We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical location”
Review of Punakaiki Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Punakaiki Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Magical location”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

As part of our NZ tour, we spent one night here, breaking up the journey between Nelson & Fox. Whilst Punakaiki is a tiny place with nothing but a couple of hotels, 2 cafes, a tourist info & the famous blowholes, it is still worth stopping off here.

Room was 213, right on the beach and with possibly one of the best views in the complex. The bathrooom was standard, but the room, and the view from it, just breathtaking. There are huge windows so you can admire the Tasman Sea. As a result it's a pretty romantic place, as you can hear the waves crashing away all night long.

We had a room only basis, but ate dinner & breakfast in the hotel as there's nowhere else to go! Dinner was good, if a little on the pricey side. The hot chocolate was divine.

Take a walk along the beach but watch the sandflies - my husband got bitten badly. If you're visiting the blowholes check the tide times at the tourist info - they're most impressive at high tide.

Room Tip: Ask room a room direct on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    261
    149
    52
    17
See reviews for
88
404
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Beautiful location right on the beach. We stayed here on the way down to Queenstown, and it really broke up the trip. Not much else around here, but certainly worth staying if you need somewhere to lay your head. Restaurant was great, dinner was fresh and simple, not a lot of people there in Sept but still a good stop to make!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annakmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel was nice, there was nothing particularly special about it, our room was clean with a nice view. Got a Wotif special price, which made it reasonable, however the normal price is high for what is available. Didnt eat in the restaurant because we were looking for a meal with vegis, and there were not many on the menu. Would be a lovely place in Summer with easy access to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToowoombaBilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This hotel is in an incredible position, right on the beach by the Punakaiki rocks..quite spectacular. But I was dismayed to find my room was on the other side of the road, and despite having put in a special request for a sea view, the room was right at the bottom and practically 'submerged' in vegetation.However, when I mentioned this to the staff they didn't change my room but reserved a window seat for me in the restaurant for that evening, so I could at least watch the waves on the beach while I was eating; and the food was good, though a bit expensive. In the end the room wasn't too bad; it was clean and spacious with a small tropical garden outside the window.Within a short walking distance of the famous Punakaiki Rocks.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wa1n_gar0_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The hotel location is perfect for anyone who plan to visit Punakaiki's famous attraction. You can walk for just 5 min. to see the Pancake Rocks and Blowholes. Not just that, The hotel itself is very nice and you must try to have dinner in hotel's restaurant. I give 10 out of 10 for my dining here. It is one of the best meal in my 12-day trip.

Room Tip: Choose room downstair so you will easy to get to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ong-ard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel. The rooms were very nice, clean and we had a great view. At first we were a little disappointed because we were across the highway from the main lodge, but it turned out that the view was fantastic from our balcony and access to the main lodge area and beach is easy with a pedestrian underpass. The location is close to the pancake rocks--easy walking distance. We ate one dinner and one breakfast in the dining room--the food was good but prices were high. There are a few other options not far away.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reed2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed here whilst enroute from Milford Sound to Franz Josef as part of our tour. The hotel is in a very nice quiet beach front location and we had a great sea view from our room, and also from the restaurant. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are clean and had everything we needed for just a 1 night stay.
However, I believe they have got very busy there since some tour companies have rerouted their tours that way since the earthquake in Christchurch, and although they staff tried very hard, there were very long delays at dinner. We waited ages and then the soup was luke warm. Our main course was so cold we had to get it reheated and people on other tables left before dessert as it just took so long. The food was nice, but the delays spoilt the dinner.
Apparently they are aware of the problem and are trying to address it, so let's hope things improve soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SixpenceUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
0.4 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
23.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
0.1 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.9 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Resort

Property: Punakaiki Resort
Address: State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Punakaiki Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the wild West Coast, 30 minutes north of Greymouth and 300m south of the famous Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, the Resort is surrounded by the Paparoa National Park and only metres from the beach. Floor to ceiling windows in the Waterline Restaurant and Bar mean you can admire the gorgeous sunset while dining on local West Coast food.Few places in the world can offer such comfort so close to the wild action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Punakaiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punakaiki Hotel Punakaiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing