We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short stay at Nainitaal”
Review of Hotel Himalaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Himalaya
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Nainital
Reviewed September 28, 2013

They have tried their best to renovate and maintain the old property. Cleanliness, very nice location, cooperative and courteous staff, good restaurant are some of the plus points. A steep parking, small rooms and small washrooms are some drawbacks which can cause a setback to your mood especially if you are travelling in groups. However, excellent location can help you if you like solitude and enjoys sight through windows. Overall a satisfactory trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Arun Kr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavilionNainital, General Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear sir,

Thanks for sharing your views, I hope you will choose to stay in himalaya hotel again for your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 421 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

We book this hotel through make my trip and found this just average. The rooms are small, bathrooms are not clean.The worst thing is there is no privacy at all. The other guest knocking the door. In our two days of stay it was so much disturbing. There was a group of students they are singing songs for late nights, talking loudly, laughing loudly, it was very much disturbing. One good thing about this is the FOOD. The food was really nice. Overall they have to take care of the privacy of there guests.

Room Tip: Rooms are not so clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FDR_Jaisalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavilionNainital, General Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Sir,

We do try to give separate wings to our groups and other guests but sometimes it becomes difficult to separate the two. Keeping your case in mind we have devised a plan to keep the other unruly guest in check. I hope that will work. The hotel tries its best to provide services to guests. I see that you enjoyed the food at hotel. Our heritage suite rooms are much bigger in comparison to the dlx lake facing rooms, which enjoy a fantastic view of the lake. Thanks for the other suggestions also, it always helps to get the right feed back and channelize it to improve the establishment. I hope you will choose Himalaya hotel for your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Himalaya, yes we had a great trip to Nainital, courtesy goes to Himalaya. Hotel is almost touching the feet of Naini lake, with awesome view, delicious food, helping staff on a call, obviously mini golf for nice photo shoot background, centrally located near all the attractions. Nainital is fairly a great destination to go for and Himalaya is a good choice to stay. We spent 3 days 2 night good room service and amenities plus 24 hours running hot water. My advice go for it, lake view rooms are great.

Room Tip: C1 C2 C4 Lake facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavilionNainital, General Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

A heartfelt "thank you" from the entire staff and management of Himalaya Hotel. we look forward to hosting you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

It was really a Very good experience to stay at hotel Himalaya.The Hotel gives scenic views of the lake and has a very beautiful lawn and terrace sitting.The hotel staff was very cooperative.Hotel Himalaya offers a memorable dining experience to its guests.The hotel has a very beautiful structure and lots of greenery around.very good and clean food.The hotel was excellent with everything neat and tidy and pleasantly kept. Furniture and amenities in room were new and attractive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harsh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavilionNainital, General Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for writing such encouraging words for our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our services. Looking forward to host your again.

Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

An excellent place to stay and completly worth of money.....easy to approach as very near to Nainital bus stand with a superb lake view.....had a pleasant stay and enjoyed yumilicious food and to top it up the service quality really amazed me....would highly recommend....anyone visiting nainital should definately visit and and make their trip memorable.......

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neha g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavilionNainital, General Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

A heartfelt "thank you" from the entire staff and management of Himalaya Hotel. we look forward to hosting you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Hotel Himalaya is a good place to spend your vacation. Location of the hotel is excellent. The place gives complete view of the entire lake. We had a relaxing stay. Very peaceful and awesome view. Good and helpful staff service. Good food at the restaurant. I specially liked the golf space, which was free of charge. I would love to go back and visit the place again. It was a good decision to select the place. Rooms were clean and spacious and gave a real nice view. I got value for my money. If you are looking for a hotel, then it’s the best option to go for. We had a memorable trip and the choice of the hotel made it better. If you are looking for a quiet and good place in Nainital, then this is the one. I would recommend this place to all my friends and family.

Room Tip: Select Lake facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kanuG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, General Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

A heartfelt "thank you" from the entire staff and management of Himalaya Hotel. we look forward to hosting you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in the hotel Himaliya from 7 July to 12 July in the room no C 1,C 2, and C 3 the view from the room is excellent. First of all I would like to share with u my experience about rooms. Rooms was old but well maintained. Cleanliness was good. We have taken MAP plan because we have few small chieldern s with us so it was not easy for us to go to mall road to eat food. The quality and quantity of food was very good and there was no limits for food. U can order anything they can fulfill ur need. We require hot water for our small baby daily but the hotel staff never denied any time. The hotel staff was very good specially Mr. Jeet Ji . He is old employ of the hotel I think he is star performer of the hotel. He has taken care of our family . Overall the hotel we can say Good value for money .we wish to come back again to this hotel .For improvement we can say improve few old rooms only otherwise we rate 4 out of 5 . We wish others to come there and enjoy ur holidays in calm atmosphere. Yogesh Sharma amritsar

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yogesh_aspira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveladdict36, General Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thanks for appreciating our hotel, we are glad you had a good stay at Himalaya Hotel. Our lake facing rooms enjoy one of the best view of the Nainital lake and the cottages specially add to the charm of staying in Nainital. We will be happy to be your host again in Nainital.

Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 51 in Nainital
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#18 of 51 in Nainital
70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#15 of 51 in Nainital
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sterling Nainital
Sterling Nainital
#4 of 51 in Nainital
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#20 of 51 in Nainital
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Krishna, The Mall
Hotel Krishna, The Mall
#17 of 51 in Nainital
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Himalaya

Address: Near Bus Stand | Tallital, Nainital 236002, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Nainital
Price Range: $36 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Himalaya 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himalaya Hotel is a landmark hotel in Nainital, running since 1918 it has been constantly refurbished. Himalaya now has two wings, the heritage wing which has very spacious Heritage Rooms and the new wing and cottages which has Dlx Lake Facing Rooms. Our view is unparalleled in Nainital and with services to match it is a good hotel at a good price. We also have Himalaya Mini Golf in the hotel premises, it is one of the complimentary services we provide to our guests apart from parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalaya Hotel Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing