We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service”
Review of Hotel Himalaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Himalaya
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Nainital
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Superb Service”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Hotel Himalya was an awesome experience the view from the hotel is awesome and also the staff is really helpful. food is awesome cherished every moment.. Also the hotel has a mini golf section which is really entertaining and the restaurant is furnished very well with lot of antiques which makes the dining a special experience.

Room Tip: Select the room at the entrance on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your kind thoughts on Himalaya Hotel, and I am glad that somebody finally mentioned our restaurant and the old heritage pictures. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay in Himalaya Hotel. We hope to see soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    177
    83
    32
    25
See reviews for
209
119
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashik, India
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Really Situated like as Himalayan because it is difficult to climb the hill without expert driver or hotel staff.

Hotel view is good and near to mall road (happening place in nainital) but it is situated at the end of mall road. Staff is cooperative and always smiling face whether they do help you or not. You will get hot running water in morning, Food quality is good, cleaning is good. They do provide dinner in room.

This hotel has two wings, please ask for new rooms. Please avoid 102 situated in front of Reception and above parking. Reception is always busy with phone and parking is busy till late night. Some time you will think that you are on Railway/Bus depot enquiry counter with continuous phone rings and Vehicle sounds. Room next to us was assumed to be use by staff only.

When asked for cleaning never bother to replace Glasses, Towels, Bathroom amenities. We always need to asked them for three four times. Then also few times we got wet towels only. They don’t prove RO purified water and room heater unless you ask many times.

Good LCD TV but very poor cable connection.
They forgot to give us our ordered cake which was reception; which they found at the time of check out

They don’t provide accommodation for driver , it is already difficult to drive in this area.

We have done booking about two months before so expecting better rooms .

They can improve with amenities and additional reception staff and most importantly need to improve hospitality.

Room Tip: This hotel has two wings, please ask for new rooms situated on first and second floor. Please avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank antiqueabhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thanks for penning your thought on Himalaya Hotel, your review has helped us iron out a couple of service issues, we had to make a couple of changes in the hotel for better service. It took me a while to revert to your review as we were trying to fix the issues mentioned in your review. I hope you will have better stay with us incase you choose Himalaya Hotel again. Thank you, really.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

It was a great experience . The hospitality was first class and the view is just amazing from the room I was staying . The like the food and nainital gave a good experience in trying out new food . Definitely would like to come back and stay here .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavilionNainital, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Sir,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Himalaya Hotel, hoping to see you again at Himalaya.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for 2 Days i.e 8th and 9th 2012 March in a Lake-View room (C-3) of this hotel which gave us an excellent view of the Naina Lake right in front of our room.The view of the Lake was the best part of our room. We enjoyed the rain and also a snowfall in the evening on the day of arrival, which was almost after 20 years (snowfall in March). The food served in the room service is also tasty and the boys working in the Hotel are very polite and soft spoken.
I will love to visit this Hotel again if the give me the same Lake-View room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharmanidhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavilionNainital, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Ma'am,

Thanks for staying with us, I am glad you enjoyed you stay at Himalaya Hotel. Hope to host you again sometime soon.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I traveled to nanital and opt Himalaya Hotel through some travel agent. I must say, it's a perfect place in term of comfortable stay, Very Good finger licking food and the view from room number 202...Wow. Although it was my business trip, but surely next time i will come personally and will opt to stay the same hotel.

Keep the good work guys. thanks alot for your cooperation. It was too cool to stay at your hotel.

Regards
Sandeep Bist
Delhi

Room Tip: Choose the Room 202, to view best of nanital beauty
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Sandeep,

Thanks for writing such positive comments for Himalaya Hotel, our lake facing rooms do enjoy a great view of the Naini lake. We hope to see you soon at Himalaya again. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raipur, India
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for 2 Days i.e 26th and 27th February in a Lake-View room (C-3) of this hotel which gave us an excellent view of the Naina Lake right in front of our room.The view of the Lake was the best part of our room. We enjoyed the rains and also a snowfall on the morning we left the Hotel i.e on 28th Feb.
I am not sure about the other parts of the Hotel but our room was nice.Bathroom was clean with the availability of hot water.The heater was also working fine.
The food served in the room service is also tasty and the boys working in the Hotel are very polite and soft spoken.
The only complaint/suggestion I want to make the Hotel is that please replace the bedsheets/pillow covers and towels as they look old and a bit stained.
I will love to visit this Hotel again if the give me the same Lake-View room.

Room Tip: Please choose the Lake-View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anjan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Your review gave us hope, thanks for writing such positive comments on Himalaya Hotel. Other parts of the hotel are also as good, but the cottages do offer a great view of the lake. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Himalaya. We wish to see you again at Himalaya. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Himalaya for 2 days during off season. the manager was very reluctant to give any discount or add complimentary breakfast. Though i managed the same after meeting the owner of the hotel. I took the heritage room. The room was good but the behavior of the staff was very rude. The bathroom was not upto the mark and v had to shift to another room after one day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pankajkansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

I remember meeting you, I hope you enjoyed your breakfast. The staff was actually reluctant to offer free breakfast on their own as they are not authorised to do so, I am sorry if that came across as rude behaviour to you. I am glad you liked your room and the decor, the bathrooms in some rooms were a little jaded so we have decided to change them. Infact the renovation is going on right now. We do take our guests feedback seriously. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#12 of 49 in Nainital
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#28 of 49 in Nainital
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#19 of 49 in Nainital
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#15 of 49 in Nainital
70 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#34 of 49 in Nainital
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Himalaya

Property: Hotel Himalaya
Address: Near Bus Stand | Tallital, Nainital 236002, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Himalaya 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himalaya Hotel is a landmark hotel in Nainital, running since 1918 it has been constantly refurbished. Himalaya now has two wings, the heritage wing which has very spacious Heritage Rooms and the new wing and cottages which has Dlx Lake Facing Rooms. Our view is unparalleled in Nainital and with services to match it is a good hotel at a good price. We also have Himalaya Mini Golf in the hotel premises, it is one of the complimentary services we provide to our guests apart from parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalaya Hotel Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing