We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can you ask for??”
Review of Hotel Himalaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Himalaya
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Nainital
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Yes! What more can you ask for!!! Excellent food, excellent service, excellent view!!! The hotel has got an amazing view of the Lake! The mall road is just next to the hotel! I visited with my friends and and had one of the most amazing hoildays ever... The staff is very polite and always ready to help you, rooms are neat and clean, you can also get a touch of class and history if you chose to stay at the heritage rooms. The hotel also has a basketball court with an amazing view , which is a great place to sit with your friends and spend your evening, with bonfire keeping you warm at the edge of the court. Overall an excellent place, tremendous value for money, and yes superbbbbb service :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravFreak5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 410 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

It is a pleasant hotel which very well fits in your budget. We stayed in a lake facing room on the top floor which provided a magnificent view of the Naini Lake. The service is very prompt.My room heater was not working properly, so I was provided a replacement within 5 minutes. They also provide extra quilt on request.

The hotel is just located at start of Mall Road. So Mall road is just 5 min walk from hotel. They also provide parking space for 2/4 wheeler. I would recommend to stay in this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank ApurvNigam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I went to Nainital with my parents, and they were very happy to see the room (Heritage family suite). The room was very big and comfortable. We could see all Nainital view from our room. The service was excellent and quality of food was very nice. The all over hotel was very well maintained. We could feel heritage experience over there.
I can all time suggest this hotel to my family and friends. :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PujaV4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were four of us (two couples) travelling and reached late night at Nainital where all shops seem to be shut. However, we did not find it difficult to locate this place as it is next to bus stand. The ride up to the hotel is kind of an adventure considering its steep road but fun,

We stayed in superior cottages. We had got the last two rooms on the floor. Hence, we had the best lake view from our rooms (be it day or night). The rooms were clean. The heater is not sufficient to warm the entire room however it is not bad considering Indian standards. You just need to place it close to your bed. The bathing water is for 24/7. The hot water takes minimum of an 45-60mins for heating so they recommend you to keep the switch on throughout the day.

The hospitality is very good. Must say the people are very courteous. We enjoyed food be in veg- non veg. Thumbs up for the preparation.

The hotel has recreational activities like Mini-Golf which is at nominal charges.

The mall road where you can shop or indulge in street food is very close. If you take your car then there is a toll tax everytime you pass. We walked the entire stretch and it was fun.

The attractions like Zoo, Temple, Boating, Garden Caves, Dorothy Top can be accessed easily from this place.

We had wonderful time here and loved our morning tea/breakfast at the balcony outside our rooms. We definitely coming back to Nainital to explore places like Bheem tal and Ranikhet and will be staying in this same hotel.

Room Tip: If you take a basic room, ensure you get the last two rooms in that row. It has a better view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snehakolambkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is an old property with easy access to the main market and the lake. The highlight of this property are the cottages up on the slope, The full length bay windows and the sit out with a small lawn and benches facing the lake make for a lovely experience especially at dawn and and at night. The view is outstanding.
However what mars the experience is the poor upkeep of the property and though the food is homely the service is extremely slow. The staff also acts aloof and unconcerned.

Room Tip: Choose this property only for the cottages, but be prepared for a somewhat wanting maintenance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBug2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The location and architecture of the hotel is quite interesting. It has a old world charm . We stayed in the suite room, a party of 5. The main complaint is service. It was quite cold and they provided a heater only after yelling and arguing at the reception. Initially they even lied that no heater is available even after seeing that we have a 2 year old with us, terrible attitude in my opinion. Toilets are quite dirty and same is true for towels and bed sheets and pillow cases. The food is reasonably priced and tasty.

Room Tip: Going by the other reviews may be the lake view rooms are only worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arpan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in the hotel around a years back. The location is good. markets and sight seeing is pretty close. but our overall expereince was not that great. Below average food, no heater facility, although there is fire place, which is only for show. In the night we had some visitors in the room (Mr and Mrs Rats). Which is definately a huge dissapointment. No hot water facility. we avoided the hotel as much as we could. For the price that we were paying its definately not worth it. No receptionist, thus help desk remains empty most of time.

Please you would get much better hotels at the same price. And point to remember ensure you have 24 hour hot water facility as well as heater in room which is a must at places like nainital.

Avoid the place, choose it as your last option, even during peak season you will get decent places. so do not worry

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashmitha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for reviewing our place. It seems you did not enjoy your stay with us, Nainital gets too cold in winters maybe thats one of the reasons, heaters are provided free of cost in all our rooms, the fire places as you mentioned are there because our heritage wing was built in 1918 but we have closed the fire places as we were facing a lot of maintenance issues. And also there is this fear of burning the hotel down, Infact last year one of our guest did burn one of our room with a heater so we have to be ultra careful with these things for the safety of our hotel and specially our guests. Hot water is provided between 7 to 11 in the morning not throughout the day that is the hotel's policy. Its unfortunate that did not enjoy your stay with us, we have learned a lot from your review and are improving our services, so now we have employed five people at the reception.

We have noted your suggestions though and will take them into account.

regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 51 in Nainital
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#29 of 51 in Nainital
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#19 of 51 in Nainital
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Nainital - Bhawanipur Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.5 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#15 of 51 in Nainital
79 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#5 of 51 in Nainital
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Himalaya

Address: Near Bus Stand | Tallital, Nainital 236002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nainital
Price Range: $37 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Himalaya 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himalaya Hotel is a landmark hotel in Nainital, running since 1918 it has been constantly refurbished. Himalaya now has two wings, the heritage wing which has very spacious Heritage Rooms and the new wing and cottages which has Dlx Lake Facing Rooms. Our view is unparalleled in Nainital and with services to match it is a good hotel at a good price. We also have Himalaya Mini Golf in the hotel premises, it is one of the complimentary services we provide to our guests apart from parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalaya Hotel Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing