We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful pleasant oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Helvetia Thermal Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Porretta Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Dunleer Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Restful pleasant oasis”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Nice hotel with good spa facilities, pleasant staff, helpful and courteous. Prices reasonable. An oasis of rest and relaxation for a few days. Village is small so there's not a lot to do otherwise but if you like lounging around indoors in warm spa water and using leisure facilities,this is as good as it gets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    308
    60
    15
    5
See reviews for
87
885
51
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The SPA. It is well designed, with the real cave touch, big pool, where you can swim and takes heavy shower of hot termal water. ALso, it has sauna and hamam with aromatic oils. The spa is big, escpessialy compare to the city.
The only concern is opening hours, as we have been for the business, and came back around 8pm - spa was already closed. We have suceeded to visit only couple of days.
The hotel. Very nice building, in the 19th century high class resort style. Rooms are big and well equiped, with the very big bathroom. Service is friendly, and breakfast is very delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Игорь К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Room clean and quite large.
Very relaxing spa but not on average spa's staff: we did a foot's massage, but we weren't so satisfied cause the massage was too short in our opinion and above all the masseuse was not so able!
Restaurant very good and maitre polite and kind. Quality of food: very good.
Very interesting cost for the stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Spent there a very relaxing couple of days. Have not tried the restaurant (but for the breakfast which was awesome!!!). The spa is ok, just a shower not working perfectly and some guests are not nice when the leave their towel on the chaise-longues to secure their place!
The room had a massive bed and was big and clean in the whole.
The staff is extremely kind and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorloveintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
195 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great room. great location, great food, wonderful spa. Friendly staff and attentive attendants. Only negative is the front facing room overlooked the bar outdoor area so we heard some chatter until late at night on a hot summer evening.

Room Tip: Avoid the front having rooms that are above the outdoor restaurant/bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Hendricks_author
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I've stayed at the Helvetia many times in the past few years. It's is convenient and nicely decorated. The staff is always extremelly friendly and helpful, and they go out of their way to help you.

Restaurant is very good, although for authentic italian cuisine there are other options around.

The rooms are... well, they're comfortable, but a little strange! Tile floor, and very spartan. Nice flat screen TV, and the bathroom is very very good. Perhaps adding a rug to the room in the future?

I've never tried the spa and the gym (there's a hefty charge for that), but it's my understanding that it's one of the highlights of the hotel.

They also offer free bycicles to ride around town! Neat feature!

There's no parking, but you can find a spot at the train station... just don't leave your car there on weekends, there's a street fair there (no one told me that, ugh). You can also park on the street, but only from 7pm - 7am I believe.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooshoo1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
245 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I spent 4 days at Helvetia Hotel and I can say it's a good place, but they need still to improve their offer to be an outstanding experience. Hotel building outside is very nice (a big old building well refurbished), but inside, in my opinion, there are too many different styles: room and bathroom are quite wide, but their style is complete different and quality of room furniture is honestly quite cheap. Restaurant room has something wrong in its light and colours, but food is ok (nothing special anyway). SPA is very nice (Turkish Bath is fantastic!), but relax area is too small and often relaxing beds are not enough for all guests (relaxing chairs are available, but during "rush hours" also they are busy!). No discussion about staff quality: all of them are really nice with guests and ladies at beauty center are really professional and massages are perfect (beauty center itself, instead, could be better).
So, I'd suggest you to go to Helvetia Hotel not in peak season and if you're not looking for an unforgetable SPA experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fanharuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porretta Terme
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santoli
Hotel Santoli
#2 of 8 in Porretta Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bertusi
Hotel Bertusi
#7 of 8 in Porretta Terme
3.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Roma -- Porretta Terme
Hotel Roma -- Porretta Terme
#3 of 8 in Porretta Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Palazzo Loup
Palazzo Loup
#1 of 1 in Loiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Albergo Italia
Hotel Albergo Italia
#4 of 8 in Porretta Terme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel delle Acque & Natural SPA
Hotel delle Acque & Natural SPA
#5 of 8 in Porretta Terme
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia Thermal Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia Thermal Spa

Property: Hotel Helvetia Thermal Spa
Address: Piazza Vittorio Veneto 11, 40046 Porretta Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Porretta Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Porretta Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helvetia Thermal Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Salus per Acquam” which stands for well-being through water. The aim of Helvetia Thermal Spa is to offer our guests a feeling of global well-being using the Thermal water and highly innovating massage techniques. Everyone in Helvetia takes care of our guests accompanying them in the well-being course, keeping in mind each persons specific needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Helvetia Thermal Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Porretta Terme
Hotel Helvetia Thermal Spa Porretta Terme, Province Of Bologna, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing