We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay with a small complaint/suggestion”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Himalaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Himalaya
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Nainital
Raipur, India
Level Contributor
268 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“Nice Stay with a small complaint/suggestion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Me and my wife stayed here for 2 Days i.e 26th and 27th February in a Lake-View room (C-3) of this hotel which gave us an excellent view of the Naina Lake right in front of our room.The view of the Lake was the best part of our room. We enjoyed the rains and also a snowfall on the morning we left the Hotel i.e on 28th Feb.
I am not sure about the other parts of the Hotel but our room was nice.Bathroom was clean with the availability of hot water.The heater was also working fine.
The food served in the room service is also tasty and the boys working in the Hotel are very polite and soft spoken.
The only complaint/suggestion I want to make the Hotel is that please replace the bedsheets/pillow covers and towels as they look old and a bit stained.
I will love to visit this Hotel again if the give me the same Lake-View room.

Room Tip: Please choose the Lake-View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anjan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Your review gave us hope, thanks for writing such positive comments on Himalaya Hotel. Other parts of the hotel are also as good, but the cottages do offer a great view of the lake. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Himalaya. We wish to see you again at Himalaya. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    169
    81
    32
    24
See reviews for
201
116
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Himalaya for 2 days during off season. the manager was very reluctant to give any discount or add complimentary breakfast. Though i managed the same after meeting the owner of the hotel. I took the heritage room. The room was good but the behavior of the staff was very rude. The bathroom was not upto the mark and v had to shift to another room after one day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pankajkansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

I remember meeting you, I hope you enjoyed your breakfast. The staff was actually reluctant to offer free breakfast on their own as they are not authorised to do so, I am sorry if that came across as rude behaviour to you. I am glad you liked your room and the decor, the bathrooms in some rooms were a little jaded so we have decided to change them. Infact the renovation is going on right now. We do take our guests feedback seriously. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for the last week. It was an amazing experience and my kids had a lovely time. Even though the Hotel is in the busy part of the town, but once you get in, it takes you away from the bustle and noise of the city. We stayed at the cottages higher up and the hotel had taken special care considering I have two young children. The staff is friendly and the owners took special care to make nice itinerary for us and keep up busy for the week. They even packed lunches for us every day for our picnics and that was very welcome considering we were quite skeptical to eat out with children. I am looking forward to coming again soon.

Room Tip: The Cottages afford a lovely view of the Lake and are very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Me n my wife stayed here for 3 days .the hotel is located in a prime location.just in front of the naini lake.view was great from our room.we had one day sightseeing in nainital.next day we went to corbett national park for a dhikala day safari (pre booked canter safari online). next day we had lake tour.planty of things to do in nainital.para gliding,horse riding,boat riding etc,.room service in hotel was good too.food was ok.overall it was fun trip

Room Tip: the more talked about lake view rooms (c1-4) have a corridoor like open space in front,which disrupt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gourahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for appreciating our efforts to keep our guests happy. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Himalaya Hotel. Hope to see you again at Himalaya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 4 days and their service was toooooo bad. We went in the peak winter season which was also off season period in Nainital. Even though the temperature was at -2 degree they could not provide hot water at all times and a room heater in poor working condition was also provided only on request . The behavior of some of the staff also was rude and the room service was also bad. Food provided was excellent though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view preferably in ground floor or first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meenalm35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

Yes it got very cold in Nainital, and heaters just weren't enough to keep the rooms warm. We are equipped to cater to guests but this winter like I said were harsh. No excuses but we just coudnt control the weather. But I am glad you liked the food. Extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nainital hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

not a three star property from any angle as promoted by yatra.com portal.
interiors are primitive and jaded.
heating is very poor esp for cold weather.
lighting is very dull.
the room shown to us had water seepage in the wall.
literally shivering there in the cold weather so much so that we had to change the hotel.
looks like no renovation done for years at a stretch.
strictly not recommended for couple and families.
Students in groups may consider it to cut costs.else avoid it.
Even local population had a negative opinion about it.
If snowing around, climb to the hotel is risky and slippery.

Room Tip: try the most premium room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Sir,

I will suggest you to first check any hotel's website before booking through online company be it yatra or expedia or anyone. No where in our website do we claim to be a 3 star property, we are not that had we been we woudnt be charging such low rates for our hotel. I remember specifically that you didnt stay with us at all, you were refunded within half an hour of arrival so basically you cant comment on the services as you never stayed with us technically, I am sure you didnt give enough time to the heater to warm the room. And if it snows, it snows we can do nothing about it, how can we control the weather and the after effects of it ???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The first and most Important thing for this hotel is its Location and View from the hotel. Its located in very side of beautiful Naini Lake . So we got a excellent View of Naini Lake and the clouded mountains . It was nice to be there. great service, great food. .............. highly recommended for those who seeks good service with great view of the city and within the size of their pocket..!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemonta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavilionNainital, Owner at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thanks for writing such positive comments for HImalaya Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#26 of 47 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dynasty Resort
Dynasty Resort
#23 of 47 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
0.3 mi away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#28 of 47 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Himalaya

Property: Hotel Himalaya
Address: Near Bus Stand | Tallital, Nainital 236002, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Himalaya 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himalaya Hotel is a landmark hotel in Nainital, running since 1918 it has been constantly refurbished. Himalaya now has two wings, the heritage wing which has very spacious Heritage Rooms and the new wing and cottages which has Dlx Lake Facing Rooms. Our view is unparalleled in Nainital and with services to match it is a good hotel at a good price. We also have Himalaya Mini Golf in the hotel premises, it is one of the complimentary services we provide to our guests apart from parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalaya Hotel Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing