We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps, the WORST dining experience ever in my life!! NEVER AGAIN!!!”

David Brown's Restaurant and Tea Terraces
Ranked #167 of 1,677 Restaurants in Penang Island
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Penang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perhaps, the WORST dining experience ever in my life!! NEVER AGAIN!!!”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

It was a gloomy evening on 23/5/12.. Decided to make a trip up to penang hill with one of my colleague since we have not been up there for quite some time after the refurbishment. The train fair was reasonable, as we get to be included in the half price rate from 6-9pm. Train ride was good.
As we were thinking to chill at a place, we saw the advertisement of the restaurant and we were mesmerize by it and we decided to give it a try...
As we walk towards the restaurant entrace, we saw the kitchen staffs, serving staffs were all just sitting down by a corner-smoking, chit chatting and laughing away (ENJYOING) ..This was just a very bad impression to us. While we walk till there, one of the staff just swaying away and came to us unhappily. We settled down on the table that we sat , and the dining MENU was just thrown to us like this on the table. NO GREETINGS WERE GIVEN TO US NEITHER!! All the staff were just so unfriendly and.....!! Its like no one operating the restaturant.
After a few minutes, we were ready to order our food. A staff came over, holding a note pad and a pen on his hand. We assume that he is going to jot down what we ordered. Unfortunately, he did not - He was just standing at the side listening to our orders without jotting anything down.
I choose to let them go for that.. After about 5 minutes, another staff came over and asked us what did we ordered and could we please repeat it, i repeated this time. It seems that all the staff couldnt understand what we ordered, as we repeated plenty of times till we gave up at the end!! At last, we just wrote to him what we wanted...
The food was disgraceful and its just way too expensive!! The food were just thrown to us on the table unwillingly and in a improper way...that just make us fedup and.....!! While we were eating, all the staffs were just standing inside the restaurant, having their own party time ..
they were just chit chatting and laughing happily inside and enjoying themself. Worst still, there is no one to stand by at the verendah area if in case guest require for something...!! It was just way too annoying with all the noises they made without them realizing...Hmmm... Attitude...
as for beverage, the tea served wasnt HOT!! it was just like drinking a cold cup of tea...
There was a table at the garden area, NOT EVEN A SINGLE STAFF BOTHERED TO SERVE THE GUEST , till the guest have to walk inside and tell the staff what they wanted. ITS JUST WAY TOO BAD!!! Not even a single one of them were aware that , there is guest at the garden area. All the staff were just hanging around, no one bothered to clear the empty plates after we have finish our food- until i will have to voice out asking them to clear away our empty plates.Ordered a french fries, took about 30 minutes to came. Requested for ketchup , gave us chili instead!! This was just so .... They were just like close one eye, see nothing!! They were just practically UNAWARE about everything!!
It stated that the closing time is at 9pm , but by 830 pm all the staffs were like rushing to do closing. Windows and doors of the restaurant were closed and they were CHASING guest off by then!! The chit chatting among them gets louder and it irritates!! At 840 there were 2 guest walk in, sat down by their own. They were all like busy doing closing , just want to close everything and DID NOT SEE THE GUESTS WALKING IN.. After about 15 minutes, only one of the staff realize, walk towards the guest UNWILLINGLY telling the guest that the restaurant is close by 830 and insisted not to take the order from the guest and chase the guest off...At last, the guest just walk away ...By right, closing time should be at 9PM...NOT EARLIER THAN THAT!!
I asked for the bill before leaving at about 845, bill was send to me with the bill folder close. By right, the bill folder should be open when the bill is present..The amount came to 100 plus for our worst meal ever..NO GREETINGS were given to us after paying and when we left..That was just so RUDE!!
This was just so disappointing...Dont ever stepped into the restaurant if you have the chance.!!
I swear this will be my very last time here.. It was terrible..!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Debra1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    65
    38
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice weekend afternoon lunch”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We went with our 17 month-old baby for a weekend outing at Penang Hills and visited this restaurant for lunch. Walking up to the hill top, we were welcomed with a nice green garden full of flowers. Walking into the restaurant, we were greet properly. As we were with a little kid, they do not offer the baby chair until we asked and later we found the chair was wet. The restaurant has both in door and out door sitting. Even for out door, you may choose to sit at the garden where it is without shades or just around the restaurant shaded. Overall experience is OK for the environment and atmosphere but food is just so so and I would say it is a bit over-priced. The restaurant has another separated area (lower at the hill) with a great view serving drinks and cakes for those who looking for something light.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeeNee_Cho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service, Food, Bad Experience! Ambience, Awesome!”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Service is slow. Waiters are not very receptive. Food is extremely pricey for its poor quality. A big disappointment. If the pricing is 1/3 of what they are charging then I'd say it's average. Otherwise for the same pricing as a 5 star restaurant, the quality of the food is poor. However, the atmosphere is awesome. There's quite a bit of mosquitoes flying around and biting guest but the view from up here is really great. If you stay on till after sundown, it gets really misty and cold. The kind of cold weather I like. Some people say you pay the premium price for the ambience but I think that's ridiculous. They really need to improve on the food quality and availability!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tarayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

In Penang, you can't find a place like David Brown. it's up Penang Hill and you have to catch a cable car to get there. From David Brown you can have panoramic view of Penang from Tanjung Bungah to Georgetown to Air Itam. The best view shall be around 5pm to 7pm when every household is lighting up and the sky is getting dark out.
Recommend to book the restaurant before you departure to get a beautiful view table. And if the weather is good, table located at the garden in front of the pond is the best idea. The decor inside the house (a bungalow house converted to restaurant) is very country like and very nice.
A good place for taking photography.
The food served is above average. We tried Chicken Marryland, Rib Eye Steak, Fish and Chips and Chicken Chop. The prices are not cheap but considering you pay a premium for the good views, it is worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank ok_xin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
111 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place but lunch is just ok”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This place sits high up Penang Hill and it's surrounding is really worth being there. Had lunch of steak and fish & chips but was quite ordinary. Didn't try the scones so perhaps that's it's best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ahleongsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David Brown's Restaurant and Tea Terraces also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
Air Itam, Penang Island
 

Been to David Brown's Restaurant and Tea Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing