We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fargeklatten Veita
Nearby Hotels
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kristina Apartments(Andenes)(Great Value!)
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$132
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Finnsnes Hotell(Finnsnes)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveler rating
15
4
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
4
0
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 20 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived here on Thursday 13th February and had booked for 2 nights in order to go whale watching on the Friday. The welcome of Grethe, the owner was very warm, friendly and informative. A beautiful old property with lots of character and comfortable antique furniture. As well as being full of character the property has got all the modern fittings required for a very pleasant stay. Electric storage heaters as well as a wood burning stove, washing machine and dryer, dishwasher, microwave etc.
The owners have gone out of their way to ensure we had a comfortable stay, coming round at night to show us where the washing machine was and bringing us extra logs for the fire.
The views from the house are stunning, with seals in the harbour, cormorants on the little islands and a sea otter bounding past the property on its nightly forage..
The place is so comfortable and relaxing that we have booked for an extra 2 nights and i know we will be sad to leave.
The town whilst small has everything you need and is very pretty and easy to walk around.
Definately worth going out of your way to stay at Fargeklatten Veita.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeverleyMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed for two nights in the middle of a howling winter storm in March 2010 (not June as it states above - tech glitch won't let me select the righ month). It's a wonderful old family house (with a great story) and has been beautifully restored with a kitchen, bathroom, dining room and sitting room (with a fab wood-burning stove) downstairs. There are two staircases, one leading to a large double room and the other to three other rooms - one tiny cosy double, one large twin and one medium-sized double, all with really beautiful bedlinen. The owner is very helpful, friendly, intelligent and charming as are her colleagues, even bringing us a big bag of logs before we ran out. They were keen to make sure we had everything we needed and then left us alone to enjoy it. It's a great location and the town is pretty small - you can walk everywhere in a few minutes. It's very well served by buses and the airport has a massive runway so you can get in and out even when the weather is challenging. If you're travelling on a tight budget and feel like having one treat on your trip, make it a night here - although we found it very good value for money - do ask for a rate. Just wonderful and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cyclades_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

If you are traveling through the Lofotens and arriving late on the ferry or waiting to leave next day on the ferry, or planning to go out on the whale tours or have selected Andenes as your location for viewing the midnight sun, Fargeklatten Veita provides a wonderful place to stay. The owners are very welcoming: they were out on the street looking for us to arrive! We stayed in the Kristina flat, probably the least "charming" of the properties from external appearance, but lovely and clean, big kitchen, huge bathroom and a great living room in which to gather and read or watch TV. All the properties are close to the harbor and one can easily walk to all the tourist sites in town. There is a lovely bakery just around the corner where you can get coffee and a pastry for breakfast. There are several restaurants in town, but be warned, the kitchens close at 8 pm. You can fish from the piers in the harbor, but the height above water level is not conducive to fly fishing. If you are planning to fish in rivers, you will need to get a local permit -- which can only be done during regular business hours, so give yourself a couple of nights in this location. The owners will be happy to help you make plans. This is a far nicer place to stay than the hotels in town. I'd strongly recommend it to you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PJaneChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews