the upstairs ones for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josephinej861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. Its great to see you enjoyed your stay with us at the Punakaiki resort. Thank you for your comments about our restaurant "Jacobs Grill and Club bar" we strive to provide the best of New Zealand cuisine to match the beautiful views offered by the beautiful Punakaiki beach. Once again thank you and we wish to welcome you back to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I hosted a group of 11 customers on a trip to the Coast then through to the Punakaiki Resort for accomodation that night.
We were met at reception by Gillian, (the Williams Group CEO's mother who was helping out) who swiftly booked us in and assigned our rooms. Drinks in the bar were followed by an exceptional dinner and the quality of the wine list ensured we had a great sleep!
After an early hearty breakfast, our crew departed for home.
Many thanks to Gillian and her team, we had a great time and will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish to welcome you back to stay with us again. Its great to see our high standards of hospitality and staff friendliness were no exception to your stay. Thank you for your comments about our restaurant "Jacobs Grill and Club bar". Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I really love the beachside location of this hotel. When conditions are right there is a bonfire on the beach that guests are invited to sit around toasting marshmellows (carefully managed by hotel staff). Rooms are spacious however remember that this is a seaside location and the marine environment is harsh - expect salt on the windows - it's not dirt! On my visit bathrooms were showing signs of wear & tear with paint peeling on the ceilings but this is only cosmetic & I'm sure will be addressed during the quieter winter months. Rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. Staff were friendly & helpful. My preference is for the older rooms on the seaward side of the property as I love the proximity to the ocean. Rooms on the other side of the road (there is a well lit pedestrian tunnel for access) are more modern & have great views but aren't as close to the sea.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjszea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank for your review. Its great to see you enjoyed your stay with us at the Punakaiki resort. We strive to provide high standards of west coast hospitality. We appreciate your feedback and your issues raised do go a long way to help us to provide a better experience for our future guests. Once again thank you and we wish to welcome you to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We only dealt with two staff members, April and Liam and they were fantastic, one minute at reception, then the bar, then in the restaurant,then back to reception, then making coffee - all in a very friendly happy manner. We had a fabulous meal in their restaurant (I'm sorry I forget the name) - much better than at an award-winning restaurant in Wellington! Our room was very spacious with lovely ocean views. The walk from our room along the path, through the lush garden, through the tunnel was just lovely.
However,while the room looked towards the ocean, we arrived late in the afternoon. As a result the sun was setting and blazing straight into our room. I know it sounds picky but for some time we just couldn't see (unless we totally closed off the room, which we didn't want to do). Perhaps some sort of pull-down blind would be helpful. There were also lots of switches that didn't seem to turn anything on (or off). There were three tables in the room but if we wanted to unpack our suitcases there was nowhere to put anything, no drawers etc. And there was only one shelf for one suitcase - nowhere to put a second suitcases to get to it, apart from on the floor. A luggage rack would be a nice addition.

Room Tip: Perhaps check if you will be blinded by the setting sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kezza49_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your reply, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Punakaiki resort.

We do take pride in our friendliness and are glad your stay was no exception.

Thank you for your comments about our restaurant "Jacobs Grill". Our objective with Jacobs Grill is to provide high standards of New Zealand food to match the exceptional views provided.

In regards to sun streaming into the room, we do understand how this could be an issue and we are constantly developing ways to improve costumer experience and this will be a high consideration for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
0.4 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
95 reviews
19.5 mi away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#16 of 20 in Greymouth
16 reviews
23.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
0.1 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
315 reviews
1.9 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Resort

Address: State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range: $166 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punakaiki Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the wild West Coast, 30 minutes north of Greymouth and 300m south of the famous Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, the Resort is surrounded by the Paparoa National Park and only metres from the beach. Floor to ceiling windows in the Waterline Restaurant and Bar mean you can admire the gorgeous sunset while dining on local West Coast food.Few places in the world can offer such comfort so close to the wild action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punakaiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punakaiki Hotel Punakaiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing