We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun way to explore the local flora”

Tropical Spice Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$126.25*
and up
Experience Malaysia: Authentic Malaysia Cooking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Garden Audio Tours available in 7 Languages: English, Chinese, Malay, Arabic, Japanese, German & French. Alternatively you may take the Live Guided Tour starting at 9am, 11.30Am, 1.30Pm & 3.30Pm. The trails are uneven and going up hill, therefore wheelchairs & strollers are not recommended. The Hidden Eden of Southeast Asia! Timeless and enchanting, Tropical Spice Garden is an eco-attraction tucked within a natural valley fronting the Straits of Malacca. The showcase garden houses over 500 species of herb, spice and tropical plants. Explore and discover the fabulous diversity of nature as you through trails and pathways that meander through undulating hills, jungles terraces and natural streams.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun way to explore the local flora”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

TSG is a fun place for photographers who are interested in shooting some local flora. It is also an interesting place for kids to learn about the local spices and herbs. The path and attractions are well-maintained but don't expect to see all flowers and spices blooming, there are times when they just don't get any flowering.

While fun, do be prepared for lots of mosquito bites. They provide citronella spray upon entry but make sure you bring your own anti-itch too because those mosquitoes are pretty fierce!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PingQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    373
    123
    25
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed in the golden sands on batu ferringhi beach, so it was very easy to access the spice garden, we took the 101 rapid bus for RM4.50 for 2 adults and 2 children for a 10 minute ride to the garden ( the bus stop right outside and pick's you up across the road on the way back, you tell the bus driver where you are going, he will stop for you ).
I highly suggest to opt for the tour package, it cost us RM75 for a family tour. It was exceptionally informative, going through a lot of the spice's history and cultivation. They provide free insect repellent on arrival, which you need, a great shop for unusual gifts ( not the usual tourist junk ) and our kids loved the life size game of snake's and ladders. All in all a really nice escape and well priced, Don't bother paying for taxi take the bus

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philipstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pearly Is a Pearl of the Orient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just returned from a trip to Penang and Kl and need to tell everyone what a fabulous time we had at the Tropical Spice Garden Cooking School with Pearly Kee.
We were a small group of 4 people with one being an aspiring chef of the future at 18 years old. He joined his mum and we two surrogate aunties for a morning of spice knowledge via a tour of the Tropical Spice Garden and then onto an inspiring Nyonya cooking class.
Pearly was delightful and extremely knowledgeable and patient with first time cooking class students, but we are good home cooks.Her imparting of Nyonya culture and cooking specialty dishes was exciting and DELICIOUS! And the kitchen is in a wonderful setting.
Nyonya food is now on my menu at home to cook for the family!
Thankyou Pearly, Chandra and staff for a fabulous morning.
Darianne - Melbourne

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Darianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, get a tour guide and enjoy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

You definitely need to get a tour guide for the garden, ours was amazing and knew every detail! The gardens were so lovely and we were taught all about the spices and plants and health properties. We tried freshly brewed tea from the plants in the garden which was yummy! You can buy all sort of teas, spices and lovely things from the shop afterwards to take home. It really was a great way to spend a few hours, please go!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Little B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great cultural experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and three kids (10, 8 and 5 years old) were visiting Penang and Malaysia for the first time. We wanted to learn about the culture, the history and the people. Visiting the Tropical Spice Garden and taking a cooking class with Pearly was a great way to do that.

I initially contacted Pearly to attend the cooking class she gave at her home. It was a good thing that she asked me where we were from and if we had any dietary restrictions because, being a Muslim family from Egypt, we eat strictly Halal food. We could not go to the class at her home but Pearly suggested that we join the cooking class she gave at the Tropical Spice Garden, where they only serve Halal.

I am glad I took her advice... the day started with a quick tour of the lovely garden. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and shared a lot of interesting facts with us about spices and herbs that we sampled as we went along. We then went to the kitchen where we met Pearly and the rest of the team.

There were a couple of other families there as well, and each one of us had a cooking station (my 5 year old girl "assisted" me since she was a bit young to cook on her own. Pearly and my wife helped the other two kids at their stations when needed). We were busy cooking for almost two and a half or three hours, but we did not notice the time go by. Pearly filled the time with interesting information about the Nyonya cuisine, the ingredients we were using, some Malay history and other relevant cooking and health tips. She taught us some useful cooking techniques and kept a close eye on all her students. We did all the work, but she was there with her able assistants to help out when needed.

At the end of the day we enjoyed a savory and healthy meal which we prepared ourselves. We met wonderful people and we learned a lot about the rich culture of Malaysia. After the meal, the kids spent some time playing on the slides and looking for monkeys. We bought some souvenirs and spices at the gift shop, then we went back to our hotel with many beautiful memories of this remarkable place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank EgyptianDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Spice Garden also viewed

Teluk Bahang, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
Teluk Bahang, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Tropical Spice Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing