We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Bacaro

Il Bacaro
Campbell House,106 Campbell Street | Georgetown, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
042618290
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 1,407 Restaurants in Penang Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A cozy family run Italian restaurant located within the Heritage building of Campbell House Hotel. Offering breakfast, lunch, happy hour, dinner, Wines, drinks & coffee.
Rivignano, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Delicious food, typically Italian (original products!), authentic hospitality, kindness like a few!

As frequent traveler for business reasons, I attend this place every time I am in Penang, I think it is one of the best Italian restaurants in the world.

For the most demanding gourmets, chef Mario is always available for specialties on demand.

Very good bar tender with his excellent drinks!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex_e_Sabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    49
    14
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic High Quality Italian Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is by far my first dining choice in Georgetown.

I've eaten here several times and it is a mainstay when friends from overseas visit.

The menu is vast and changes frequently. We've had exquisite duck dishes, beef, fish and, of course, wonderful pastas. Vegetables are fresh and cooked perfectly.

Wine list offers excellent choices at very fair prices.
It surprises me that there are disappointing reviews of Il Bacaro. I live in Penang and, generally, have the habit of consulting with the chef and staff on what is freshest and best, before ordering.

There are many constraints on getting top quality fresh foods here, so asking is probably a good idea.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Looked promising”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We visited this restaurant recently and it looked so promising. Lovely inside, attentive staff, lovely setting. I ordered a garden salad to start with, well what a poor garden it must have come from. The only piece of salad on the plate was lettuce. I thought it should have at least tomato and cucumber. Then we ordered pizzas each. Well they have got to be the most tasteless pizzas I have ever eaten. They were covered in what looked like a kilo of cheese which was revolting.
What an absolute waste of an oasis in Georgetown which should be so much better. Would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tzeni660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice meal at a good price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Il Bacaro offers a very pleasant, quiet, cool and relaxed environment for meal - the polar opposite of the eating experience in most of Penang. We had a large green salad with grilled vegetables (eggplant and roasted red peppers) as a starter - beautifully presented and delicious. For mains, I had a pomfret fillet and my bride had a thick snapper fillet. Mine was grilled and sauced with a white wine lemon and caper reduction and served in a sea of lightly sautéed cherry tomatoes, over boiled and sautéed golden potatoes - yummy. My wife's snapper was sautéed and sauced in a tomato, parsley and garlic mix - also delicious. We had no drinks other than water. The bill was RM 118 (US$ 36), very reasonable for what we got and the quality of the dining experience. The service was very attentive. This meal was such a contrast with the hastily prepared, carelessly presented low quality food we found in several of the well known Penang restaurants and the famous hawker stalls. The latter were a real disappointment - highly touted worldwide, but frankly not worth a look.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dissapointing food - please don't think of it as typically Italian.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This restaurant looks like an oasis of European excellence in Georgetown's China Town and the setting and service is excellent - unlike the food. We ate a Lamb Shank that looked and tasted like it had been prepared a long, long time before we saw it together with a Chicken Milanese with Spaghetti which turned out to be an OK Chicken Milanese with dried pasta twists and fake Parmesan cheese. The bread served was sliced supermarket white! The desert was a perfectly acceptable Panacotta. If your looking for a typically Italian restaurant where they use the freshest ingredients, cooked simply and always delicious Il Barco isn't it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Silvio2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Bacaro also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 

Been to Il Bacaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing