We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Boatman Restaurant

Boatman Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 1,696 Restaurants in Penang Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had several very good meals here when in Penang in October. Their whole grilled fish was superb. Pity the entrance area isn't a little more inviting. Very friendly helpful staff. Will certainly be going back there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Disappointed807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    54
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Got chatting to a lovely lady, Val, at our hotel and she recommended the Boatman. Val was spot on, this place is fabulous, the food was amazing and the service was terrific. We will be eating here again when we return to Penang next year!

we ordered beef kway teow, fried vegatables, Szechuan chicken, all of them were delicious. portions are generous, everything is fresh and to quote my daughter "scrumdiddlyumptious".

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LNB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Open area leads to gate entrance and then into a very simple looking eating area. Clean, well lit and ceiling fans over simple tables. Food was excellent, the best we've eaten so far in fact, and ample too. For less than AUD 160 for 4 including beers it's superb value. We'll be heading back before we leave. Closed on Mondays as we discovered yesterday!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank muddyoldengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Almost didn't eat here - glad I did - twice!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

On our first night back in Penang, I was looking for a restaurant I had visited 8 years ago but it had gone. However, The Boatman looked good, so we went in. It was more than good, it was excellent. We said we'd be back but the owner said she was closing the next day for a week's holiday in KL.

However, we were in Penang for 10 days so we returned when she got back. This meal was even better and, as we were relaxing afterwards, a couple of local Indian gentlement came in to an adjacent table. They opened a conversation with us and, as regulars, invited us to share a bottle of wine with them. Bliss. This is one of the friendliest islands I have ever visitied. All the cultures, Malasian, Indian, Chinese, and the odd European seem to co-exist in harmony.

I really like Penang and am sure I will be back. I have said that one every occasion I have been there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Highlander24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Boatman Restaurant in Batu Ferringhi, Penang has to be one of the best eating places at the beach. You can find it between the new mosque and next door to the By The Sea condominium being built. What it lacks in ambiance it makes up for with excellent food and friendly staff and very reasonable prices. Example: three people dining; pan-fried snapper with garlic butter; pawn fritter for one; peach melba for two; banana split for one; one beer, one iced lemon tea, two cans of lemonade. Cost: RM91 which is about $36 New Zealand. Beat that if you can! The Boatman has an extensive menu of Chinese, Malay and Western food. Order a glass of wine and you get a full glass, not just a half glass. Mae, who will serve you, will always remember your last order!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 652408Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boatman Restaurant also viewed

Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 

Been to Boatman Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing