We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish couple dinner for two ”

Healy Mac's Irish Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 1,719 Restaurants in Penang Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Ireland
1 review
“Irish couple dinner for two ”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Visited on the 2nd January for dinner on our first day to Penang. Food was very tasty and cheap beer. Staff were 2nd to none. Ladies got a free cocktail. Visited again on the 6th for little ladies Christmas. Food was even better, boyfriend ordered what the lady had ordered the first night (cod and risotto) and it was even better, lady was very jealous!!! Boyfriend usually does not eat fish or rice and was very very happy. Overall very satisfied with food and service. Ate outside and atmosphere was very pleasant both nights. From an Irish point of view, very enjoyable and very proud to be an Irish visitor in Penang. Would recommend for food.

Helpful?
Thank Stephcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam H, Owner at Healy Mac's Irish Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Hello there,
I am very grateful for your review, thanks for taking your time to do one. I am happy to hear you enjoyed attention from our staff and got to celebrate women's christmas with us. I am delighted you enjoyed our atmosphere and food. It was a pleasure serving you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    127
    33
    8
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Castleknockframers.ie. Dublin Ireland”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Visited healymacs in Jan. 2014 , had a lovely meal of Fish and Chips together with a very cool pint of lager , on waiting for my meal I was presented with a lovely bowl of soup and delicious Penang home made brown bread and butter , apparently this starter meal is completely free of charge FOC. How coool is thaaat. ? The staff are very friendly and cortious , having been served by Toni the waiter , the manager of Healy Macs Trevor from Cork also showed great interest in his customers thru engaging in local banter about Penang , and at the same time not intruding during eating time. Apparently the night entertainment is also fab. Live bands etc. I can highly recommend this Pub for an enjoyable days entertainment. Thanks Guys, Frank, Dublin

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Marylin301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam H, Owner at Healy Mac's Irish Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Hello Frank,
I really appreciate your time in writing this review. Yes, our soup and bread is free with any maincourse ordered from Uncle Albert's, our sister branch. I am happy to hear you met our manager and were well looked after. It was lovely to serve you, we hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West France
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very very good food, excellent location”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We visited on New Year's day for an evening meal.
We chose the pork knuckle for two followed by ice cream dessert, a beer and cocktail helped it all down all for just over 160 ringett. The portion size was very good and the staff attentive.
Sitting outside overlooking the marina was excellent.
The menu was very good with plenty of options for starters, mains and desserts.
We will go back for feta cheese salad and pizza as a very filling snack lunch.
Whole bottles of spirits and wine are available as well as beers.
I might question visiting Friday or Saturday night as I think it could get quite load - expats heavily imbibing on bottles of scotch and vodka.
There is a quiz night on Mondays with live music. Ladies night on a Thursday

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bricodust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam H, Owner at Healy Mac's Irish Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for taking some time to write this review. I am very happy you tried our speciality, the pork knuckle. Thank you for your compliments on our staff and menu. I am happy you enjoyed our view of the marina also, this is a feature of the bar. Our pizzas and feta salad is very popular too, I'm glad you had this too! Our quiz night on mondays is very popular and so is our ladies night. It was a real pleasure to serve you, I am glad you were well looked after. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

My family and I had an awesome dinner there!! The food was so tasty and big amount of food!! Shorty it was wow..Everyone should go and try it out...

Helpful?
3 Thank Kugendran96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best pub in Penang”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Great food, view, service and the best pint in Penang. Set in the wonderful Straits Quay marina, they serve a mean pint of Kilkenny.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBrucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Healy Mac's Irish Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 

Been to Healy Mac's Irish Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing