We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Punakaiki Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punakaiki Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kansas City
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The location and views of this resort are unsurpassed! Our room was right on the beach (as most are with the exception of the eco-suites). The view of the Tasman Sea was just amazing. The room was wonderful - comfortable and roomy with soft bedding and linens. We had dinner in the restaurant and while my expectations for delicious food in NZ were not high, this restaurant surpassed my expectations - the food was absolutely delicious! The staff were warm and helpful. This place should not be missed!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are to see our high standards of hospitality at Williams Hotels were at no exception to your stay with us. Once again thank you for your comments and I wish to welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    262
    151
    52
    17
See reviews for
89
408
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Highly recommend staying at Punakaiki Resort, right on the beach, sit in the bar and look at through full length windows to the beach and the rolling waves, great way to relax, rooms same view and very comfortable, restaurant also first class

Room Tip: ask for view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate time taken to leave your feedback about your stay. We are glad too see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments about our restaurant Jacobs grill and Club bar we strive to provide high standards of New Zealand food while you enjoy the fantastic views we have to offer. Once again thank you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This resort is right on the beach, the room is spacious, bathroom w/ nice amenities, small kitchenette area. Best aspect is the beach view. The hotel is short walk from the pancake rocks and blow holes. Only down side is lack of places to eat, only at the hotel but luckily food was wonderful!

Room Tip: Eco rooms available on the hillside. All the other rooms are on the beach. No pool or fitness Ctr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and wish to a warm welcome to stay with us again. Thank you for your comments about restaurant "Jacobs Grill and Club bar" we strive to sustain high standards of New Zealand and Great service to match the beautiful views Punakaiki has to offer. Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have just had 2 nights at this resort on a road trip around the South Island.
It was a wonderful place to stay being right on the beach. We had one of the rooms that were
right on the beach and at this time of the year we did not have problems with sandflies. The room was very comfortable and obviously the windows are double glazed as there was no noise from the sea during the night, which can often keep you awake!
We had dinner in the dining room which was excellent, had scallops for entree and the fish served with the fish and chips was extremely good. Breakfast was also good. Service excellent.
All round probably the best place to have a night if you are wanting to stay in Punakaiki.

Room Tip: the rooms starting with 200 I think are a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your time taken to leave your feedback and are glad that we were able to provide a high standard of hospitality for you. Thank you for your comments about our restaurant "Jacobs Grill and Club bar". Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Punakaiki Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely location literally right next to the beach and Pancake Rocks. The rooms were neat and tidy and comfortable. Restaurant was also a good standard. Sand flies are a problem. But make sure you get a room on the beach side and not across the road. All in all, we would come back here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank arborictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bramhall
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Only a very short way from the famous pancake rocks this motel has something a bit special. The rooms are very well appointed, spacious and attractively decorated but the full sea view is wonderful. No where to buy provisions so stock up first if you want to breakfast in your room. Only the 'tavern in the town' to eat if you don't want to eat at the hotel.

Room Tip: I think it is worth asking for a high room, then you have the full impact of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Qld
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We only stayed one night at this lovely resort but thoroughly enjoyed our short time there. We had a room looking straight at the surf and next to the bar/restaurant. The room was very modern, well appointed and comfortable. We enjoyed a walk along the beach before having drinks in front of the fire where I got to skype my children on the free wi-fi. We also enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 113 (I think) which was on the top floor with amazing views and right next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
0.4 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
93 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
311 reviews
0.8 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Resort

Property: Punakaiki Resort
Address: State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Punakaiki Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the wild West Coast, 30 minutes north of Greymouth and 300m south of the famous Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, the Resort is surrounded by the Paparoa National Park and only metres from the beach. Floor to ceiling windows in the Waterline Restaurant and Bar mean you can admire the gorgeous sunset while dining on local West Coast food.Few places in the world can offer such comfort so close to the wild action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Punakaiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punakaiki Hotel Punakaiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing