We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Complacent”
Review of Dragon-i

Dragon-i
Ranked #311 of 1,697 Restaurants in Penang Island
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Too Complacent”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The food has reputed to being very good, and I guess the staff and cooks are too complacent with the compliments.

Food sometimes comes out overdone, in small portions and at times downright untidy.

Staff need lessons in English because not all customers speak Chinese. They also tend to insist on you sitting at tables that you do not like.

A vast difference from the service of the Dragon-i in Kuala Lumpur.

Helpful?
Thank pemsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Nothing special, overpriced, bad staff.”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I have been here twice over the last few weeks. I love how you can see the chefs making the noodles and dim sum by hand as you walk in.

On the first visit I was impressed by the food, the hand made noodles were delicious. All the food we had was nice, if a little oily, although at least 3 of the dishes we ordered they said were not available for some reason and the had run out of coke. It took so long to get the bill despite asking several times and we had to go and collect the change ourselves on the way out. The staff are very young and bordering on useless. The meal was the only thing I had eaten that day and I developed stomach cramps and diarrhoea later in the day.

On the second visit, again lots of things were not available, and the chicken in black pepper sauce was disgusting - it tasted like the chicken had gone bad. The service was a little better this time, but before I finished my meal I had to rush to the toilet again with stomach cramps. I was travelling for nearly five weeks and the only two times I felt unwell were after eating here. It could, of course, have been something else I had eaten but I certainly don't think so. I will never go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry_Onads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Most dishes Ok, can be quite cramped”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I have eaten here a few times and found most of the food to be OK. The best by far here are the dumplings which are a house speciality, the shell-fish and crab are also good. The drunken chicken I'd avoid, totally tasteless.

The tables are a bit cramped together around the edges and when it's busy you notice it. There's also something a bit off-putting about eating in the middle of a shopping mall with the sides open to the main concourse.

Service is OK and prices quite reasonable for what it is although probably closer to restaurant prices but without the exclusiveness and privacy. I'd eat there again but not too often.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ninja_Sanook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

The food here is super delicious, but it's slightly more costly as it has more of a high class setting. They are most famous for their "la mian" (home-made noodles) and their 'xiao long pau" (small meat dumplings). If you're a seafood lover, do give their soft-shell crab with egg yolk a try. It's really finger-licking good!! This restaurant is a good place to have family dinners or gatherings with friends as it's got a nice ambience and delicious food!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamoca84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and nice decoration/atmosphere”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My partner and I had lunch there. We ordered a chicken dish and a beef dish (can not remember the names); but they were really delicious. Very nice service and decoration. What I did not like though, they would not ask whether I need a wet tissue or not. They will give it you and charge for it.

Most importantly, it is inside a nice shopping centre. So if you want to eat something good after the hard work or shopping, this is a good to go into.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shurid F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon-i also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
Bayan Lepas, Penang Island
 
Bayan Lepas, Penang Island
Penang Island, Penang
 

Been to Dragon-i? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing