We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth Crossing”

Penang Ferry Service
Ranked #36 of 218 things to do in Penang Island
Attraction details
North East England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Smooth Crossing”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Used the service to cross the Penang Bridge. Was part of a tour, able to park car on ferry, get out and take photos. lovely cool breeze and nice way to travel with no bridge congestion and arrived at destination quicker. Highly recommende, just for the experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Honesty183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    177
    70
    7
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“To Butterworth and Back”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

For something different to do in Penang we took the ferry from Penang to Butterworth and back, it was around midday and the ferry was busy, we queued up with everyone else before boarding the ferry, it's free to travel to Butterworth just walk on board, there's an area in the middle of the top deck to sit and benches along the edges but it's more interesting to move around or stand at the edge and look at the views and before you know the trip has ended, the trip was smooth considering the bulkiness of the vessel. Once at Butterworth you just walk off do a u-turn at the end then put 1.20RM in the turnstile and your back on board, we found the people on board friendly and were interested in us catching the ferry. It's well worth the time or just to experience the trip and see Penang from the sea we found it relaxing and interesting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great! Nice experience~”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I took the earliest ferry (6am) from Butterworth to Penang island and it costed me RM2.10. The views were beautiful while watching outside the ferry. And it's fun to see students in uniform, nun, nurse, office girls and...... catching the ferry in the early morning for different purposes and destinations to the island. Return ferry from Penang to Butterworth is free of charge.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank childly1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Convenient and Perfectly Priced!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We took the 7am ferry from Penang over to Butterworth. Once we figured out where exactly it is and the walkway to board, it was a quick ride and even better, free in that direction! (Apparently its 1.20RM for the return trip.)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kissthefr0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Cheapest Cruise”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Have travelled on this for free, then 20 cents, 40 cents, 60 cents and now...for a long long time has been RM1.20 and they only charge one way ( from Butterworth to Penang Island ). If don't expect much and just carry your camera along to try this trip, it's definitely worth a while. Each way is a 20mins ride and very very scenic. I still enjoy it very much!

Happy Trying!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Baskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penang Ferry Service also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Penang Ferry Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing