We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost heritage”
Review of Hotel Himalaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Himalaya
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Nainital
Indore, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lost heritage”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is an old property with easy access to the main market and the lake. The highlight of this property are the cottages up on the slope, The full length bay windows and the sit out with a small lawn and benches facing the lake make for a lovely experience especially at dawn and and at night. The view is outstanding.
However what mars the experience is the poor upkeep of the property and though the food is homely the service is extremely slow. The staff also acts aloof and unconcerned.

Room Tip: Choose this property only for the cottages, but be prepared for a somewhat wanting maintenance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBug2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    179
    83
    32
    25
See reviews for
212
121
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The location and architecture of the hotel is quite interesting. It has a old world charm . We stayed in the suite room, a party of 5. The main complaint is service. It was quite cold and they provided a heater only after yelling and arguing at the reception. Initially they even lied that no heater is available even after seeing that we have a 2 year old with us, terrible attitude in my opinion. Toilets are quite dirty and same is true for towels and bed sheets and pillow cases. The food is reasonably priced and tasty.

Room Tip: Going by the other reviews may be the lake view rooms are only worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arpan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nainital hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in the hotel around a years back. The location is good. markets and sight seeing is pretty close. but our overall expereince was not that great. Below average food, no heater facility, although there is fire place, which is only for show. In the night we had some visitors in the room (Mr and Mrs Rats). Which is definately a huge dissapointment. No hot water facility. we avoided the hotel as much as we could. For the price that we were paying its definately not worth it. No receptionist, thus help desk remains empty most of time.

Please you would get much better hotels at the same price. And point to remember ensure you have 24 hour hot water facility as well as heater in room which is a must at places like nainital.

Avoid the place, choose it as your last option, even during peak season you will get decent places. so do not worry

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashmitha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for reviewing our place. It seems you did not enjoy your stay with us, Nainital gets too cold in winters maybe thats one of the reasons, heaters are provided free of cost in all our rooms, the fire places as you mentioned are there because our heritage wing was built in 1918 but we have closed the fire places as we were facing a lot of maintenance issues. And also there is this fear of burning the hotel down, Infact last year one of our guest did burn one of our room with a heater so we have to be ultra careful with these things for the safety of our hotel and specially our guests. Hot water is provided between 7 to 11 in the morning not throughout the day that is the hotel's policy. Its unfortunate that did not enjoy your stay with us, we have learned a lot from your review and are improving our services, so now we have employed five people at the reception.

We have noted your suggestions though and will take them into account.

regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Hello team

We are currently staying in hotel and I am very disappointed with the service.
We booked six rooms for 2 days and we are about 15 people. We are highly dissatisfied and hurt with the way your staff has behaved with us.

To be more specific I would like to quote the incident.
In our group we have 4 ladies with infants and they had to keep waiting for dinner and kids slept without food which was unexpected and unethical. Ladies requested hotel staff to serve at least kids with dinner but there was no response. When we complained about that hotel staff was not at all bothered and manager Mr. Rajesh was abusive while conversation on phone. When we requested him to meet us personally and resolve the issues he upfront denied. (Seems he was drunk).
This is highly unexpected, unethical and dissapointing where you people are in hospitality industry and so many people have provided good feedback about your hotel.
We surely are very disappointed and would refrain from suggesting people to stay her.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikunj1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Sir,

We are extremely apologetic for the inconvenience caused to you and your family in Himalaya Hotel, food got delayed and I as a parent can totally understand the distress it causes. However our manager was called at 11 in the night by you, by that time he had already gone home ( which is not close to the hotel and he has to walk to get there) and everybody deserves some off time. Maybe he was drunk maybe he wasnt, but the point is that he was not drunk in the hotel and what he does in his place is his personal choice, Himalaya Hotel should not be answerable for that atleast. Having said that I still feel very terrible about the food delay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Best Hotel near the lake. I have been with my family group in March - 2014 & selected 2 Lake view rooms & 3 Deluxe rooms. The management is very committed for services, 10/10 marks for cleanliness, food quality, quantity and presentation is very good & compete to star category expensive hotels. Hotel owners specially take interest in guest services and comfort. 100% recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very clean but lake view room is best for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeemamanojSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thanks for writing such kind words for Himalaya Hotel, such praise keeps us going in the pursuit of keeping our guest happy. Yes, the lake view rooms have a great view of the Naini lake and people enjoy their stay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with you entire family. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

It was really great experience to stay at himalaya. Especially the lake view rooms. And another advantage is it's proximity to mall road. Service was also great. Food when prepared on order was good but at buffet it was ordinary

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Puneet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thanks for taking time out to pen you thoughts on Himalaya Hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish to see you again. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Hotel Himalya was an awesome experience the view from the hotel is awesome and also the staff is really helpful. food is awesome cherished every moment.. Also the hotel has a mini golf section which is really entertaining and the restaurant is furnished very well with lot of antiques which makes the dining a special experience.

Room Tip: Select the room at the entrance on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your kind thoughts on Himalaya Hotel, and I am glad that somebody finally mentioned our restaurant and the old heritage pictures. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay in Himalaya Hotel. We hope to see soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 50 in Nainital
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#32 of 50 in Nainital
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#20 of 50 in Nainital
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#15 of 50 in Nainital
72 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#37 of 50 in Nainital
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Himalaya

Property: Hotel Himalaya
Address: Near Bus Stand | Tallital, Nainital 236002, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Himalaya 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himalaya Hotel is a landmark hotel in Nainital, running since 1918 it has been constantly refurbished. Himalaya now has two wings, the heritage wing which has very spacious Heritage Rooms and the new wing and cottages which has Dlx Lake Facing Rooms. Our view is unparalleled in Nainital and with services to match it is a good hotel at a good price. We also have Himalaya Mini Golf in the hotel premises, it is one of the complimentary services we provide to our guests apart from parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalaya Hotel Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing