We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainforest Cottages”
Review of Te Nikau Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Te Nikau Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My favorite part was how this hostel is nestled right in the middle of the rainforest. From reception, we got to walk down a dense jungle path in order to get to our cottage. We stayed in a double room in the same building as a dorm with about 6 other individuals. It was cute and fun. Our room was tiny, but we are easy to please. A beautiful walk through the rainforest gets you to an amazing DOC beach--watching the sunset as this beach was one of my favorite parts of my trip to New Zealand! We slept well thanks to a good group of other people in the building. Was a little wary not having any locks on the doors to secure our belongings, but we didn't have any problems with theft. In the main building, they have a great little "pantry" where you can buy fresh-made bread, muffins, and various cooking supplies you might need (flour, butter, breakfast cereal, granola bars, coffee, etc.).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 233 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We spent just one night here on our trip down the west coast...we had a private room. It was like a very welcoming homestay...we had a comfortable room and the location and feel of the whole place was brilliant. Helen made us feel very welcome, and explained the house to us....we ate at the nearby Pub, which was good ,and thenmade our own breakfast in the communal kitchen the next morning. A lovely tranquil place.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Melanie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I fell in love with the place. Best weekend of our lives we reckon. If you are not afraid of roughing it a little , we cannot recommend booking The Stargazer hut enough. While it wouldnt suit everyone as its small and has no facilities or even electricity [who needs it!] we found the facilities we could use in the main lodge were more than adequate. Nothing like drifting off to sleep in your partners arms looking up through the glass roof as the stars put on a display and the night life of the bush comes alive outside your hut. Sharing our breakfast on the step of our hut with the local weka was just brilliant as well. We will be back! PS the other chalets in the bush looked really beautiful as well

Room Tip: Stargazer , go on do it , you know you want to. PS While there is no swimming pool the Tasman sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwizeppelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Short stop for the night. Got a Koru lodge, double cabin in the middle of a rainforest. Amazing location, short walk from the wonderful beach. Clean and cozy lodge, great atmosphere, very private, but close to main house with bathroom and kitchen. Would recommend to stay for a couple of nights, was very sad to leave. Something amazing, little paradise. Highly recommend.
P.S. There are 2 dollar fee for a towel rent (optional).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ugne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The Te Nikau Retreat is a really nice place to spend some days just relaxing - cosy rooms, very tidy, clean kitchen and nice staff, not forget about the good muffins. One problem for people without a car could be the isolatated location. The beach is quite close with a little "bush walk". We really liked the trustworthy atmosphere.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Elharg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Thanks to excellent directions we had no problem finding the retreat and were warmly welcomed. We stayed in a private double with ensuite upstairs in the main lodge. This was adequate. We appreciated the heater and extra blankets. The views of the rainforest from the windows were amazing!

We took the short walk through the woods to the coast and took many photos of the shore with the wonderful surf.

We had come prepared and used the excellent kitchen to prepare a feast.

We only stayed on night, but would like to have had time to stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryann-ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Found the place to be a bit confusing. The lodges are based in the jungle, and are all over the place. Was a bit of a polava finding our lodge as there wasn't many signposts. But when we did find our lodge, I was very impressed. Had a very homely feel, with a well-equipped and clean kitchen down stairs and comfortable bedrooms upstairs. Was close to the beach and the pancake rocks, which were both very nice.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms (circa. 4 person) are far more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneKelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
2.3 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
96 reviews
21.4 mi away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#15 of 19 in Greymouth
16 reviews
1.2 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
695 reviews
1.3 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
2 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Nikau Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Nikau Retreat

Address: 19 Hartmount Place, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Punakaiki
Price Range: $35 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Te Nikau Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique hostel with all home comforts, lodges and cottages nestled in the native rainforest. Excellent place to relax ~ restore ~ explore. Beautiful beaches,river walks, horse trekking, kayaking close-by. Bread/muffins available for sale. FREE UNLIMITED WIFI is available in all rooms of the retreat. 3kms north of the Pancake Rocks, sign on main road Motel - Homestay - Backpackers indicates turn off. Book your Intercity Bus to the Truman Track (TRT) and you'll be only meters away from Te Nikau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Te Nikau Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing