We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Rags to Riches Story of an early Chinese Immigrant to Penang”

The House of Yeap Chor Ee
Ranked #90 of 207 things to do in Penang Island
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The House of Yeap Chor Ee is a social history gallery tells the story of Yeap Chor Ee, a young immigrant who arrived in Penang in the 1880s. Through the journey of Yeap Chor Ee, the Gallery gives an insight into his life and the lives of immigrants who arrived on the island from China more than 100 years ago.
Welwyn
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting Rags to Riches Story of an early Chinese Immigrant to Penang”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The House of Yeap Chor Ee is an interesting little museum which tell the rags to riches story of a penniless Chinese immigrant in the early days of Penang. It has a lot of old Chinese furniture and other items and exhibits that tell the story of Yeap Chor Ee which is probably typical of that of many Chinese in the early days of Penang. You are provided with an audio tour which is very interesting as it explains a lot about the early days of Chinese settlement in Penang. It is (in 4 Penang St) only a 5 minute walk from the better know Peranekan Museum and is well worth the effort.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrahamWelwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sorry but I still prefer human touch rather than hearing playback sound”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This museum is different than other museum, in fact the was a interesting story about Yeap Chor Ee but this museum didn provide you real tour guide. Inside of using human touch they will just giving u an equipment to playback the story about Yeap Chor Ee in each of the session. It was quiet boring because you cannot directly interact or asking some questions like what I liked to do when i go to other museum. So I must say that actually the story itself was not boring but I still prefer a tour guide to explain the story.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank irwandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Level Contributor
112 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Well simple but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

In order to enter, you must ring the doorbell which took me a second to find. A bit camoflouged and just above eye level, the door is unlocked when you ring. It is 8RM and inlcudes an audio tour. I completed the tour in just under an hour but got a bit bored of the audio tour so I didn't listen to the whole exhibit. There weren't many visitors at the time which was nice. His family tree was the most interesting thing to me.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting history place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I personally doesn't like much reading history in book type but I found that by visiting this museum with friend was far more better way to understand the history. My friend recommended us to visit this museum because you can personally see the antiques and the old building which has been restored. They also provide audio guides for you to listen. It will explain to you either in English or Chinese about Yeap Chor Ee whole background. Bring a camera with you so that you take pictures.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kitty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great find in Penang!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stumbled upon this museum while walking about Georgetown and were so delighted by our experience. A beautiful building with many gorgeous family artifacts. This social history museum is a very fascinating look at Chinese history, explained through the lens of one very important man and his family which makes the information a lot easier to digest than other museums I've visited. The audio tour is great (and the air conditioning!)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BethanyA889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House of Yeap Chor Ee also viewed

 
Penang Island, Penang
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to The House of Yeap Chor Ee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing