We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful place...”
Review of Te Nikau Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Te Nikau Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful place...”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

In the middle of the bush, this hostel allows you to discover the real New Zealand. Lovely accommodation, next to the beach where you can see the beautiful sunset and homemade muffins for breakfast! What more could you want?!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    70
    19
    7
    0
See reviews for
26
122
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nha Trang
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in July this year and fell in love with the place. We stayed in Te Nikau lodge (which looked like the nicest building) and it was just beautiful. It's a wooden build lodge in the middle of a forested area that sleeps 10 in 2 dorms of 4 and a double room upstairs and has a large kitchen and lounge area downstairs.

They have wifi in the main building, a small shop (probably best to do your shopping somewhere larger before you arrive here), and freshly baked breaad and muffins every morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deej83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We chose this place after it was recommended to us by a guy in Invercargill. We stayed in the main lodge which was fantastic, a beautiful building down a little quiet lane with a terrace and garden and the rainforest all around. There are only a few rooms in the house so it feels like you're in a shared cottage rather than a busy backpackers.

The rooms were spacious and clean and the shared facilities were also brilliant, new and clean, perfect for meeting other travellers. And to top it all off there are freshly baked muffins and bread for sale, which are ace! The staff are really friendly and helpful and went well beyond the call of duty to help us. There are two cute friendly cats and hundreds of birds to enjoy.

My only little complaint was that it was pretty cold in the room and there was only one spare duvet, although I'm sure if we'd asked for another one they would have provided one.

If you do choose to stay here the pancake rocks down the road are really cool, make sure you go near high tide to get the best blow-hole performance! There are also loads of lovely walks and the road to and from Punakaiki is stunning. Plenty of beaches, all to yourself!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleGems30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at this hostel. It was lovely and quiet and only a short walk to the beach. It was lovely and clean and the little shop in the kitchen was great for purchasing stuff as there's no grocery shop nearby. The homemade bread and muffins were excellent too. The only negative thing about the place was that there were no locks available for the doors. While it's very quiet and safe, most travelers prefer to have that security for themselves and their valuables.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed in the Magnolia room and it was a really nice room and the apartment block was very good. The kitchen was in really good shape! which we didnt see in other BBH hostels!

Our only remark goes to the fact that none of the rooms in that block had keys... we didnt feel very comfortable about it.. anyone can easy enter in that block and have access to any of the rooms.
Not that we do not trust the staff but you never know about other people wondering in!

Room Tip: the magnolia room was quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Well, I wish that I could read French, because it appears that another reviewer had an issue with "The Tui"!

The day we arrived it was raining. And yes, this cabin is in the rainforest. HOWEVER, the smell that this place emitted was foul. Truly unacceptable. The humidity was too much for the DE-humidifier to keep up with and the bugs crawling around your room made you feel as if things were crawling on you at all times. Thankfully, we only had one short night in this cabin, but the overall experience was a feeling of uncleanliness. Between the odor and the bugs and the humidity, I would truly not recommend this unit.

On a more positive note, we were able to get some laundry done and use the internet while doing so at the main building. The staff was friendly and the "retreat" was conveniently located near the Pancake Rocks.

Hate to say this, but it was by far our WORST stay of the two week trip. :-(

Room Tip: Just avoid "The Tui". Maybe the main building wouldn't be so bad???
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladyflyr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was our first experience with a hostel. We stayed in an upstairs room (en suite) in the main lodge. It was cozy and we loved the view. Parking is extremely tight. There is a nice kitchen and the best bread ever is baked there each day. We bought a half loaf to take with us. There is a beautiful 8 minute walk through the rain forest to a beautiful beach. We enjoyed meeting other people. As others have noted, there are no locks on the doors. I would have preferred a lock.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suncube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
2.4 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
93 reviews
1.2 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
188 reviews
1.9 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
11.9 mi away
Beach Hideaway
Beach Hideaway
#1 of 3 in Barrytown
75 reviews
24.8 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Nikau Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Nikau Retreat

Property: Te Nikau Retreat
Address: 19 Hartmount Place, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Te Nikau Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique hostel with all home comforts, lodges and cottages nestled in the native rainforest. Excellent place to relax ~ restore ~ explore. Beautiful beaches,river walks, horse trekking, kayaking close-by. Bread/muffins available for sale. FREE UNLIMITED WIFI is available in all rooms of the retreat. 3kms north of the Pancake Rocks, sign on main road Motel - Homestay - Backpackers indicates turn off. Book your Intercity Bus to the Truman Track (TRT) and you'll be only meters away from Te Nikau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Te Nikau Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing