We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Romantic Dining Experience”

David Brown's Restaurant and Tea Terraces
Ranked #163 of 1,678 Restaurants in Penang Island
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely and Romantic Dining Experience”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

David Brown's Restaurant is really a lovely dining experience under the stars and with a sky loft seaview of Penang. My husband and i love the food, the mixed grill and soup were delicious. I love the jerbera flowers at the side and we love the beautiful pond and the romantic ambience. We particularly also love the sylish colonial interior design of the restaurant and the friendly staff. The ambience was not only romantic but also one that is refreshing and relaxing, i wish that is an attached spa to the restaurant! However, we were a little surprise that it does not accept credit card but cash but a restaurant of this standard. Nevertheless, we are appreciative of the lovely memory dining under the star, i wish Bellevue Hotel would upgrade to the restaurant's standard!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Malmercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    65
    38
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A highlight of our stay in Penang”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I need to preface this review by saying that we were on an evening out with family that may have made this evening so special. We travelled up the Hill by four wheel drive to be met by the fabulous view. David Brown's set up a table for our party in the beautiful garden overlooking the whole of Penang. We had traditional English fare: roast beef and Yorkshire pud or beef Wellington. The setting was just spectacular. The food was good and we just had a lovely time. Be prepared to pay for this as this restaurant is not cheap, especially for inexpensive Penang. This place is a gorgeous escape from the city below. Superb garden setting. We had dinner but afternoon tea could be fun.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CaroSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Expensive View”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

After coming out from the cable car station, you will reach the entrance of this restaurant after a short walk. This newly renovated restaurant has a Sky Terrace that offer great panorama view of Penang Island. They only serve drinks and snacks at the Sky Terrace.
Walk further up, you will reach the main bungalow building of David Brown's Restaurant. The surrounding is gorgeous. We love the garden sittings very much.
We had Afternoon Tea for 2 at the price of RM78. The food is just so so and the price is quite high for Penang standard. However, we still enjoy this restaurant a lot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank UnderBigHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great setting and lovely respite from Georgetown bustle below”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

After reading the recent reviews it was with low expectations that we made our way to David browns today for lunch. What a pleasant surprise! Gorgeous surroundings, food was good and it gave us something to do at the top of the hill before taking the cable car back. Prices are high compared to local places in the towns below the hill, but clearly it is in a spectacular and historical place and they are serving mostly western food so you would expect the prices to be a bit high. My scones were buttery and delicious and the 3 kids all found something they liked on the menu- good vegetarian selection too! I recommend it if your budget can take it. Only downside was my lukewarm weak coffee....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bring enough RM”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

View was great. Food so-so. Service average. We were told after we ordered that we can't charge to the card as the phone line was down due a thunderstorm a few days earlier but we cld pay with sg dollar. When the bill came, we were told that the exchange rate they offer was S$1 for Rm$2 (normal rate is 1:2.5) which was ridiculous! So we scraped every Rm we have on us to pay for the meal. Great view but bad after taste.

Helpful?
1 Thank angstansg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Brown's Restaurant and Tea Terraces also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to David Brown's Restaurant and Tea Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing