We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Bacaro

Il Bacaro
Ranked #41 of 1,602 Restaurants in Penang Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A cozy family run Italian restaurant located within the Heritage building of Campbell House Hotel. Offering breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner, Wines, drinks & coffee.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
319 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Bruschetta is best I have had outside of Italy. Lamb shanks were to perfection. Steak with blue cheese sauce had great sauce and potatoes. Meat was well cooked but was a lower quality of meat. However considering how hard it is to get steak here perhaps understandable. Desert of chocolate chilli mud cake was a treat. The chef here is top quality, service great and the host genial and helpful. Great place to eat

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Auscoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    66
    21
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rivignano, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Delicious food, typically Italian (original products!), authentic hospitality, kindness like a few!

As frequent traveler for business reasons, I attend this place every time I am in Penang, I think it is one of the best Italian restaurants in the world.

For the most demanding gourmets, chef Mario is always available for specialties on demand.

Very good bar tender with his excellent drinks!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex_e_Sabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic High Quality Italian Fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is by far my first dining choice in Georgetown.

I've eaten here several times and it is a mainstay when friends from overseas visit.

The menu is vast and changes frequently. We've had exquisite duck dishes, beef, fish and, of course, wonderful pastas. Vegetables are fresh and cooked perfectly.

Wine list offers excellent choices at very fair prices.
It surprises me that there are disappointing reviews of Il Bacaro. I live in Penang and, generally, have the habit of consulting with the chef and staff on what is freshest and best, before ordering.

There are many constraints on getting top quality fresh foods here, so asking is probably a good idea.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Looked promising”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We visited this restaurant recently and it looked so promising. Lovely inside, attentive staff, lovely setting. I ordered a garden salad to start with, well what a poor garden it must have come from. The only piece of salad on the plate was lettuce. I thought it should have at least tomato and cucumber. Then we ordered pizzas each. Well they have got to be the most tasteless pizzas I have ever eaten. They were covered in what looked like a kilo of cheese which was revolting.
What an absolute waste of an oasis in Georgetown which should be so much better. Would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tzeni660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice meal at a good price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Il Bacaro offers a very pleasant, quiet, cool and relaxed environment for meal - the polar opposite of the eating experience in most of Penang. We had a large green salad with grilled vegetables (eggplant and roasted red peppers) as a starter - beautifully presented and delicious. For mains, I had a pomfret fillet and my bride had a thick snapper fillet. Mine was grilled and sauced with a white wine lemon and caper reduction and served in a sea of lightly sautéed cherry tomatoes, over boiled and sautéed golden potatoes - yummy. My wife's snapper was sautéed and sauced in a tomato, parsley and garlic mix - also delicious. We had no drinks other than water. The bill was RM 118 (US$ 36), very reasonable for what we got and the quality of the dining experience. The service was very attentive. This meal was such a contrast with the hastily prepared, carelessly presented low quality food we found in several of the well known Penang restaurants and the famous hawker stalls. The latter were a real disappointment - highly touted worldwide, but frankly not worth a look.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bacaro also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Il Bacaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing