We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balrampur House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balrampur House
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nice place to hide out. Good services. Pleasant mornings and can enjoy complete natural beauty. Heritage House, so don't expect modern look in toilet. Heaters inefficient for a big room. Quality food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank Amit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    49
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
84
27
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Plus points were the large well equipped rooms, balconies where you can enjoy the sun going down and the very helpful staff. Minus point was the hotel was unheated and the nights were very cold. We were given a heater, which couldn't heat the very large room up, but we kept warm by huddling round it. the restaurant didn't seem to well patronised, so we ate in the town

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here with a group friends, though we were informed about the place being an erstwhile king's rest house but the moment we checked in there was electricity tripped! The next 5 minutes before the power of restored..for me it was adventurous but my other friends were scared to death :-))

That was on funnier side, The place BIG, big rooms, beds are also old style and so are bathrooms but it gives you peak view of what kind of places kings/queens used to live!

Food was alright and so was service!

They did pay heed to every thing we asked for, I would like to stay at this place again !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We booked three rooms for 3 days of stay and as per our request we were assigned first floor rooms which are obviously better. The rooms are from the royal age, with many of the furnitures dating back to the age of the Maharajas, yet they are in a spic and span condition. The wooden floor adds to comfort and charm. The rooms were comfy and cosy during the chilling nights. Heaters were provided to add to the comfort.
The bathrooms are huge and very cleanwith all bauth tub and large counter basins. Only scope of improvement is 24hr running hot water to be made available and cleaning of the bathroom once a day. This is only downside that the room/ bathroom was not cleaned during our stay.
The best part is the food - You name it you get it...a wide range of options and you will not certainly be able to taste all th items although each one is finger licking good. Even they made customized dishes for my little son.
The lawn is a delight to hang out in the sun with breathtaking views at the backdrop. The pick up and drop from the Mall is prompt.
All in all a real pleasure to stay here. Surely my choice for my next visit to Nainital. Great value for money and most certainly refer to all.

Room Tip: First floor rooms especially front facing are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Somnath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

On first glance, the hotel looks like a heritage property in need of better upkeep. But stay for a while and you will start to like the place. The rooms are LARGE and well furnished with some period looks furniture. The bath is also large and comfortable. The food is the high point - they cook really great food. Service is great and the staff are very helpful and quite terrific. The hotel is about 2Km away from the mall road but the hotel makes up by arranging complimentary drops and pickups from the mall (upto 8PM only). It is a heritage property and you will find dated paintings adorning the walls. A great place to stay for 2N or longer.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sudhmoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I travelled to Nainital with my wife on 21st October 2012. We drove down from Delhi via Moradabad,Rampur,Haldwani, Kathgodam, Nainital route which is scenic and the roads are excellent. We reached Balrampur House by 2 in the afternoon.
Mr.Gajendar, the manager, was cheerful and greeted us and gave us rooms immediately. Though the rooms were cold as there was no centralised AC, but they were courteous enough to provide us with heaters and extra blankets to keep us warm. Food was home made style, served hot and tasty to eat. This is a heritage hotel and located at a good spot in Nainital facing the hills. The hotel also provides free pickup and drop to masjid road (walkable distance to Mall road) which is helpful. I definitely recommend this place for stay to tourists!
Probably they should add a bar menu also in their list, besides this it is a great place to stay.

Mr Gajendar and the staff were really courtoeus and cheerful. Thank you for making our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanjiv_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allahabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

It’s an old heritage property converted into a hotel. Got huge rooms, nice well maintained gardens and some good food. Hotel staff is very courteous and try their level best to make you feel at home. The property is not very expensive and it is ideal if you are visiting it with a family having kids and elderly people, gives them lot of room to enjoy.

This property doesn’t come with a view to the lake but it makes up with green mountains all around it. One must try picking rooms on the first floor.

We picked up 3 rooms at this property and some of the washrooms were little smelly, since this is an old building washrooms need some renovation

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhas_Mittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
0.3 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vikram Vintage Inn
Vikram Vintage Inn
#4 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#11 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nainital - Bhawanipur Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balrampur House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balrampur House

Property: Balrampur House
Address: Mallital, Nainital 263001, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balrampur House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BALRAMPUR HOUSE RESORT AND HOTEL IN NAINITAL - BEST HOTELS IN NAINITAL Balrampur House Resort and Hotel in Nainital, The Best Hotels in Nainital was summer Palace of the former Maharajas of Balrampur, Since 1890's, reconstructed and redesigned in 1930 by the renowned European Architect Mr Mortimer in the style of French Chateaus. A five minutes drive from the Mall road Nainital.The Balrampur House Resort and Hotels in Nainital is situated on a quiet hill with spectacular view of the surrounding Naina Peak & the Ayarpata hill. Balrampur House Resort and Hotel in Nainital has honor and distinction to host His Holiness The Dalai Lama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Balrampur House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing