We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Punakaiki Eco villa”
Review of Punakaiki Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punakaiki Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed two nights in the ECO villas, fantastic weather made our stay restful and enjoyable. The units are clean, and the upstairs units have a deck on which you can sit and watch the sea and the fabulous sun set. The setting is beautiful amongst the tree ferns. Overall a great place to stay.
Prices were perhaps a little on the high side, but the peaceful setting makes up for this.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs Eco unit at the top of the drive, these have a great deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P111Dunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 686 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a lovely property and blends into the background scenery perfectly. My room looked out on the sea and it is the perfect stopping point when driving the West Coast. The hotel restaurant food is fantastic and has windows looking out over the ocean. A really unique property in a stunning location, and the perfect warm welcome after a long day of driving!

Room Tip: Try to pick a sea-view room so you can enjoy the best part of the West Coast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This resort is situated in a great location,close to the pancake rocks and with impressive views over the coastline.

Our room was and Eco Suite,which was located across the road and up the hill from the main resort building and was reasonably large, with decent furnishings and generally clean and comfortable. The location of the Eco Suite afforded great views of the coast over the resort but meant it was quite a walk across to the main building for breakfast etc.

The staff were friendly but not very efficient, the check out process was a little slow.

We would stay here if going to Punakaki again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atsmith8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Although not luxurious, the rooms are comfortable and away from the bustle of the main lodge. The restaurant is special, and the meal that we had there was one of the most memorable of our trip along the west coast of the South Island. The Resort is convenient not only to the Pancake Rocks, but also to several walking tracks that are worth the time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Brand & Quality Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments. The chefs are delighted that you enjoyed your meal at "Jacob's Grill" restaurant so much! We love to hear feedback like this as we have a great team who put a lot of effort into the food. Thanks again and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Like most others who have submitted reviews, my wife and I stayed for one night between Abel Tasman and Franz Josef.

Punakaiki is a very small town centered around the pancake rock formations. There are very few places to stay in town and this appeared to be the best of a pretty poor lot when we researched and booked.

We had a narrow room that was constructed from wood - it felt a bit like a cheap 1970's Swedish sauna. Parking was an issue. The view from the room was fairly nice, but nothing all that specatacular from our perspective. Beds were comfortable. But it was easily the poorest place we stayed in for our entire trip.

Things to do in Punakaiki - we obviously toured the pancake rocks which were very interesting. Our guide book also recommended a walk down a gorge and whilst not all that challenging a trek after Abel Tasman, was pleasant enough. We ate in the pub in the centre of town and the food was absolutely dreadful - frozen chips and cheap battered fish that looked and tasted like it had been bought in a local supermarket, despite Punakaiki's locaiton on the coast.

All in all, this was the most disappointing place we stayed for our tour of Southy Island and I would probably not return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldworn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Brand & Quality Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

We are very sorry to hear that the town of Punakaiki was not for you. Many people love their time in the village and use it as a time of relaxation away from the hustle and bustle. We're sorry also that you didn't enjoy your meal at the local pub. Next time we invite you to eat at our in-house restaurant Jacob's Grill. Thanks for your comments about the area. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at Punakaiki Resort for one night only on a drive up the west coast of the South Island.
We had an Eco suite which was across the road from the main resort and set on the slope. Huge room with fantastic views out the the ocean, such a pity we only had the one night there.
Access to the main complex is through a special tunnel but we preferred to cross the main road as we never saw any cars and you got the fresh ocean air and view.
We had breakfast and dinner at the resort. Dinner was fantastic, very high standard with friendly service. Breakfast was buffet style but service was a bit of a let down with the staff nowhere to be found for ages.
Punakaiki is famous for its Pancake rocks and the blowholes, there are several rocks on the beach in front of the resort but do take insect repellant as the sandflies are everywhere!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Brand & Quality Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. It sounds like you had a great time at the Resort which we are very happy to hear. I'm sorry our staff were not as responsive as they could have been during breakfast service, that is not usual. In any case I sincerely apologise.
We hope you are able to come again and we wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed in one of the Eco rooms which look out to the sea. On reflection we could have stayed in a cheaper room with the same view. The room itself was modern and comfortable. It was very quiet - only 1 other guest staying and eating in the restaurant. The meal was pricey but fairly good - more vegie options would be nice. The staff were friendly enough.
One complaint - the lighting outside around our room was out and virtually impossible to see getting in and out of the room. We mentioned this to the staff and they said "Only the caretaker can fix that" No apology.
Overall for the price it could be better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle G, Brand & Quality Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

I'm very sorry about your outside light being out. Unfortunately due to our health and safety requirements only our maintenance man is able to replace light fittings. Thank you for staying with us and we do appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
0.4 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
94 reviews
19.5 mi away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#16 of 20 in Greymouth
16 reviews
23.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
0.1 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
315 reviews
1.9 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Resort

Address: State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range: $166 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punakaiki Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the wild West Coast, 30 minutes north of Greymouth and 300m south of the famous Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, the Resort is surrounded by the Paparoa National Park and only metres from the beach. Floor to ceiling windows in the Waterline Restaurant and Bar mean you can admire the gorgeous sunset while dining on local West Coast food.Few places in the world can offer such comfort so close to the wild action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punakaiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punakaiki Hotel Punakaiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing