We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotell Marena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotell Marena
Ranked #1 of 2 Andenes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is in the middle of Andenes so there aren't superb views from the hotel windows. However, the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The hotel is new, and the public areas are quite smart. The room was good in many respects - it was comfortable and had a desk, fridge,chairs and table etc, the lighting was GREAT, the shower was really good. However it was on the small size - it was OK but there wasn't much empty floor area. On the other hand how much floor area do you actually need in a bed room? It was also quite - it turned out there were quite a lot of people staying when we came to breakfast but you wouldn't have known. The breakfasts were OK but the choice was somewhat limited in comparison with other places we stayed in Norway. In fairness though, this is a small hotel quite a long way from anywhere much and we were pleased with it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 57russett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    48
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
43
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This may be the newest hotel in Andenes but there must be better options!

The hotel is well located in the centre of the town so easy to find. Parking is on the street but this doesn’t seem to be a problem. The receptionist was very cheerful and check in was quick. On the positive side the hotel is new and everything is in good condition. The standard of housekeeping is high with close attention to detail.

But our double room was almost comically small. There were two single beds one of which was not much better than a camp bed. I barely fitted in it and it was very uncomfortable. With two beds in the room there was almost no space to move. There was certainly no storage space so our clothes had to stay in our bags which at least fitted under the beds. This is pretty poor and I strongly suspect that the room was really meant to be a single one.

The bathroom was fine with a good strong shower with plenty of hot water and underfloor heating and plenty of towels.

Breakfast was dull. There were cereals and a buffet with limited choice and only a small few pieces of fresh fruit. Juice was weak from a machine and the coffee was also weak. On reflection we should ave eaten at a nearby bakery but breakfast is included in the room rate.

For dinner we went to a restaurant called Aresten about five minutes walk away which I strongly recommend – really nice atmosphere, friendly staff and good food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trond S, Owner at Hotell Marena, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
We are very sorry that some of our guests experienced low sleep/bed quality last summer. The reason is that when the hotels double room were full booked, we offered single rooms with extra bed as a double room. We have listened to our guests, and have made rearrangements regarding the rooms. We now offer more double rooms and fewer single rooms. You may book a single room with a a extra bed, but we will now be assure that our guests now know that this is not the same standard as a double bed.

Regards,

Trond Strøm, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

we've come back from andenes just last week,
we were there for of course for the whale tour,
we also had a chance to walk to hotel andrikken and have a look there, too,
i would perefer marena to andrikken for the following reason:
- closer to harbor and the safari tour ( andrikken is 5 more minutes of walk along the same road, and if your feet are burning with cold after a long tour out in the cold sea, it is harder to walk, considering the fact that you already have walked 10 mins from harvor to hotel.)
- is brand new, so has a much fresher look, although didn't see the rooms of andrikken the lobby and the restaurant area looked somewhat brown and worn out,
- the home made cookies in the entrance are delicious :)

the room size is o.k., but when we placed an extra bed for my son, there was not much room to move.

if you have problems sleeping, the orange curtains may not be thick anough to block the midnight sun.

i also wish they had a lift, as we had two heavy pieces of luggage, and were placed in the 2nd floor ( 2 floors in total but the steps are a bit on the steep side)

as for dinner, the restaurant next to whale safari tour is expensive and even if it is placed right on water, the windows are small and can't really see the view,
my husband recooneded the pizzeria on the way, and said it had much better view.

marena serves breakfast in the nearby cafe, but if you prefer there is a great cafe close to hotel, marena would direct you, which serves delicious sandwiches, desserts, and coffee.

the bar on the top floor of the whale safari restaurant was also nice with good view!

one more comment, if on the safari tour, make sure it is a good calm day, or else you can be sure you'll be seasick and will need a paper bag (they have plenty :) the staff also instructs and hands out pills one hour beforehand but didn't help most of us). make sure you are dressed accordingly because you are instructed to always stay outside , as going inside makes you even more sick. Go to the bathroom beforehand, especially with children, because, there were only two toilets on the boat and they were always busy! plus walking inside for the toilets , make you even more sick.

still, it is a nice adventure!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

We stayed here when we were in Andenes to go whale watching with WhaleSafari, see other review. It is a lovely hotel located in the center of town. We had a very comfortable room with 1 large bed, a flat screen TV and good sized bathroom. There was a large window overlooking the town with a good black out shade to block out the midnight sun when needed. We were pleasanlty surprised by free high speed wireless, just ask for the code at the desk.

Breakfast was a few doors down at a small cafe. It was a typical Scandanavian breakfast with cold cuts, cheese, boiled eggs, salmon, etc.

The owner is also a professional photographer so there are many lovely pictures you should stop and enjoy.

If you plan to go whale watching in Andenes or are just exploring the area we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randy_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Andenes hotels
0.3 mi away
Andrikken Hotell
Andrikken Hotell
#1 of 5 in Andenes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aurora Guest House
Aurora Guest House
#1 of 4 in Andenes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kristina Apartments
Kristina Apartments
#2 of 5 in Andenes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Marena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Marena

Property: Hotell Marena
Address: Storgata 15, Andenes 8480, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Andoy Municipality > Andenes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Andenes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotell Marena 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next time you visit Andøy and Andenes – whether you plan to see the large whales, the grand nature or some of the people who live here - you are welcome to stay at the newest hotel in town – Hotell Marena. Hotell Marena has 29 rooms. Single rooms, double rooms an a mini suite.Along with the Interior decorator Kari Ruud and photo artist Espen Tollefsen, we have now created a hotel that takes the magnificent nature that surrounds us into every room. Everything is done for your well-being. The rooms in the hotel have been named after the Norwegian storyteller Regine Normann’s fairytales. Each room - a new adventure.All rooms have their own bathroom with shower and toilet, TV and free wireless internet. Comfortable beds and clean rooms goes without saying. Breakfast is included.Summer 2013 we also open a coffeebar at the hotel. We will serve the best coffee and espresso based drinks, along with tea and chocolate of the best quality. You will also have the possibility to have some fresh bakery from our kitchen this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotell Marena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing