We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Economy Hotel, Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Himalaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Himalaya
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Nainital
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Economy Hotel, Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

For the price paid, you cant expect a better quality. Sweet interiors with a feeling of cozyness.
Loved the Mini Golf course at the hotel.
The food is homely and prepared fresh.
Staff extremely courteous. We have been regular to this hotel over the past few years and it has never let us down.
They have recently gone through some refurbishing.
The staff was accommodating to an extent that tey let us check in at 9 in the morning at checkout 12 noon.
The hotel provides shuttle service to the Zoo as well. Its a must visit if you are with kids.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with Lake view or the ones on the 2nd level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShikhaPrasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    169
    81
    32
    24
See reviews for
201
116
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in the first week of July, booked 5 rooms for a tariff of Rs 4500 including breakfast and dinner. Not a luxurious property but have to say the stay was acceptable, and all of us had great time. We had garden facing rooms all together, which enhanced our experience. The only time we used to be in rooms was the time we had to sleep and dress up, from tea in the morning to lunch in the afternoon and drinks and cards in the evening we were all over the garden. Garden facing rooms meant the group not being confined to one room and kids having a playground for themselves. Also there was a activity room and an area with swings for kids,

The rooms were large with a sitting room attached to them, bathroom were of substantial size. Hotel had a private parking behind the premises and in front too.

Requested for pick up from the mall once where the driver was precisely on time.

Breakfast consisted of Bhatura chana, fruits, cereals, toast, pan fried eggs, yoghurt and eggs could to be ordered to your choice. Tea and coffee was on free flow. Staff was courteous and looked after us well.
Hotel was located slightly away from the mall, but it was a pleasant walk to the mall. Hot water was from 6 to 12 but could be extended if requested. The owner belongs to hotel background, completed his hotel management studies from Switzerland and was polite to talk to, the spouse could be seen taking efforts too to ensure the standards were being followed by staff.

All in all after getting a feedback from our group, everyone was satisfied and had a lovely time.

I have lived in London for 12 years & have stayed in hotels all over the world. Must say no hotel is perfect, all hotels cut corners to save money unless you stay at the hotels in park lane London.

Would definitely recommend to this hotel and will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GauravParwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

The room service is terreble. The room size so small and suffocated. When visited the Hotel after advance bookings, the rooms offered were filthy and terreble.
Finally after we were offered rooms in hotel pavillion for one day which is alot better with good staff, good room service and very good food whereas on other hand this all is a miss in Hotel Himalya. The other day we were shifted to Himalya hotel but the rooms which were offered were very small in size. Bed sheet was very dirty . no water in Taps of wash room and when i complained staff told they cant do anything . On and all a terreble experience in Hotel Himalya.

Dear Manager and Owner Please intervene to improve as hotel is very suitably located but services mentioned above certainly needs improvement

Room Tip: Better choose only lake view deluxe rooms on above floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pankaj_1981_1_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Due to some complains by guests we have appointed a good chef for the kitchen to give better taste and faster service.WE are also planning toinstall an inhouse laundry as with outsourcing we are not able to maintain our standards.SoRry to disappoint. We gave upgrade rooms in Pavilion(balcony or suites) to the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nainital hotels

Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hotel Himalaya, Nanital --- I visited Nanital along with my family in June 2012 and stayed at Hotel Himalaya.... Situated at the prime location...on the starting of Mall Road...So it means less crowdy as compared to Hotels situated on Mall Road... Very Neat & Clean...Food Quality upto the mark.... Rooms and Bathroom are very clean...Go for Luxury Room with Lake View or Cottages... On my next visit I will definately stay again at Hotel Himalaya only..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mskairon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
thank you for for your compliments. these comments keep us motivated.I also thanks people for their complains as it helps us be better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

we checked in on 27 June 12 and we were given room no c1 which was small room for our family of four the bed linen was very dirty and was changed only when we complained, more over there is hot water problem in these c cluster room as they are separate from main hotel bldg. then we requested the shift of room and we were allotted 102 it was also lake facing room and bigger one situated in main bldg so no problem of hot water as they have running hot water there the staff at reception was good you can ask for Mr Gopal for any services and he will help you out.the hotel is at good location as we need to walk for 5 min. and we are on mall road .The food is good but there is no bar in hotel so one need to carry his own stuff.We took the breakfast and dinner package and the food was good although the variety was very limited .the service is very slow if you order food at room.they do not have tandoor items everyday many items in menu were not available .But ate end the hotel is okay if you do not get any option to stay .

Room Tip: take room in main building like 102,101,or heritage ones they are big rooms and in main hotel bldg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhishek j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

feel like room service was bad and not very timely rest all was ok. rooms were also good but a little cleanliness is still needed. hot water comes only for few time in the morning and not every time therefore i think this can be a problem for a person staying in there in october month.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelteialjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
We have appointed a new head chef in the kitchen and also increase our staff to give better room service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Hi, We planned a vacation to nainital for four days. We visited various hotels through website and finally decided to stay at Pavilion . When I. Contacted the Pavilion Hotel guys ,they told me that their hotel is fully booked and they have another hotel called Hotel Himalaya and asked us to visit the website. We saw their site and it appeared to be good on the website . So we continued with the booking by contacting the hotel staff.

Bad Experience no ; 1

The hotel staff were not ready to divulge any information related to room size, food or taxi services and were only interested in booking rooms. They pretended as if they were the busiest guys in town. We finally settled for 2 nos heritage rooms, which I think should be 20 feet * 16 feet size with an attached bathroom and sofa set etc.

We made 50% payment to the hotel through NEFT (Electronic transfer) and sent them the official confirmation of payment through email atleast one week in advance. But there was no response from the hotel management , whether they had received the payment or not. We constantly telephoned them to ensure that they received the payment. After hammering them repeatedly, they confirmed the receipt of payment and ensured half heartedly that our 2no heritage rooms were booked.

Bad Experience no: 2

We booked our taxi from khatgodam to nainital through a private taxi operator from khatgodam and he promptly reached our coach with a placard with name display and we started uploading our luggage in the taxi.
And proceeded for |Nainital

Suddenly , we started receiving frantic calls from unknown people mentioning that Himalaya hotel has sent a taxi to pick us up. When we told them that we had not booked any taxi through the Hotel, those guys started abusing us over mobiole.

Bad Experience. No :3

Upon reaching the hotel reception , we were told that they have no heritage rooms available and as they had given to some other guest by mistake and started persuading us to settle in rooms just half the size of heritage rooms. When we told them to book in Pavilion hotel, they refused .

We were looking completely helpless in an unfamiliar destination sorrounded by stupid and over smart hotel staff whose attitude is only to make money for their boss.

We were not even served welcome drink upon arrival |( included in the package)

Atlast we were forced to stay in the small rooms ( half size of heritage room) , poorly managed property with unclean toilets , leaking water pipes, so wet bathrooms and bed covers.

Even door latches were not working , we got it repaired by their room service.

I have got photographs of everything with me.

Bad experience no : 3

The rooms does not have AC or Fan. The rooms gets stuffy with hot air due to humidity. If we open the windows by mistake, there are plenty of flies and mosquitoes ready to spoil your sleep.

We requested hotel staff for a fan , which they readily promised to offer. But that promise was not fulfilled till we checked out .

******************************************************************************************

WE KEPT OUR COOL AND PREFERRED NOT TO FIGHT OR ARGUE WITH THE HOTEL MANAGEMENT BY POINTING OUT THE PROBLEMS AND SPOIL OUR VACATION WHICH WAS SO PRECIOUS AND OFCOURSE QUIET EXPENSIVE )

Bad Experience No :4

The dining halls are fully equipped with flies and nothing to control them. THERE ARE MORE LIKELY CHANCES THAT FEW FLIES MUST HAVE GOT INTO THE FOOD BUFFET ALSO.

OUR EXPERIENCE OUTSIDE THE HOTEL WAS FANTASTIC. GOOD PEOPLE, WE ENJOYED BOATING, WALKING ON THE MALL ROAD AND OTHER PICNIC SPOTS.

EVERYTHING SEEMED NICE AND GOOD OUTSIDE. AS WE WANTED TO STAY AWAY FROM THE HOTEL STRESS.

This is a true experience
We have all evidences and photos associated with all above events

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shiva-subramaniam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Himalaya, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Point 1 the reservation looks into the mailing of the confirmation voucher which is emailed to the guest only after the amount is visible in the hotel's account .the account dept informs the reservation which might take some time.
Point 2 the guest had requested the hotel staff for a taxi otherwise why will the hotel send a cab.the guest even apologised for his mistake and paid the taxi guy organised by the hotel.
Point 3 We had upgraded the guest to Dix lake facing room and showed them the heritage suite which we where ready to shift them the next day.but they liked the room and stayed there for another day .
Point 4 if they didn't like the room and the hotel why did they request for an extension of 1 day. The hotel accepted their request and extended their stay for another day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#26 of 47 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Dynasty Resort
Dynasty Resort
#23 of 47 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
0.3 mi away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#28 of 47 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Himalaya

Property: Hotel Himalaya
Address: Near Bus Stand | Tallital, Nainital 236002, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Himalaya 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himalaya Hotel is a landmark hotel in Nainital, running since 1918 it has been constantly refurbished. Himalaya now has two wings, the heritage wing which has very spacious Heritage Rooms and the new wing and cottages which has Dlx Lake Facing Rooms. Our view is unparalleled in Nainital and with services to match it is a good hotel at a good price. We also have Himalaya Mini Golf in the hotel premises, it is one of the complimentary services we provide to our guests apart from parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Himalaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Himalaya Hotel Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing