We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to live in Nainital”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vikram Vintage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vikram Vintage Inn
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place to live in Nainital”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. I stayed here with my wife in Aug for 2 days. it was the best place to stay in Nainital. Although hotel is about 5 min drive from Mall road, but they have very good pick and drop facility. Their vehs are at your service anytime you call. Staff is very courteous and helpful. excellent food and very good rooms. overall a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor have bigger sitting area as compared to the rooms on other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heemanshu_yadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojd25, General Manager at Vikram Vintage Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Mr.Yadav,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.It is comments like yours which encourage us to put that little extra effort in to make your holiday a great one.We look forward to having you with again.

Manoj Dev
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    115
    37
    8
    9
See reviews for
160
70
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights this June. hotel is ~2 km from Mall road so somebody expecting right on the mall is gonna get dis-appointed but then most of the good (popular) hotels are bit far away from the hustle-bustle of the mall, this hotel provided a pick n drop to the mall.
Being June the summer holidays season it was peak tourist season, the hotel was full of guests. and Nainital was jam packed of tourists, it was harrowing at some times
In the hotel, Food was good, despite the capacity crowd, food quality/quantity and variety was good. we had breakfast and dinner and every night dinner was the best part of the day when we could relax, listen to a live music (a piano player) there was some tambola as well.
Service overall was good, prompt, had a leaky flush which they fixed promptly.
Rooms were good but for the fact we were paying ~8500/- per night :( being the peak season. actually we have stayed in much better room in 5k range, so cost was a bit dis-appointing. Otherwise our room had a balcony facing village and the mountain behind that, a decent view. overall rooms were decent, not worth 8.5K but good if you discount the price.
if you want to stay away from the hustle and dont mind driving 2-3 kms extra takes 10 mins then you can stay here, if it suits you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shailan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at this property in last week of June with family and availed their 2 nights package. We had selected this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. The overall expecience was very average as compared to the reviews we had read. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros
- Nicely renovated property with ultra modern furnishing.
- The shuttle from hotel to Mall road is a big convenience..( a necessity for the Hotel to provide this service ! Otherwise tourists will tend to avoid this hotel for it being located at an altitude of 2 km from the Mall...
- Overall services by staff are good.
- Elaborate spread of Breakfast and Dinner buffet.
- Bell Staff is efficient.
- Good Hygiene and cleanliness

Cons
- The Reception staff in morning shift has cold and indifferent attitude..they need to get some lessons in hospitality(especially the lady staff) and how to provide a warm welcome to guests.
- Did not provide room choice in the category we wanted.
- Indian vegetarian and international cuisine food taste is average.
- Waiting staff tends to give more attention to customers who give them hefty tips - big turnoff.
- Poor recreational facilities - 1 carom board and 1 snooker table to sum it all - small kids have no option.
- Waiting and housekeeping staff seem to expect tips at every instant.
- Experience vs Cost - Overall cost on the higher side.

We would look some other option in our next visit to Nainital..

Room Tip: Ask for valley facing room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, 3 days and made the selection based upon reviews from Trip Advisor. First the positives; the place is nice in terms of the ambience, the different choices of rooms and the private open spaces available with some rooms. The food is really good and further the multiple seating options make the whole experience really worthwhile. We opted for a Superior room (must have been a good 500+ sq. ft. space) complete with a spacious washroom, dressing area with a full length mirror and closet. The room had a ceiling fan but no air conditioning. We did not feel the need of it due to the good weather but found it strange to be missing for the price we paid and the fact that we were never told of it at the time of booking the property. We really loved the 3 level seating options for meals and dining - you can choose to stay completely indoors, outdoors with a ceiling or completely outdoors under the sky. This is the single most thing that we relished at this place and made the most of it to enjoy the cool nights and warm sun-kissed mornings. The wide menu spread at breakfast as well as dinner was really good and something that perhaps makes this place stand apart from most others. The hotel is quite away from the main town and hence offers superior silence (often broken by the reckless construction happening all around it), privacy and views to a tall mountain cliff face. They offer a very convenient pick and drop to the town between 8:30AM to 8:30PM. I fell ill one night and they went out the way to take me to the town to get some medicines even after 9PM - which was very very nice and gracious of the manager Mr. Dhariwal.

Now some not so nice aspects to be aware of. I already noted above the lack of AC in our superior room and also not being informed about it. For close to USD 170 per night, one would crave for facilities like a pool, spa, green manicured gardens, pillow choices, recreation - none of which are available. The staff did not care to inform at the check-in whether they had ay other recreation options. We just found a very boring recreation room with just one carrom table (free) and one big pool table (paid). Website cites WiFi availability but there is only one expensive package available for 24 hours and no lower denomination. They claim to have a cyber study which is nothing but a work desk with a single chair and a single PC having internet connection and even that connection failed to work or was dismally slow. The staff blamed that it was perhaps an old dial-up connection.

So overall a nice stay, delicious food, but low on recreational facilities and low value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms only on the 2nd floor have a small open balcony and the ones on the back side offer views to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SnoopyDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Spent 2Nights/3Days in the first week of may 2013. Took the superior room on the second floor. The hotel is a bit away from the hush hush of the market so thats great. another great thing is that its not that far away and they also provide free pick-up.drop from hotel to mall road.

Pros
EXCELLENT FOOD
Clean rooms
Great Service

Cons
A touch expensive
Toilets do not have jet spray (only tissue paper system) which was surprising

Overall a great stay
TIP: prefer the package they offer instead of per night basis. Its totally worth it.

Room Tip: Prefer the package they offer instead of per night basis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rahulsingh_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manojd25, General Manager at Vikram Vintage Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Mr.Singh,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of installing health faucets in all rooms and please be rest assured, it will be there during your next visit.
We look forward to having you with us again.

regds,

Manoj Dev
General Manager
Vikram Vintage Inn, Nainital
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed 2 nights 3 days in this hotel last week with my family, Its is just 2 Kms from Mall street. the hotel staff and food is good. The Hotel has arranged pick up service from Mall. We have enjoyed a lot during our stay at this hotel even though it is little bit expensive as compared to their services like there is no WIFI and coffee maker in the room, as they are providing complimentary at the Lobby itself which is not suitable to this hotel. Overall the room was clean, decoration was nice, location of the hotel was beautiful. if you book this hotel with discounted tariff, its ok ... Have a nice trip, Nainital is a good hill station with beautiful landscapes and naini Lake.

Room Tip: Overall we have enjoyed a lot in Nainital.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krishna1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights and 3 days in the month of May 2013 and found to be the best, comfortable hotel in Nainital.I deeply appreciate the hospitality and assistance provided to me during my stay. I recommend all my friends to stay put in the same hotel whenever they visit Nainital.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcsharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
0.3 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#9 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#10 of 47 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nainital - Bhawanipur Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vikram Vintage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vikram Vintage Inn

Property: Vikram Vintage Inn
Address: Mallital, Nainital 262001, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vikram Vintage Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vikram Vintage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing