We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place and a great hotel”
Review of Punakaiki Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punakaiki Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 28, 2007

Bit of a last minute choice, but got a very good deal with wotif.
The area is fantastic with the amazing pancake rocks literally just around the corner.
The hotel/motel is right by the beach and built fairly recently by the look of it. We had the villa apartments across the road ( the road was very quiet at night so there were no problems noise from it or anything). The rooms were nicely decorated with great views down across the beach and sea. The resort grounds are beautifully landscaped and nice to look at.
The restaurant was good (had just won an award that they were very keen to tell us about). Would have happily stayed another day there.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MayesTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

596 - 602 of 694 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2007

We were originally booked here for only one night but it's such a great spot we decided to have 2 nights. The deciding factor was being upgraded to the larger unit which is across the road (there is tunnel access). The rooms are not super luxurious, but nicely furnished with great views of the ocean and rainforest. The gardens and landscaping are gorgeous and in keeping with the location. Best of all - the restaurant is top-notch and well priced. Only two small negatives - restaurant service is on the amateurish side (had to remind myself I'm a long way from a big city) and there is a bit of traffic noise from the room - mostly during the daytime. Overall though, a great stay and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank wekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

We stayed here during a roadtrip on the West Coast.

Location
The resort is really in the middle of nowhere, on the beach, right next to the pancake rocks. There is NOTHING nearby, no gas station, no real store, no cell phone coverage. So, ideal for a romantic getaway.
In the nearby village, you will find two tourist-shops/diners, but that's about it.


Rooms
We had a cabin on the beach which really offers stunning views of the ocean and the beach. The beach cabins are modern, spacious, very luxurious and feature a beachview terras.

Restaurant
The restaurant offers the same beachviews and is nice, with good food, but nothing exceptional.

Staff
Staff was correct and helpful - nothing more.

Overall
I would definitely advise this resort for a romantic getaway, but make sure you get a beachfront cabin. All rooms are quite pricy.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank BusinessG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

Stayed here on Xmas day 2006 en route around the south island. We had a hotel room, which was very spacious and comfortable and directly facing the sea. It is a stunning spot and we sat in our comfy chairs by the large window watching and listening to the sea. Great for a romantic beach walk too. We had Xmas dinner in the restaurant - £18 approx for three courses and coffee which was very good value (especially compared to UK prices), although the turkey was reconstituted meat, which was a bit of a disappointment as the meal was generally good. And the atmosphere and decor of the restaurant was a bit lacking in something. But it is a great spot for Xmas day and dinner if you are in that area.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HellySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2007

This motel/hotel is part of the Mainstay chain in New Zealand.

The welcome was average (busy reception) but the rooms and facilities are outstanding.

We stayed in an upstairs Villa accross the road from the main hotel. The room was modern and lovely, very clean, with toaster/kettle/fridge/microwave & sink. View of pounding west coast surf was fab from our balcony.

This IS the West Coast so there was zero road traffic at night.

Hotel restaurant served quality food at fair value for money, and I'm a really picky foodie.

Definitely the best place to stay near the Pancake Rocks. Definitely stay here over anywhere in Greymouth.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KiwiJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2007

We were slightly disappointed with the quality of accommodation as we had expected more, especially since the Punakaiki rocks resort is fairly expensive and the reviews on TA had been very good. We stayed for a night in one of the eco-design luxury rooms, but were not able to find out much about the eco-qualities. Also, the decor was slightly faded and fairly bland with no great design features.

The restaurant served good food and the resort was a convenient stop on our road trip, but I would not necessarily stay here again. The Punakaiki rocks and blowholes themselves are amazing though and when planning your trip I would recommend stopping there during the day, but trying to stay overnight in another location.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SixtyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2007

Stayed one night and was very pleased with the overall standard of the accom.
Dined in the restuarant and apart from having to wait an eternity to be served(it was very busy)was satisfied with the meal and the bill.
Lovely setting on the beach but beware the SAND FLIES.
Probably the time of year but they were rampant and seemed to take a particular fancy to my blood group!!!!

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank plod7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
0.4 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
95 reviews
19.5 mi away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#15 of 19 in Greymouth
16 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 19 in Greymouth
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
0.1 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
316 reviews
1.9 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Resort

Address: State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range: $164 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punakaiki Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the wild West Coast, 30 minutes north of Greymouth and 300m south of the famous Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, the Resort is surrounded by the Paparoa National Park and only metres from the beach. Floor to ceiling windows in the Waterline Restaurant and Bar mean you can admire the gorgeous sunset while dining on local West Coast food.Few places in the world can offer such comfort so close to the wild action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Punakaiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punakaiki Hotel Punakaiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing